The Heroine’s Journey of Florence Egasse

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love the freedom of being able to plan my day the way I want to and having the flexibility to balance my work with my family life. I also truly cherish the luxury to be as creative as I want to be.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? My idea of happiness, rather than perfect happiness is a feeling or a state of mind that evolves with age and the situations we experience in life. For me it is about appreciating the little things in life, from a singing bird, to the sun stroking my face, spending time with my family and friends, being grateful for what I have rather than striving for what I haven’t got . And obviously being able to be creative!!

What is my greatest fear? For future generations it is climate change. Public speaking is a no-no for me.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Impulsivity

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? They are too many artists to name them all.

What is my greatest extravagance? One bubbly too many. If I had more money my extravagance would be spent on buying art.

On what occasion would I lie? Not to offend someone

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I doubt my work at times. But I guess that it is the ultimate price to pay to better myself and grow.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Recently at the Christchurch Art Show, I got a sense of achievement and pride when you work is well received.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would love to master public speaking. I hate the idea of talking in front of an audience on stage. I always challenge myself. Public speaking is the ultimate challenge for me to take on.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Showing my work in public for the first time.

Where would I most like to live? Half of the year in Christchurch and half of the year in the South West of France.

What is my most treasured possession? My photos are definitely my most treasured possession, sadly most of them still live in my computer.

What is my most marked characteristic? Perseverance and determination.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? In Hanmer Springs looking over the Southern Alps

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Kinji, a Japanese restaurant in Christchurch hits the mark for amazing food, nice atmosphere and decently priced.

What books influenced my life and how? George Orwell in 1984 developed concepts about Big Brother, the Thought Police, etc… , As a teenager the idea of living in a society where your capacity to think is reduced systematically and where you have no private life was really scary. Incredibly this novel is a prophecy of our today society. I have grown to be a firm believer that knowledge is power and knowledge sharing get us closer to freedom.

Who are my favorite writers? Paulo Coehlo, Alexandre Jardin

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? “Comptine d’un autre été : L’après-midi”, this music gets me every single time!

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Amélie Poulain, a modern fairy

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My mum for the unconditional love and kindness she has for almost anyone. In general I admire people who don’t care and who are not scared to be themselves and without being arrogant.

Which movie would recommend to see once in a lifetime? “The Dear Hunter”, “The Shaw Shank Redemption” and “Amélie”

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is omnipresent in my work of course when I paint, in the music I listen to, when my daughters dance, draw, , etc… It enhances my life and spices it up! Art defines me and is an open window to my soul.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Woody my hubby, my daughters, my family and my close friends.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Any street artist so I can learn how to use a spray can

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I do not have one in mind. However I would love to meet artists from the North Island that I have been following online.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I am just about to start working on my biggest commission so far.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
Majuba Gallery/Hanmer Springs
Art on Tyne, Oamaru
The Mount Pleasant Art Exhibition, Sep 2017

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Dream, dream, dream until you die

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Kirsty Collett

How can you contact me?
Fb: Florence Egasse Artist
www.floart.co.nz
Instagram: floartnz

Leave a Reply

