The Heroine’s Journey of Natalya Aikens

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  The materials that I get to touch and manipulate; the speed of machine stitching and the slow meditative nature of hand stitching.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? Having hours of uninterrupted studio time where the work is flowing effortlessly and a loving family waiting for me to emerge.
What is my greatest fear? That I might lose my sight….
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Fear of failure and/or success.
Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? Amy Meissner, Abigail Doan, Dionne Swift
What is my greatest extravagance? Someone else cleaning my house so I can keep creating.
On what occasion would I lie? To protect the innocent! Ha! I would lie to keep the peace, but only if it’s a little white lie like whether someone remembered to clean something up or not..
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Figuring out how to display it. It seems like there are so many options and yet none of them are quite right!
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I am always happiest when I’m in the midst of figuring out how I am going to create what is in my head and the studio is a gigantic mess of materials!
If I could, what would I change about myself? I would be more assertive.
What is my greatest achievement in work? The ability to keep creating and keep evolving despite whatever life throws my way.
Where would I most like to live? New York City or maybe London..
What is my most treasured possession? My eye sight.
What is my most marked characteristic? Patience? At least that’s what others say… I think maybe tenacity. Or the ability to persevere.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The whole of New York City is inspirational. The streets, the buildings and the cracks in the side walk, the glass and reflections in it. And the people! Especially the people.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I can’t choose! Too many options and can’t play favorites!
What books influenced my life and how? Gifts of Imperfection by Brene Brown. It helped me realize that there’s no such thing as perfect, and helped me embrace the fact that my quirks and imperfections make me who I am.
Who are my favorite writers? Malcolm Gladwell, Donna Tartt, Elizabeth Gilbert, Diana Gabaldon, Brene Brown
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Mozart or maybe Edit Piaf
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Pippi Longstocking, Claire Fraser, Katniss Everdeen
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My parents. They changed their lives entirely and upended everything to achieve a better life for their son and daughter.
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? The Princess Bride!
What role plays art in my life and work? My own art keeps me sane; other art, whether old masters, new masters or contemporary artists, inspires me.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My two daughters and numerous friends.
Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would love to collaborate with other artists working in repurposed media. Perhaps we can do an installation? Yes, a massive installation! And show the world what beauty can be made with  trash when you look at it as a material and not garbage.
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Gizella Warburton, Ines Seidel, Aurora Robson, Barbara De Pirro
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I am looking forward to continuing my Iron Spine series in the XL mode. I am working on the second piece right now and have probably two more on my mind. Also would love to play with my  materials and see how I can incorporate shadows into my work.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can see Iron Spine 5XL at Quilt National 2017 at the Dairy Barn Arts Center in Athens, OH. Till September 4th, 2017. And you can see me with my art in tow at the Armonk Outdoor Art Show in Armonk, NY. September 23-24, 2017; Crafts at Purchase in Purchase, NY. October 28-29, 2017; and Crafts at the Cathedral in NYC. November 30th – December 2nd, 2017
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion always needs to be expressed, so an artist who is passionate about their work cannot stop making the work.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Amy Meissner, Kesha Bruce, Jane Davila, Michelle Sirois-Silver

How can you contact me?

Leave a Reply

