The Heroine’s Journey of Paige Benjamin

 

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love fashion,style and travel. Though, what I love most about what I do is that I get to combine all three of these passions for the sake of creating. I travel for research as part of my passion. I am inspired and motivated by my surroundings, architecture, culture, though most of all, people and their individualism.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Perfect happiness is always taking a moment to realize just how blessed I am. Sure, life isn’t perfect, but I always have a choice to make on deciding what I will focus on. I choose life. I choose a good, abundant life and that begins with gratitude and meditating on that goodness.

What is my greatest fear?

Haha. I actually had to think about this for a minute, because in leu of the previous question, it’s not something I try and focus on. I think I would say losing passion is my greatest fear. And I mean losing passion about anything, but in particularly, what I enjoy doing (though because, this passion is embedded so deep within me, not sure if that fear is even probable)

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

The need to please others. Everything is and or can be fine with balance, however, if you’re not careful, something like pleasing others outside of your own desires and or needs can be unhealthy and potentially dangerous to your well being if not properly monitored.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

In my profession, I admire Jean-Paul Gaultier. He seems to be a bit of an anomaly. He’s incredibly talented, with an amazing brand, works in the fashion industry and yet somehow has remained humble and so kind and gracious throughout it all, which is not what this industry is known for. I’d say he’s a great ambassador and someone to admire in the fashion industry.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Hahaha. Because of my passion, one might expect me to say something with respect to clothing, however, it’s actually food. Although, I no longer eat a lot of the foods I use to, I love a great dish and am willing to pay top dollar for an insanely delicious dessert and or pastry.

On what occasion would I lie?

I would not pick an occasion to lie.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

I don’t want to say, dislike, rather, I’d prefer to say, my least favorite part about my work is the business aspect. Anything non-creative, that requires me to figure out numbers and or marketing, I have found to be a bit more challenging.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I was in Berlin and the happiest moment started with when I came up with the idea for my style vlog, around February 2016 and a few months later, my clothing line. Again, that was just the start. With each day/moment as I work on my craft, I am the happiest.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would like to be a bit more vocal about how I feel.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I don’t think I’ve reached my greatest achievement yet. There’s never a limit to greatness.

Where would I most like to live?

I love living in Europe. London is the one city that I am most looking forward to living at some point.

What is my most treasured possession?

My most treasured possession right now is my phone as it is the source for most of my work and business. For instance all of my filming for my vlog are done on my phone.

What is my most marked characteristic?

My most marked characteristic is perhaps my positive attitude. I am really big on encouraging others.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

In Berlin, where I live, the most inspiring location at the moment is the district, Mitte. So far, it’s been the one area where I have found the most creative innovative styles and people.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

My absolute favorite place to eat in Berlin was a Portuguese restaurant that no longer exists called, Lata. They had the most incredible salad there called, the mountain salad. Have you ever eaten something so good, that somehow while eating it, you couldn’t hear? That’s how amazing this salad was. It completely shut down my other 4 senses.

What books influenced my life and how?

Perhaps a bit cliche, but the one book that inspired me most as far as my current life is Eat Pray Love. I had already made the decision to move to Europe, but this story was what pushed me over the edge.

Who are my favorite writers?

Toni Morrison, Katherine Applegate and Augusten Burroughs

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

John the Baptist by Neko Case.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Miranda Priestly from The Devil Wears Prada hehe

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Jesus

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

La La Land

What role plays art in my life and work?

Art plays a huge role in my life and work, as my life is about creating, which is also my work. In order for me to create, I need to be inspired, and that can come from a multitude of things; movies, music, shapes, colors, a person’s style and or characteristics. All of which in some respect are forms of art.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

Honestly, I have gotten so much support from a lot of friends and family. I am truly grateful for all of them. Though, there have been 3 in particular who have surprised me most by their level of dedication in seeing these projects through to the end- Mony Nation, Javier Alleciardi and Piotr Wolski.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

I would love to meet and dress, Judah Smith, Paolo Roldan, Idris Elba, Pharell Williams, and Joseph Gordon Levitt, just to name a few ; )

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Model, Paolo Roldan. He’s one of my muse’s, and I truly expect that he will be modeling my clothing line some day in the very near future.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I am preparing to launch my first menswear collection this September. I am very excited for what’s to come. Check out my fundraiser campaign to help me make hizstry – fundrazr.com/makinghizstry

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

My menswear line that will be launched September 2017 can be viewed on my website. In the meantime, if you head to hizstry.com, you will also be able to see the gradual roll out of the campaign leading up to the official launch. For my style vlog, you can go to, sywpaige.com, to see the latest individual styles of men all over the world.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

We all have a purpose that when pursued can turn into a passion. There is a hunger and a calling within us all, that whether we choose to answer and or feed it, will always remain, seeking our attention. Passion and or purpose will never retire as it’s only responsibilities are to insist so that you may persist.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Paulette Benjamin (writer/author), Pamela Benjamin (writer, painter, artist), Monyetta Nation (photographer and author), Dr. Jeanelle (writer/author) Gordon and Monique Amado (film maker, writer, singer, actor)

How can you contact me?

To learn more about my menswear style vlog, and or if you are a stylish man or perhaps know one who would like to be featured, please head over to sywpaige.com (Suit Yourself with Paige). You may also contact me at, info@hizstry.com to learn more about my upcoming

the fundraising campaign I currently have to support the launch of my menswear line, https://fundrazr.com/makinghizstry

 

Leave a Reply

