The Heroine’s Journey of Mary Franzese

What is the best thing that I love about my work? What I love the most is the possibility to work with motivated and skilled people for bringing a new life-saving medical device on the market. Neuron Guard, in fact, is a startup that is developing a connected platform to revolutionize the treatment of brain damages

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Perfect happiness means reaching work-life-balance in an inclusive and a gender balanced world, so the possibility to work and lead a successful company that gives the same opportunities both to women and men.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is to leave a world to the next generation where there is no chance to dream big and become what we would like to be!

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am too stubborn. Sometimes is good, sometimes is not. It depends on the people I am with and the environment where I am.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? Sheryl Sandberg, COO of Facebook.

What is my greatest extravagance? My ability to be a stubborn dreamer entrepreneur.

On what occasion would I lie? I would lie with my father about my personal life because he is too jealous ☺

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The gender unbalance: there are too many men.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I became the cofounder of Neuron Guard.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be more positive and spontaneous.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I had the possibility to receive some awards about woman entrepreneurship, such as “Germoglio d’Oro” Fondazione Bellisario which recognizes young women who are distinguished for courage and entrepreneurial endeavors. I have received this award for the courage, energy
and optimism that I have invested in my ideas (Neuron Guard), as example of a young Italian who risked and succeeded.

Where would I most like to live? I would like to move in Boston (USA).

What is my most treasured possession? The resilience.

What is my most marked characteristic? I am very motivated and passionate about my job.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I love the sea and “Costiera amalfitana” is one of the most inspirational location for me.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I don’t have a favorite place because I am always on travel, so I am used to choose a cozy and charming place.

What books influenced my life and how? “Lean In” by Sheryl Sandberg.

Who are my favorite writers? Alda Merini, Oriana Fallaci, Paulo Coelho.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? “Sky and sand” by Paul Kalkbrenner

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Rita Levi Montalcini, for her passion about science, and my grandma for her passion about life.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? “Man on fire” with Denzel Washington

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is the real expression of who we are.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My family, above all my dad, because they always encourage me to follow my path.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would like to work with more young, skilled and passionate people.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Sheryl Sandberg and Arianna Huffington.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I am looking forward to work on the preindustrialization and marketing plan of the device, because we plan to reach the market by the end of the next year, once completed the clinical trial.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can find me via LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Never stop dreaming and pursuing your dreams.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? I would say all my friends of #caffedelledonne via Twitter.

How can you contact me? mary.franzese@neuronguard.com

Leave a Reply

