The Heroine’s Journey of Kayla Krantz

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love that I get to explore the unconsciousness of my own mind. When I start a book, I never know exactly how it’s going to end up. I feel like I always end up learning something about myself by the time it’s finished.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being able to live comfortably doing what I love most in life. I think perfect happiness includes not only being happy myself but inspiring happiness in those around me as well.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is that I won’t succeed at what I want to do in life.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? The trait that I dislike the most about myself is how trusting I am in others. It’s good to be kind but never to be a pushover.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Stephen King and Gillian Flynn. They’re both huge inspirations to me in the way that I write and the topics that I write about. Without them, I don’t know if I would have pursed being a writer!

What is my greatest extravagance? I carry a pen and paper with me everywhere I go so that I can escape into the realms of my stories at a moment’s notice.

On what occasion would I lie? When I don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? When I feel like I’m trying too hard to get my thoughts on paper. Sometimes, in my books, it shows when I’ve had trouble writing a particular scene.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Anytime that I get completely invested in my story, when I lose myself in the moment, I am the happiest.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would make myself more social. I have a tendency to sit back and listen but if I could, I would try to reach out more.

What is my greatest achievement in work? My greatest achievement is the fact that no matter how much I’ve written, I have more ideas to write. My ideas are limitless.

Where would I most like to live? I would love to live somewhere quiet and remote. I love snow so I think a small town in Alaska would be beautiful.

What is my most treasured possession? Definitely my flashdrive. I not only save all my files on it but also things like pictures and videos.

What is my most marked characteristic? I have a deep need to learn and connect with the world around me.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Unfortunately, I just moved so I don’t have one of these yet.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love little cafes that have outdoor seating. On a sunny day, it’s wonderful to get a bite to eat and a glass of iced tea and just ponder life.

What books influenced my life and how? I have read so many books that it’s impossible to decide exactly how each one has affected me. When I was a kid, one of the first influential books I read was Because of Winn-Dixie.

Who are my favorite writers? I have a myriad of favorite writers including Shakespeare, Edgar Allen Poe, Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and a handful of modern indie writers.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I would listen to Eminem. He’s always been one of my biggest inspirations.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I love Cinder from Marissa Meyer’s Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1). I love how strong and resilient she is even without hope.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? In real life my heroes are those people who do little things to make those around them happier. For example, at my day job, a young mother’s card got declined for her baby formula so the man in line behind her paid for it. People like that truly make the world a better place because they don’t do it for recognition, they do it to make someone happy.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? My favorite movie of all time is the 1988 film Heathers so this would be the one I’d recommend.

What role plays art in my life and work? My life is my art. I can’t go a day without thinking about my books and the ways that I can improve them. I’m always thinking of a character or dialogue. They’re all a part of me.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My greatest fans are the other new authors in my network. We work together to build one another up in a field designed to tear you down at every turn.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? One day, I would love to meet Stephen King and get him to sign a copy of my favorite book The Dark Half.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I’m really enjoying writing The Elemental Coven, book two in my Witch’s Ambitions Trilogy.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I post updates of my work and progress on my website: https://authorkaylakrantz.wordpress.com/

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means that when you find something you love, you always love it. You breathe it, you grow with it, and it’s a part of you.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Charlotte Munro: Horror Author https://www.facebook.com/charlotte.munro.16 Kade Cook: Fantasy Author https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100009337925357 Crystal M M Burton: Editor/Children’s Author https://www.facebook.com/Crystal.Burton.Author Laura Callender: Cover Designer/Author https://www.facebook.com/laura.tyndall

How can you contact me? I’m available on a variety of social media: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kaylakrantzwriter Twitter: https://twitter.com/kaylathewriter9 WordPress: https://authorkaylakrantz.wordpress.com/ Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14006736.Kayla_Krantz

Leave a Reply

