The Heroine’s Journey of Kim Kimbro Taylor

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
That what seems to be going on in my work is not actually what’s going on.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?When my professional, creative, and personal life are running on all cylinders. They’re all in balance and enhance one another.

What is my greatest fear?
Losing my husband and children.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?
Enrique Martinez Celaya, Marlene Dumas, Joe Andoe, Anselm Keifer

What is my greatest extravagance?
A standing, once-a-month facial.

On what occasion would I lie?
I would lie to spare the feelings of someone I love.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
Procrastination.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
Here, now.

If I could, what would I change about myself?
My energy level. I’m perpetually exhausted and consider it a miracle that anything gets done.

What is my greatest achievement in work?
That collectors love a painting of mine enough to want to look at it every day.

Where would I most like to live?
Paris. And The Cotswalds. Glamour and rusticity is a killer combo.

What is my most treasured possession?
Drawings and notes from my daughters.

What is my most marked characteristic?
Resourcefulness. Although I’ve been told on more than one occasion that I’m hard to read.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
Mulholland Drive at night. Gets me in the throat every time.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
My house. Cooking and dinner parties are two of my favorite things.

What books influenced my life and how?
Goodness, don’t they all? If I dig into a good book, it literally takes over my life at the time. I skip sleep, work, most responsibilities… which is why I’ve tapered off since becoming a parent.

Who are my favorite writers?
All of the Romantics, both British and American. They were obsessed with the relationship between the natural world and the inner world of the mind and heart – I mean, how can one resist? They’re so deliciously gloomy and emotional and seeking and pining.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
‘The Goldberg Variations’, Bach performed by Glenn Gould

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Bathsheba Everdeen (Far From The Madding Crowd). She’s such a BOSS. Determined, dedicated, principled, independent, not always likable and doesn’t always make the right decisions but so deeply romantic beneath it all.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
Steven Hawking, Elie Wiesel, Jane Goodall, Bernie Sanders

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?
L’Aventura. I saw it only once, when I was about 21 or so. I was blown away by the notion that life’s mysteries just go unexplained. If you strip away all the things that prop us up, people are lonely and usually existentially unsatisfied and alienated. Darkness can creep into even seemingly idyllic situations. It was utterly blunt in its message, but so poetically expressed.

What role does art play in my life and work?
It’s a release valve, cheap therapy, a place to get lost, a place to find things. And thankfully, it’s a living.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
My husband. His judgement is impeccable. His support is unwavering. He knows exactly when I need a kick in the ass and when I need a nap.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
Teenagers. They’re the perfect age to teach how to “see.”

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?
Enrique Martinez Celaya

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to working on?
I’m currently illustrating a children’s book for a wonderful writer. People are always telling me I should do that, but the opportunity never really came up until now. It’s a completely different way of working for me, but very exciting.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
Lots of things are in the pipeline, stay tuned!

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
So many painters and artists live well into their 80’s and 90’s. It has to do with the idea that their art practice and life are inseparable. Just keep going until the wheels fall off.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Vancouver-based painter Sheri Bakes.

How can you contact me?
www.kimkimbro.com
kimkimkimbrotaylor@gmail.com
IG: Kim Kimbro Art
FB: www.facebook.com/kimkimbroart/

Leave a Reply

