The Heroine’s Journey of Emilie Hallard

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The opportunities I have to meet some amazing people, sometimes to listen their intimate stories, and the physical pleasure of the moment that you know you are making a great picture. These are 2 things, ok, and there are more…

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The problem actually lies in believing that there is a perfect happiness and not to be able to enjoy every little imperfect but nice things of life. My perfect happiness would be to be able to enjoy present just at it is. But I still have a fantasy with living in a Mexican desert area, surrounded by cactus and books.

What is my greatest fear? To get blind.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am very exigent. With me and my people. And sometimes they have a hard time with me! haha

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I totally admire my sisters Giuliana Prucca, Annakarin Quinto, Valentina Abenavoli and Veronica Fieiras. I met them all through the Photobook community. They are extremely talented, smart, creative, generous and brave. What a bunch of women! And I’ve got a special admiration for some other female photographers like Dana Lixemberg, Alessandra Sanguinetti and Laia Abril.

What is my greatest extravagance? To run a business with an extremely poor business model. Just for passion. On what occasion would I lie? To get holidays and some rest.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The commercial and admin part is totally boring.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I guess there were plenty of moments, but when you know you have THE picture, this makes me very happy. And I can remember to be very happy and moved the day we printed our first photobook Anecdotal by David Fathi (http://www.mariaincorporated.com/en/shop/anecdotal-by- david-fathi/), in Madrid, to see the first prints just out of the machine… it’s like giving birth!

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would have studied arts. But at that time, this was not an option.

What is my greatest achievement in work? To be able to work in the photography industry while being a self-taught person (photography, book publishing, curating, gallery assistant etc..). But I’ve been very lucky to make this way along with amazing people who taught me a lot.

Where would I most like to live? Still have my Mexican Desert fantasy ☺ At the moment I’m back to Barcelona. I’m very lucky to live on a rooftop, watching the mountains while taking my breakfast and have birds for companions.

What is my most treasured possession? My photobook and art collections.

What is my most marked characteristic? I’m pretty ironic.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Montjuic Mountain.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Any old-fashioned family run tapas bar. I just love them. And my favourite bar is a queer bar called Madame Jasmine in the popular hood of the Raval. One of the freest places I’ve been so far.

What books influenced my life and how? Farewell Photography by Daido Moriyama. There is a before and after. I learned to deep dive into my feelings and thoughts to produce intimate pictures. Until the day I had to “kill” my master to be able to move forward to a more personal and original approach, what gives birth to my on-going project “Les corps incorruptibles”.

Who are my favourite writers? I love Garcia Marquez. The realismo mágico amazes me. I wish real life would be so.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Birds singing. Or maybe the Canción Mixteca by Ry Cooder for a softer farewell. Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Princess Mononoke.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Feminists, ecologists and human rights defenders. Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? Paris Texas by Wim Wenders

What role plays art in my life and work? All. From the works of art I need to see when I wake up every morning at home, to my own production, through the intellectual and physical pleasure it gives me. But I acknowledge that art is a luxury.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Me and myself! I spend many years working on promoting the works of other artists. This year is about me, finishing my series, and I am enjoying it like crazy!

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? A creative designer for my upcoming book.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? Dana Luxemberg. I have so many questions to ask her!

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I am currently working on my 2nd book that I will launch with my publishing house Maria Inc.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can meet me and see my work at the Boudoir2.0, organised by Annakarin Quinto in Arles during the opening week in July. I will also have a Group exhibition in Barcelona, by the end of June at AktivitÄt, curated by Justin Case and attend the Filaf Artbook Market in Perpignan, in south France.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? I actually disagree. You’ve got to take care of your passion in order not to burn out. Passion sometimes is not enough when you need to eat and pay the bills and spend some quality time with friends and partners. You have to take care of you, your passion, your art as it would be a lover. Always keep the light on, but don’t get burned.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? All of the above stated: Giuliana Prucca, Annakarin Quinto, Valentina Abenavoli and Veronica Fieiras.

How can you contact me? emiliehallard@yahoo.com http://www.emiliehallard.com

Leave a Reply

