The Heroine’s Journey of Nicole J. Merchant

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love that I can get lost in my stories and not get in trouble. I’ve always been a dreamer, getting lost in my own worlds whether it be with Little Peoples—I called them Pebbles growing up—Barbies, dolls, or whatever. I could play for hours by myself only being entertained by my own imagination which would get me in more trouble than I’d like to admit. Now I can get lost in my own worlds, dream up fictional characters, monsters, heroines, heroes, families, and not received a hard time for it.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

I would own a huge piece of property, at least 20 to 30 acres, and have my mom, grandma, and boys all living on the land in their own houses. Far enough away that it doesn’t feel like they are right there, but close enough that we are within walking distance. Family is very important to me, and if I could keep us all together without living under the same roof, it would be awesome.

What is my greatest fear?

Honestly, something happening to my children.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I have low self-esteem, and I don’t have a lot of confidence in myself.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

There are so many! If I had to choose a few, I would say, Nora Roberts, J.K. Rowling, and Piers Anthony. I grew up reading Nora Roberts and she will always be one of my favorite authors. J.K. Rowling because she is so talented. Piers Anthony because he awesome! The stories that man comes up with are wonderful.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Honestly, I can’t think of one. I don’t usually buy stuff for myself.

On what occasion would I lie?

To save someone, whether their life or from a bad situation.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

When I have something in my head and I cannot put it into words the way I want. I will struggle and work on it until I get it right, and even then it is not perfect to me.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Now. I love what I am doing and I wouldn’t change it for the world. I wish I would have pursued this dream earlier in life, but at least I am doing it now.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

We’re back to that self-esteem. I like myself, I just wish I had more confidence and saw what others do.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Publishing my first novel. It actually made me sick to do it. It felt like I was exposing a part of myself to the world that I’ve only shared with close friends, and that is what it was.

Where would I most like to live?

Ireland. I love the culture, the scenery, the people. An old abandoned castle would be ideal, but I’d settle for a cottage near the ocean.

What is my most treasured possession?

My teddy bears. One I have had since I was three, the other since around eight. Teddy is the oldest and he’s lost a part of his nose and is very limp. Mr. Tom—I have no idea where I came up with that name—is still full of stuffing and in pretty good shape considering he’s about thirty-five years old.

What is my most marked characteristic?

My crazy hair. For a long time I didn’t know how to deal with it, but that changed once I learned the power of products.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

I’ve just recently moved to a new city so I really do not have one here yet.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I love mom and pop cafes. Fat Daves would be a favorite, but anything that has good home style cooking and a great atmosphere.

What books influenced my life and how?

To pick a few would be hard. I’ve read so many great books in my lifetime by so many wonderful authors. I think books in general have influenced my life and how I live it.

Who are my favorite writers?

There are so many of them, but to name a few: V.C. Andrews, Nora Roberts, Sandra Brown, and Danielle Steel.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Something upbeat. I don’t want any of that sad woe is me stuff. Probably some classic rock. Might as well go out loud and dancing.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Superman. It might sound cliché but he will always be my fictional hero.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My mom. She went through so much and is so strong that I can’t help but think of her as my hero. She is an awesome lady, and I love her to pieces.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Well, since The Neverending Story is my all time favorite movie, I’d recommend everyone see it at least once. Personally, I could watch it over and over again—and I have, many times.

What role plays art in my life and work?

Art is everywhere. I see it all around us—in nature, in family, in everything. I think it is a huge part of who I am and my work.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

Oh goodness, for that I would have to say there are two, Kim and Dawn. Without them I would have never taken on this journey. Every day I lean on them for support, and every day they give it willingly.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Ellen DeGeneres! She would just be fantastic!

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

Piers Anthony and J.K. Rowling. I wouldn’t even ask them for an autograph. I would just be great to meet them.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

My second series. Once The Guardians Eyes series is done, I have another series already in the works.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

Mostly either on Facebook or on my website. I am redoing the website—adding things and redesigning it, but I still have my work up on it.

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/nicolej.merchant.author/

Website – http://nicolejmerchant.wixsite.com/nicole-j-merchant

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

I feel if you are passionate about something you would never let it retire. You live for it, you dream about it, your life is it, and no one can tell you otherwise because it is your passion. It’s not for them to understand.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Dawn Doyle! She is an amazing author and friend. She is one of the two that have been with me this whole journey, and one that I love very dearly.

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorDawnDoyle/

How can you contact me?

Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/nicolej.merchant.author/

Website – http://nicolejmerchant.wixsite.com/nicole-j-merchant

Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/Nicole-J-Merchant/e/B01JXZXIG0?ref_=pe_1724030_132998060

Twitter – https://twitter.com/NMerchant_auth

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15597927.Nicole_J_Merchant

Leave a Reply

