The Heroine’s Journey of Sara Anselmi

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  Imagination. I have to use imagination to view spaces before they exist, so I can spend most of the time in a parallel reality. I also love flexible working hours and places; I mostly work from home but I use to move in different places. I am often free to work enjoying the presence of my animals.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? The freedom to be myself and to be accepted as I am. 
What is my greatest fear? To be overwhelmed with tasks not related to my work. And to loose my independence with motherhood.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Procrastination…
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Kazuyo Sejima
What is my greatest extravagance? I have chickens as pets and show them to all my new clients when I meet them in my second office in my house on the seaside.
On what occasion would I lie? To avoid hurting someone.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? To speak about money and to defend our copyright from false attributions.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? There are many memories and places, mostly in Siena, anyway it was when I could see the clients happy of their life inside designed spaces, ad a result of our work of empathy and fantasy, and when they recommend me to other people. And also when I saw three masterpieces of Caravaggio coming out from their wood boxes to be exposed in the exhibition that we had designed.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be more confident and less inconclusive.
What is my greatest achievement in work? To be, and remain, independent. To be able to work from everywhere.
Where would I most like to live? I’ve never lived in a single place. Somehow, I’ve always organized my life in two places, moving from one to the other. I love living in Rome but I need to stay very close to the sea in the countryside, with animals and flowers. At the moment I live between Rome and Civitanova Marche, by the sea.
What is my most treasured possession? A strong imagination.
What is my most marked characteristic?To have a great humor and make other people laugh. I tell even problems with irony and make them humorous.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Piazza della Rotonda, that is the square in front of the Pantheon, and the EUR district with the iconic building “Palazzo della civiltà italiana”.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Pianostrada, a restaurant ruled by four women, or a kitchen workshop as they use to define it. It’s a peaceful green place in the centre of Rome, where you can taste excellent dishes prepared with the best ingredients from all over Italy.
 
What books influenced my life and how? The Greek and Latin Classics, The Letters of Seneca and of Epicuro.
Who are my favorite writers? Mark Twain, Herman Hesse, Italo Calvino, Milan Kundera, Jean Claude Izzo.
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? May be Rossini
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Bree Van De Kamp
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Those who fight against corruption. Politicians who pursue the public good and not the personal good.
 
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Scent of a woman with Al Pacino
What role plays art in my life and work? Art is the way to live more than one life. Art in my work is at least inspiration, more often is part of the design.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? It was my father.
Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Someone who really is complementary to me.
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? A photographer and an editor.
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I would like to design and open a big office for coworkers in Rome, with different areas dedicated to art and culture, and I would like to restore an old building in the landscape near to a waterfront.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Our firm is MARGARETE architetti, founded with my partner Eleonora Crucianelli. You can find our work everywhere we have worked on a building, in our website www.margarete.it and in some reviews like:
Case&Country 271 – april 2017 – pages from 84 to 94
You also could go on holiday in the Hangar, one of our recent works of restoration, San Giovanni D’Asso, Siena.
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It’s a hope, but we need to feed the passion with a fresh mind and continuous suggestions and emotions.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Marcela Veronica Grassi
How can you contact me?
Leave a Reply

