The Heroine’s Journey of Tünde Török

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Art. It is inspiring to be surrounded by artworks and work together with creative people.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Cycling to my gallery in sunshine after a nice and relaxed breakfast at home on the balcony and then meeting people with whom I’m organising an exciting event for MyMuseum Gallery. Or hiking in La Gomera.

What is my greatest fear? Losing people I love.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I tend to accept rough life phases too easily, as they are temporary. However, temporary phases can easily become daily routine without me having noticed it, which makes me miss out on life.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? The gallerists and art people whom I learnt a lot from, Annamária Molnár, Mark Bean, Anna Dempster, Tünde Varga and Péter György.

What is my greatest extravagance? I cycle in high-heels.

On what occasion would I lie? When it does more good than harm and is not replaceable with another action.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I don’t like that my activity may be held up by others’ inactivity.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When the video works and photos first appeared on our beautiful digital frames and they looked great. I had been waiting for that moment for long and the effect I had had in mind was surpassed by the actual object.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would always be as open as I am in my ‘good days’. I easily get intimidated, which annoys me as it hinders the exploration of life.

What is my greatest achievement in work? To have the courage and make the decision to start my own business.

Where would I most like to live? Commuting between La Gomera, London and Budapest.

What is my most treasured possession? My bike, which I got from my boyfriend and from my friends for my birthday and looks like a dream 🙂

What is my most marked characteristic? I speak with huge gestures.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The bank of the Danube where one can get very close to the river ( from Széchenyi tér to Kossuth tér).

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Kisüzem.

What books influenced my life and how? Antal Szerb’s collection of world poetry including poems in their original language and their Hungarian translations. I keep going back and reread my favourite poems, when I have enough time to slow down and really experience the works.

Who are my favorite writers? I love short stories, my favourite writers are Ádám Bodor, Krisztina Tóth, Attila Hazai. I have been a big fan of Milan Kundera since my teenage years. I like the type of narrative Charles Bukowski, Gábor Németh or Virginia Wolf uses.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? It depends. If I knew that it was going to be my last day, I would listen to some blues by Tom Waits or maybe The End by The Doors. If I didn’t know that it was my last day, I hope that I would be calm, relaxed and happy, in which case I would probably listen to Für Alina by Arvo Part and would definitely do that in the morning

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Those who actively help people in need. In art, Banksy is a hero for me, as he he really is continuously reflecting on social issues and uses his popularity to widen the audience of contemporary art and to raise awareness of important phenomena. Ai Weiwei is the artist I most admire for the quality of his art and his activeness in drawing the attention to vital themes of today.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Reconstruction, On Body and Soul, Oldboy

What role plays art in my life and work? It makes every part of my life a lot more fun and meaningful.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Veronika Szendrő, originally a sculptor, now a video artist and gallery director.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? The artists of MyMuseum Gallery, Márk Martinkó, Kristóf Murányi, Tibor Nagy, Marcell Piti, Ákos Rajnai, Szarvas, Veronika Szendrő, Péter Trembeczki and Isabel Val 🙂

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Anna Dempster, whom I know from the Sotheby’s Institute of Art, and who helped me immensely. It would be great to show her around in the gallery.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? The opening of the gallery was a pretty big milestone for me, and is a huge, ongoing project to work on this year 🙂

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? In MyMuseum, the digital art gallery that we are opening in May. The exhibiting space is on the Dohány-Kazinczy corner in Budapest and we are also available through our webpage mymuseum.co.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? When you feel it deep down that you can do it, you have to act, forget the doubts and dive in. As many times as it needs. Don’t be afraid of changing.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Irma Horváth, Isabel Val

How can you contact me?

ttunde@mymuseum.co; +36205676045

Leave a Reply

