The Heroine’s Journey of Stephanie Marihan

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The versatility and how can I change the work field easily. I’ve never been bored.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The perfect balance between personal and working life, and sometimes how this can be a symbiosis.

What is my greatest fear? Let important phases in my life passing in front of my eyes without seeing them and not given these moments the time they deserve.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I worry too much about stupid things (I’m getting old and getting better at it)

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I really like when the artists are also activists, so I really admire the work of Zaria Forman for example… To be honest, I admire so many artists, painters, illustrators, sculptures, fashion designers…it is impossible to elect one.  Ai Weiwei, Borondo and so many more….

What is my greatest extravagance? To me is not an extravagance anymore, maybe because the life I’ve been living is now my routine, but yes, I think, doing my own schedule, my time and my choices can be an extravagance for others.

On what occasion would I lie? To protect someone undefended or to cover a friend.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I’ve been working whit everything related to creativity, and creativity, itself, is not something measured, sometimes I see myself talking about the smell or sound of the colors to a scientist or mathematician.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? The best moment in my work is when I see all kind of talented professionals working together and happy in the same project. I can say that I’m really good at connecting people.

If I could, what would I change about myself?My professional life started when I was 17 (seventeen) and I’ve always had this anxiety and curiosity bubbling inside me, for a long time it was my fuel. Nowadays I can say that I could have gone slower and enjoyed better my youth. I’ve always carried heavy responsibilities when too young.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I’ve done so many things and I’ve met so many talented people, that I consider myself a hybrid worker and person. I can do, talk and create about so many things.

Where would I most like to live? My life has been great in the Netherlands, I’m really happy where I’m right now.

What is my most treasured possession? My Oma (grandmother), My mom, my dog Baleia and all the people that I love.

What is my most marked characteristic? I would say I’m an easygoing person and I try really hard to respect others perspectives. I don’t like gossips and power games. I’m spontaneous and a little bit goofy.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Definitely the Clingendael Park in The Hague.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? Well, I’ve always had the best meals at home, I really like to cook and bake, however, The Hague has lots of nice bars to have a drink around. I’m that kind of person who is loyal to the places, once I like going there, I’m gonna go forever. I’ve been going to a tiny tine jazz bar called The Murphys Law. You can have a nice beer listening to some great live jazz every day.

What books influenced my life and how? The house of the spirits by Isabel Allende. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Little women by Louisa May Alcott. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. The neverending story by Michael Ende. All of them in different ways tell the importance of being a woman who knows what they want and how important is to be yourself and follow your instincts.

Who are my favorite writers? Jane Austen, Anais Nin, Simone de Beauvoir

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I would say the album: Jazz – Swing Is the thing.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Josephine March (Little Women) by Louisa May Alcott

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My mom, Oma, Mother in law, my partners, girlfriends, Margaret Mee and so on….

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? I’m a movie lover, it’s hard to select only one… My top 5 would be: (but this list changes constantly): Nebraska, The Constant Gardener, The reader, Little Miss Sunshine, The hours

What role plays art in my life and work?  Art in my personal life means my relax and most naive time,  in my work is almost everything.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Definitely my Mom. As she said this week by phone, “our connection is so strong, like a long umbilical cord crossing the continents” She is the best!

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? It’ll sound out of the blue but I would love to work at the Urban farmers in my city (The Hague)

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I prefer letting my life go on and meet people naturally

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? This year I started a personal project about my grandmother (Oma in Dutch). She has Alzheimer and that strong and incredible woman is fading away. I found old pictures from her, so I’ve decided to create by drawing on her pictures, my own concept about what happened (in a fantastic style). My idea is to develop this project in different ways.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can find me in many ways: My website: www.stephaniemarihan.com. My drawings and projects with my friends in Brazil /São Paulo – Estúdio MY.S www.estudiomy.s.com

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? I believe that everyone has a spark inside, this spark has lots of names: Guts, feeling, discomfort… Doesn’t matter the age, if something wakes you inside I would call it passion. Each person has their own and sometimes people live their entire life without knowing what awakens them.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Oh, I have so many talented and precious heroines in my life… I would say all my girlfriends but I’ll select 10… Bia Goll, Renata Chede, Yara Fukimoto, Maira Fukimoto, Bruna Castro, Sally Ann Taylor, Fernanda Yamamoto, Silvia Strass, Marina Chaccur, Thais Fabris,  Wanessa Rudmer, Fernanda Rudmer, Daniela Schultais, Melissa Velez.

How can you contact me?

hello@stephaniemarihan.com

Leave a Reply

