The Heroine’s Journey of Mati Russo

What is the best thing that I love about my work? It keeps me grateful. It helps me be decisive, to find solutions and deal with alternatives and find the new languages to translate my feelings. It helps me endure.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? Peace, both internal and external
What is my greatest fear? The absence of peace
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I don’t deplore anything about myself, anyone or anything. Because I believe love is always the answer. I guess if I had to say something that I wish I could change …. it would be my inability to maintain peace.
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?Paul Eckke
What is my greatest extravagance? Fear and the extravagant obsessions it brings.
On what occasion would I lie? When fear is overwhelming.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I don’t dislike anything about my work. I am always grateful. I guess maybe the inability to find a platform to bring it to the public can be frustrating. The thing that I “dislike” about my work is also the thing I “love” the most about my work; that there is so much in it that is so deeply personal to me.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Halfway through the first bottle of rum.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I’d be kinder to myself.
What is my greatest achievement in work? Being able to walk away and decide that a piece of work and I have reached a point of contentment with our conversation. Or when we at peace with parting from each other.
Where would I most like to live? I would like to live in peace close to nature in the countryside in Italy or France.
What is my most treasured possession? My son’s and grandchildren’s love and respect
What is my most marked characteristic? Passion.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? My home/my studio.
What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? My home.
What books influenced my life and how? History books. I am infatuated with history. Books about nature. Creation …
Who are my favorite writers? I read everything. Everythings interesting. I love poetry, musical lyrics there are just so many …

Buddah, Herman Melville,  Burroughs, Kahil Gibram, Dickens, Poe, John Lennon ,Frances Bacon…my husband and myself.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? John Lennon. Instant Karma is my epitaph.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Frankenstein’s monster

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My sons.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? The movie you play to yourself everyday that ejects you out of bed. The story of your own life-the movie in  your mind that you create daily that inspires your lifes meaning-could be a day or a moment or a thought that changes your entire life. It is what you tell yourself everyday that determines who you are. The most important movie is you.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is my life and work. Life is art and visa versa. The greatest artistic creation is our life. We are the vessel for our work.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband is very supportive to my work. My monsters are my partners in crime.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? My husband. I have used a lot of my husband’s poetry in my work and his music compositions. I would like us both to work together in a project.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Do they have to be alive

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?My next work. I always am looking forward to my next voyage. Most of my recent work has been very politically influenced. I would like to let go of that and let joy direct my palate more ambiguously without trying to convey a definitive message.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I would like to see myself living on an Italian or French countryside. My work can be seen at the Nuetra Museum where I am working closely with curator Dulce Stein. My past art director Shane Townley has been in contact about sharing my work  and he has galleries all across the United States and Mexico.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? As long as you are alive you should be passionate.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? I am a very seclusive person and I don’t get out that much, meet a lot of people … nor do I want to. I am very appreciative of Dulce Stein who is opening roads for myself and many others. Her art is recognizing the depth in other artist. Also Joanne Mattillo who lives not far from me in los Angeles and is doing very wonderful and interesting art.

How can you contact me?

matirussogalleries@gmail.com 

www.matirussogallery.com 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

