The Heroine’s Journey of Pamela Michelle Mathis

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

That it is work that actually gives me a purpose. Writing lightens my soul and gives me hope. It changes my perspective when I speak to encourage someone else which turns my words back to my listening ears. As I help others, I am helped to gain clarity about the true issues that my readers need me to cover. I am able to step outside my comfort zone when it comes to making sure someone else is okay.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

My truest happiness lays in the fact I am a mother. I was given the opportunity to know how valuable the title mom is when my daughter was broken because I felt I had let her down. I thought my daughter was crying because I was unable to get her the car she wanted, but her tears were for my hurt because I thought I had let her down. My daughter gives me permission to be my best self which I want to offer to other young ladies the wisdom I have used to guide my daughter and her permission comes by her being a responsible young adult who is using the advice given.

What is my greatest fear?

That others won’t see the value in my work, and I will just give up trying to live out what I believe is my talents writing and speaking. I want to make writing and speaking my career, but I don’t know how to make sense of all it will take to replace my 9-5 income. I want to make sure to leave a legacy, but I don’t want the content to be compromised trying to get there. That leaving a piece of my history won’t matter because recognition won’t ever come of what I want to leave to the next generation-wisdom that will and can be applied to their living. That the generation coming behind me won’t be strong enough because their examples-my generation could not get our lives together to give them strength enough to navigate through the challenges they will face.

What is the trait I most deplore in myself?

My useless desire to self-mutilate the gifts I have. What I find myself doing is down playing what I have to offer. I won’t allow myself the opportunity to really like what I am able to do because if I am not humble I have nothing to offer. I want to always make sure of my intentions and I get caught up in the fact that if my desire does not remain my ability to help someone else I fail. My desire should not always be about self-gain, so I struggle with a balance within that will allow for me to enjoy my craft and not question what I can offer others. I won’t say I self-sabotage because I am making steps to get my name out to the masses, I just question the message.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

The person I admire is my, Husband, Tracie Incomplete Mathis, who is a phenomenal spoken word poet who supports my dreams as I support his. Next, would be Joyce Meyer, who I have meet in person twice her ability to inspire me on my journey of self-acknowledgement when depression was sure to be the death of me gave me a new outlook on my purpose. Finally, I would say myself because I am taking great risks to my privacy by exposing my weaknesses in order for others to not have to walk through some of the long standing fights to ones psyche that I have and to some extent still live with.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I would say buying books that I have not read even though I don’t pay much for the books, but when I feel like things are out of control I think I can put them back in order by purchasing a book. Because I can control that, yet the event does not go away.

On what occasion would I lie?

Usually I may not tell the truth when I feel like the truth will cause me to be uncomfortable in the fact that I have to be the one on the spot. I hate to be the one everyone is concerned about, so I would probably lie to get of center stage. I stay quiet to make sure I won’t have to lie about how I truly feel.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

What I dislike has to be transparent when I am still trying to work on my own healing. The thought of being criticized just makes me angry especially when my intention is to help someone else who may be going through what I am. I dislike the fact that it takes me so long to create a finished product because I never think my work gets finished. I want to always do my best and when I feel like I am holding back because I just don’t feel like being judged my progress is slowed down tremendously. I want to honor those who were willing to share their truth as I share my own.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I am the happiest when I finally let go, of my first book on lulu.com a self-publishing site. I was able to see my gifting to write, edit, and finish a project. Because to be a writer you must write and release your work so someone can read it.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

My ability to sell myself in turn will sell my products. I don’t like to promote myself. I am understand that to have raving fans takes me opening up in situations that might not be comfortable in order to been my own best seller. I want to discern the condition of another’s heart so I can encourage healing and suggest one of my book selections to speak to the situation that person is facing.

What is my greatest achievement in my work?

Using my healing in order to help the reader move beyond what keeps him or her consumed in a situation that does not progress them. I am glad that my testimony about my daddy issues will help so many who deal with the same thing by reading the content I create on social media, blog posting, videos, and books. My words are my greatest achievement because I understand that everyone cannot do what I have the talent to do.

Where would I most like to live?

I want to live where people love the literary element and culture of the written word. An actual place I won’t know until I can do more traveling. Right now living in AL does not work every day, but I have been here long enough that I am working on establishing connections with others who are creating for themselves a platform of performance.

What is my most treasured possession?

My most treasured possession is the cross on Calvary where my Savior died for me. My relationship with my Lord keeps me going and experiencing God’s favor and man’s listening ear.

What is my most marked characteristic?

Being able to compromise because I understand I am not always correct in my thought process. Being consistent in what I feel needs to be done and a given situation. I know when to hold my tongue and when to speak. I try to be light hearted in life. I try to understand that someone’s needs are too valuable to be overlooked.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

The inspired spot in Decatur is the new train depot that has currently gone under construction.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?

MI Hacienda Mexican Restaurant

What books influence my life and how?

The books that influence me are by Joyce Meyer and TD Jakes because I have been advanced by reading their books. I have found the mirror that reflects me properly without feeling invisible. I am able to have the power to create the words that someone else can use to advance themselves. Reading their books has opened my heart to others.

Who are my favorite writers?

Joyce Meyer, TD Jakes, Max Lucado, V.C. Andrews, Peggy Parish, and Judy Blume just to name a few.

What music would I listen to on my last day?

You Deserve It JJ. HAIRSTON & YOUTHFUL PRAISE

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

I read more non-fiction books than fiction so I don’t have an answer for this question.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My husband is my hero because his story of healing inspires me to live a story of healing which is expressed in my writing. He had brain cancer at three which made him feel uncomfortable in this own skin until the skull could be cosmetically fixed. Through his life he experienced more hardships, but he has not let that stop him. So then, how can I not do what my gifting provides for me to share?

Which movie would I recommend one to see once in a lifetime?

The Notebook

What role does art play in my life and work?

Not a huge part, although certain pictures I see will inspire words to be created.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, or partner in crime?

Right now that would be my husband who with me is trying to build our business to take it to the next level by putting our stories out there, so people will know who they are involved with.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

I want to work with Disney to get my screenplay on the big screen under their name and support which will validate my work. And I do one of the voices for my characters. This is possible when I believe in God’s will for my life because He put this desire in my heart.

 

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

Two books, blog posting, and I have set a goal of two hundred videos so check out my YouTube page

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

P.M. Mathis

Company: Pew Partners

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MathPamela

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pewpartners/

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/pmmathis/

Blog: https://jesusontheblog.wordpress.com/

Website: www.pewpartners.wix.com/pmmathis

Books: www.lulu.com/spotlight/pcohen amazon, Barnes & noble, and bam. Titles are U R God’s Love Story, Daddy U Can Hold My Hand, and Ordinary Princess.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires mean to me?

It means that as long as I am in my right mind I can create. My need to push the next generation into a hopeful end can remain as long as I am willing to give my time and talent to the cause.

What creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

 

Leave a Reply

