The Heroine’s Journey of Laura Ma

What is the best thing that I love about my work? 

I’m lucky to have made my passion into my work, what is the most exciting is to be able to direct it precisely  the images I have in mind and see the final result! I also like being alone in the process of creation and editing but at the same time being surrounded by a lot of people : social contact with the shooting team (make up, stylists, supermodels. .. etc) I think I always needed this perfect balance between loneliness and sociability.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  

The simple things in life make me happy : the sun, the heat, continuing to be inspired and productive, love, love still and inner peace. There is only you to make yourself happy, the mistake is to believe that your happiness rests in others. Love yourself, do what you like, that is happiness.

What is my greatest fear? 

I’m afraid of lots of stupid things like insects and such haha but I think my greatest fear is losing my close family and find myself facing nothingness. I’m scared of people too because i trust no one. 

But it’s not my greatest fear so I will accept the fight haha

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself ? 

Lots of tings tired me out with myself haha, taking nothing seriously which can lead me very easily to lose control of my whole life in a few seconds, just out of control… I am impatient and impulsive often to my regret, but what’s good is that I know where my limits are.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? 

In my profession ? Probably somebody who got their own specific universe and sharing them w the world. Knowing how to express and share one’s inner self through any visual or musical means, I find it really beautiful, the only beauty that human beings have. History of art inspired me a lot but my fav is maybe the emotion of Nan Goldins pictures, her daily life like she’s making her diary for her old days, and I don’t know why im obsessed with Van Gogh probably because of his colorful paintings (I love colors so much in my pic too) and because he gave all his heart and life for his art but nobody understood it. 

What is my greatest extravagance? 

I love disguise myself in many different characters, it depends my day’s mood. I wear wigs and costumes and walked in the street totally free. I wish one day people can get out wearing what they want, feeling free to be what they want to be without all of the society’s bullshits.

On what occasion would I lie?

Protect myself and people I love of course.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Spending so much hours to edit cause I’m not patient I’m always hurry to see the final results

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Now in Paris cause i can earn money from my passion, I work and create so much I hope god will keep me in this good inspirational path. And I’m lucky to spend time with a lot of creative people, they inspired me.

If I could, what would I change about myself? 

I will change nothing.

No I’m joking, I will stop complain, change the fact I have some difficulties to trust and to give my all heart to somebody, but it’s not so easy.

What is my greatest achievement in work? 

Well I think it’s when I succeed to bring and combine deep meanings with beautiful forms I exactly guessed before. And when I succeed to make curious the others with my pictures.

Where would I most like to live? 

Somewhere with jobs for photographers and sun all year, maybe the west coast of the USA or something more peaceful like Italia, one of my origins country. I wish I can live one day in China or Italia just a few years to get closer to my roots.

What is my most treasured possession? 

I’m scared of loosing somebody or something so I try all my life not to get too much dependent on someone. This way I can never miss it. But the only treasured things I have are my lil’ babies-sisters and how much love I have for them.

What is my most marked characteristic?

I’ve had my head in the clouds practically all my life.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

I need beautiful natural landscapes to getting inspired so in Paris I will be looking for parks, water, lakes. But the very old places are cool too its funny to guess how people lived here walked the same streets than you just many many years ago before you.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? 

Belleville, chinese quarter in Paris (what a cliché) for eat good things not expensive. I love Pigalle by night and the south of Paris next to the water, les Quais de la Seine for exemple by day.

What books influenced my life and how? 

So much !! Susan Sontag is one of the best for understanding the impact of images I agreed with all her sentences but I never found the good way to express that feeling.

Machiavelli for the strategy and how to handle the power, it’s amazing.

Who are my favorite writers?

I dont have fav writers only books Im actually trying to finish to read L’empire cybernétique des machines à penser à la pensée machine de Céline Lafontaine, she shows how we become robots because of all virtual and numeric informations, how a dream can change easily and quickly to a nightmare (dream of internet communication like utopia few years ago now its a dystopia for exemple) 

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? 

Probably something kitch as possible like classical music of course. I will put some tragic queen notes to my death like Schubert – Ave Maria haha or maybe Please Dont Say You Love Me by Gabrielle Aplin for fun. 

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

I have no heroine in fiction or in real life, maybe its sad ? I don’t know, I admire a lot of people because of their different talents or my family because they started from nothing to become the best each days. But never take someone as an heroine is the meaning of how typical heroine are, like WonderWoman is.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

How to face pain with the great movie Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind you cant escape from your feelings guys, don’t forget it.

What role plays art in my life and work? 

My life is working and my work is my art so that’s everything for me, that’s my story ! I use my feelings, my friends, my breakups, my environment, my knowledges of life or my general culture to develop my work. I use my life for my art and making my art is my work 🙂

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? 

My entourage of course ! Specially my friends who always supported me, advised helped and believed in me and my potential at the moment I doubted the most.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? 

I want to work now with creative people from the entire world like a Worldwide Union of Art.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? 

Meet my fav artists like Sophie Calle. She’s a french artist, her work is her life too, she has an unique practice of photography. I missed her public meeting last year in Paris 

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? 

Im actually working on my news art-series. Its called Golden Tears its about greek mythology and their similitudes with human people, nobody can escape from their feelings even gods.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

On my website www.laurama.net or my InstaGram : laura_ma_

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? La passion ne s’abandonne pas en français – this words mean the story of my life haha I mean what motivates me to live and always be happy, excited and curious is Passion.

I have no other purpose in life than to be passionate with what I do and feel, with the same intensity as a child.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Im lucky to grow up with a lot of artist especially guys from the north, poorest state in France but weirdly one of the most creative, eager to express.
Stylism Amandine for Untitled https://www.instagram.com/untitled_8225/?hl=fr
Photography  Ashley http://www.northsideissue.com/
How can you contact me?
Mail : laurama.art@gmail.com or my website
Leave a Reply

