The Heroine’s Journey of Seren Morey

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

The feeling of invention, inventing new worlds to occupy

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

That’s a tough one, I’m not sure I know, I’m trying to figure it out. I have lots of moments of happiness with my husband and daughter and while making my work but they are different types of happiness I think. Perfect happiness might be a feeling of continual peace which I find virtually impossible to reach and sustain.

What is my greatest fear?

Global Warming

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

My anxiety

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Kiki Smith, Brenda Goodman and Joan Snyder. Women artists who I have been fortunate enough to meet whose work has continued to grow and evolve in amazing ways.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Bread

On what occasion would I lie?

To protect my family

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

If and when it becomes too attractive without enough bite

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Right Now

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would love to be an early riser who awoke ready to embrace the day, I have always been very slow to awaken with a certain amount of dread

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I feel like I have entered new territory which took a long time to arrive at

Where would I most like to live?

New York or Italy

What is my most treasured possession?

My 8 year old daughter

What is my most marked characteristic?

Everyone says I have an infectious laugh

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Any museum or the Botanic Gardens

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?

The Grand Ferry Tavern in Williamsburg

What books influenced my life and how?

The Tao te Ching for it’s peace, 100 Years of Solitude for it’s magical realism and A Country Doctor for it’s discussion of the flowering wound

Who are my favorite writers?

Lao Tzu, Kafka and Dostoevsky

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Bach

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Yu Shu Lien from Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Daenerys Targaryen from Game of Thrones and as a child I loved Wonder Woman

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My hero is my husband for his “never quit” attitude in the face of the worst adversity.

My heroines are Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton and all the women Suffragists

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Life Aquatic

What role plays art in my life and work?

Art is my food for the soul. I feel a little empty and lost if I go too long without making it

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My Husband

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

I am enjoying working with DeBuck Gallery currently

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

More artists and curators

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I am just coming off of a busy 2016 and a 2017 solo show at Anthony Philip Fine Art. I am looking forward to just focusing on my work in the studio for a bit!

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

I will participate in the Bushwick Open Studio Tour in September and I will be included in a 2nd iteration of a group show titled Opulent Landscapes curated by Rachel Vancelette with DeBuck Gallery that opens in Saint Paul De Vence in France on June 23rd.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

I can’t imagine ever retiring from Art, if I stopped making it I think I wouldn’t feel like myself. It is a driving force and an imperative to survival. You can’t retire from something you feel passionate about because it will never leave you alone.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Video artist Anne Murray

How can you contact me?

You can contact me through my website at serenmorey.com or email me directly at serenmorey@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

