The Heroine’s Journey of Sabrina Ramacci

What is the best thing that I love about my work? RAMI (Rescued Archive Memories Initiative) is a project about our memories. So, first of all I love letting people understand how important their family memories are. I love the exact moment they wipe away the dust from diaries or letters and decide to give me these materials for the digital transcription into a bookzine (that’s the way I define this sort of DIY book), with texts and photos.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To reach, as long as I can, the here and now awareness. The latin words “Hic et Nuncare a sort of state of mind, extremely vivid and colorful.

What is my greatest fear? Loosing my memories and going blind about my past.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Laziness. But I’ve found my own discipline, so I know how to avoid the pitfalls that ruin a creative career.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I’ve still not found someone who made exactly what I do with my artistic research, so I don’t know. Nevertheless there are so many artists that work on family memories and “findings”, I’m always very interesting in their researches. Anyway, I appreciate also all the creatives that work on “hauntology”, in music fields as well as in visual design. One living person? Just one? Perhaps Richard Littler (British writer and designer) and his project “Scarfolk, that inspired my first steps.

What is my greatest extravagance? Talking alone, or creating stupid song to sing to my cat, but I don’t think these are actually extravagances. It’s just funny. My partner think that I’ve a Dadaist mind. I suspect he is right: quite often I lose some words in my mind, in the space between my neurons and my voice, so what I say sounds like a collage of nonsense.

On what occasion would I lie? I guess, to help or protect someone. But I’m in love with the truth…

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Finding paying customers. It’s not easy at all, I dislike it, but it’s nonetheless a part of my job, so I have built my tricks.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I’m happy when my artistic process is in harmony. When I create something I wish to do and the outcome is exactly what I’ve thought.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I’d like to be more quiet, not cold as Mr. Spock, but a bit less emotional than how I feel myself.

What is my greatest achievement in work? To let the people understand how much important is keeping their family memories safe, and how much is crucial to handwrite in their everyday life. When they understand these two points for me is a success, because the big value and achievement in my job is to let someone understand exactly what I do, so they can spread my project to other people.

Where would I most like to live? I’m really fond of Rome. It is a crazy and chaotic place to live in, but there’s so much history here, you grow up with the echoes of mankind through centuries. This city is crucial for my job because it helps you to learn from the past. So I guess I will stay here, otherwise, if I change my mind, I will fly to Berlin.

What is my most treasured possession? All the stuff that I’ve found across the streets or in yard sales: letters, postcards, notes, diaries, photos. These memories are so important because I save things people have lost or thrown away, I take care of them, and turn these treasures into art.

What is my most marked characteristic? I will never stop to play like a child.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Actually, I can’t choose just one. Rome is amazing. Although it isn’t the better place to live, as I said is so chaotic, but I have a trick to survive: pretending to be a tourist, whenever I can, so as to fall in love with Rome like the first time.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Cul de Sac”, near Piazza Navona. A place where you can taste Mediterranean foods and good wines from all over the world.

What books influenced my life and how? Art books (illustration, graphic design, photography and so on) and all that awesome readings, magazines and zines connected with visual arts.

Who are my favorite writers? Truman Capote, Charles Dickens, Alan Bennett, Annie Ernaux, Cormac McCarthy.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Nick Cave, no doubts. I’ve started listening to him when I was seventeen. I still do. I will ever do.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Sherlock Holmes.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? All the people I love and the people who fight to be themselves, against all stupid rules and compromises.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? Wings of Desire (Der Himmel über Berlin, 1987) by Wim Wenders.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is the Queen of my life.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Emanuele, my partner. And of course my kitty, Annie Oz.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? This year I’ve worked with Carolina Farina and Funzilla Fest (http://funzillafest.com/), I hope we will work again together. New entry in the list? I don’t know but I’m constantly looking around for exciting connections.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? Shiny happy people.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I’m working on a series of zines about the connection with my project to visual arts and Jacques Derrida’s hauntology.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? As an art journalist, you’ll find my articles on FrizziFrizzi (www.frizzifrizzi.it) an online magazine of pop culture. As an artist, somewhere over a fairy rainbow and of course on my website.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Never stop being curious, never stop playing, never stop learning. And above all never stop to trust in yourself.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Margherita Pevere, artist. (http://www.margheritapevere.com)

Valentina Vannicola, artist and photographer. (http://www.valentinavannicola.it/            

Margherita Barrera, artist and illustrator. (http://fantasmarg.tumblr.com/)

Luisa Montalto, artist and illustrator. (http://luisamontalto.com/)

Sara Pellegrino, artist and photographer. (https://www.behance.net/sarapellegrino)

Carolina Farina, artist, zine maker and photographer. (https://www.facebook.com/caroleeohph/)

Mariangela Mincione, publisher. (http://www.mincionedizioni.it/)

Tatiana Bazzichelli, director and curator of Disruption Network Lab. (https://twitter.com/t_bazz)

Manuela Pinetti, screenwriter and journalist. (https://it.linkedin.com/in/manuelapinetti)

Silvana Cinus, network marketer. (http://www.silvanacinus.com/)

How can you contact me?

Leave a Reply

