The Heroine’s Journey of Sophie Bogdan

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I have the possibility to explore other characters and feel, walk, behave like them. I love the process of making the role my own. It´s like digging in soil and I am digging deep. This process is never ending and even the film is shot or the play is shown I sometimes years later suddenly understand the role one step more. I love to create with a team of the same as me passionate people a completely new world that we all believe in.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being able to give everything the space and time it needs and enyoing every step on it´s own without thinking what it will bring or where it will lead to. Always creating and doing art and having children with who I can share this wonder.

What is my greatest fear? To lose the people that mean the most for me: my sister, boyfriend, family and close friends.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Separating myself from my surroundings and staying with my feelings.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Sophie Rois is my favourite German actress. She is so sensitive and strong at the same time and has an amazing voice. Tilda Swinton is just fascinating in every way. Kevin Spacey is such a good actor with always good roles and the most special face. Mia Wasikowska is playing in the way I can commit to. She plays not only with words. She plays with every breath and her eyes. The characters she plays are so different and special.

What is my greatest extravagance? Starting the day with a glass of warm lemon water, doing voice-body-exercises and meditation. I am always carrying a sketch book with me to escape in my own world whenever I want and need.

On what occasion would I lie? When I am too late to an important appointment without a good reason.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The feeling when a project is finished and breaks between projects make me crazy.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Everytime I work with a professional team on a movie or in a theater I am the happiest person in the world. I really enjoyed working on my first solo performance in 2015. It was a breakthrough for my artist soul.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Saying no when it´s needed without feeling guilty for it and following always and without any exception my instincts. Thinking less, relexing my brain from time to time and being much more in the moment.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Even it´s hard from time to time to find jobs as an actress I always love my job and I will never give up. I am obsessed with playing and nothing can change this passion.

Where would I most like to live? At a peaceful place inside a big city where I have the possibility to go easy to nature whenever I want.

What is my most treasured possession? My talent and the people I love.

What is my most marked characteristic? I have never ending energy and ideas and constantly want to play and move. And I have an open heart and mind.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? As I moved last year after 10 years Berlin to Istanbul, I will write about both cities. Berlin: Grunewald- I love this forest that has so many different areas like a big tale with dunes, small lakes, special trees and birds and a forest part I nearly everytime get lost but always find my way in the end and I love to sit tired in the S-Bahn after walking there, stopping at „Bücherbogen“ (S-Savignyplatz) to discover the most amazing art books. Flowmarkt Nowkölln and Flowmarkt Kreuzberg- I love to go every Sunday to the fleamarket and find special clothes that have a story. The ones in Neukölln at the Maybachufer and in Kreuzberg in the Prinzessinengärten are definitely my favourites. Istanbul: SALT Galata- the seat at the big window between the café and the book store. Sitting there, drawing and writing is amazing. Büyükada-the one and a half hours to there with the ferry are giving me peace, smile, sun and inspiration and being on this island with all it´s magical corners, nature and beautiful old wooden houses makes me feel like in a surreal world and feeds my fantasy and dreams a lot.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? My home-I love to cook with fresh vegetables and hearbs. My friend Ezgi´s home in Berlin- she makes the best eggs for breakfast full of love. I love the vietnamese restaurants in Berlin! Fresh and healthy food. In Istanbul I love raki balik restaurants. On a long evening you drink raki (anis flavoured alcohol),eat a mixture of traditional starters and fresh fish.

What books influenced my life and how?Die Blechtrommel“ by Günter Grass inspired me to be livedrawing model in art schools and I did this for 9 years with enjoying it a lot. „Sofies verden“ by norvegian author Jostein Gaarder fascinated me with the different levels of narration and mixing dreams and reality. „Momo“ by Michael Ende has lots of wisdom about life and I often think of this book. There is a man that´s kleening the streets and he says when there is a long road in front of you that you have to clean, never look at the whole road it will make you wanna give up. Just focus on every small step and you will finish the road without realizing how long it was.

Who are my favorite writers? Janosch, Astrid Lindgren, Michael Ende, Arthur Schnitzler, J.W. Goethe

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? My mothers piano and my fathers guitar mixed with my sister and my boyfriend singing to it.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Pippi Langstrumpf! She is independent, playful and clever. She is doing whatever she wants whenever she wants. And she has a monkey, a horse and a house.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My friends. Lisa is an amazing photographer who will be the best mother soon, Martina is a talented artist and the most funny person in the world, Elizabeth loves animals-every single spider on her wall is a friend and she paints the greatest oil paintings I´ve ever seen. My sister is creating special art. My boyfriend Can is a great architect and amazing photographer who creates new worlds in a playfull way. Ezgi is such a strong woman and takes great pictures. Hannes is photographer as well and has similar never ending energie like me and is always creating. I am surrounded by inspiring heroes and heroines and I am so thankfull for this.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? „La femme sur le pont“ with Vanessa Paradis, „Hemel“ by Sacha Polak, „Bonnie and Clyde“ and „Rosemary´s Baby“.

What role plays art in my life and work? The biggest. My work is art and as I cannot divide my private and working life as an artist I am 24 hours inside of it somehow. I am drawing, writing whenever I can and going to exhibitions, talking with friends about what we create or what we saw somewhere. Art is my way of living. I am putting my feelings and what I experience into a performance, song, on paper…however it will be shown in the end. It was always part of my life and will always be. My parents let us draw a lot and teached us how to use our phantasy and how to create own worlds, danced with us or builded a circus in our apartment for our birthday. I am in a way just continuing what they started and I never want to stop. I hope to share this with own children soon.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My boyfriend, my family and friends.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Nicolette Krebitz, a talented actress and director from Germany, Falk Richter, an amazing director and play writer with good humor and politic pieces, Lars von Trier as I love his movies and I would love to meet the German Caster Suse Marquardt and be casted by her.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Michelle Pfeiffer, Bruno Ganz and Kevin Spacey.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I am writing on a script of an episodic movie with 5 parts that will be shot in 5 different countries with 5 different directors and I will play the main role. I can´t wait to realize it. The first part is written and I´m currently working on the others. And I definitely want to create a second Solo Performance. As it seems at the moment-it will be about sounds.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I will be seen these months on billboards in Istanbul. The gallery Artnivo is showing the works of my boyfriend and me. Where and when I will be on screen or on stage is quite open for now but if you check out my website and instagram you will be updated. There is a lot in coming.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion is my motor to live. It´s my blood. If my passion is gone, I am gone.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Lisa Zappe, Ezgi Polat, Johanna Stickland and Dila Yumurtaci.

How can you contact me? On my Website you can find my mail.

Leave a Reply

