The Heroine’s Journey of Roberta Maddalena

What is the best thing that I love about my work? When I draw, everyday is different and every drawing brings me in a different world, I meet a lot of people. I love it. And when I play music and do sound design I discover endless worlds inside me.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Breathing in front of the sea.

What is my greatest fear? To see my country (Italy) become the worst country in the world, because of people’s behavior.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I always have the last word!

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Nick Knight, James Jean, Clark, Bjork and Grimes.

What is my greatest extravagance? Incoherence. And privacy. It is a great extravagance, by now, in our society!

On what occasion would I lie? To save a friend’s life.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Italian methods and times.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I talked at TEDx.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Nothing, but if I could, I would like to be a man just for one day.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Generate happiness and changes in people’s life.

Where would I most like to live? Out of Italy, in front of the sea.

What is my most treasured possession? The way I am.

What is my most marked characteristic? I am a manga character 🙂

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  Parks and water.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love Komenn, a Thai restaurant in Porta Romana, and Gogol bookshop in via Savona.

What books influenced my life and how? I received the book Masquerade (by Kit Williams) from my mother when I was 3. Strange gift for a little child… And my favourite reading as a child was the Universal encyclopedia. That’s why I am who I am. My fav book ever is Calvino’s “Le città invisibili”.

Who are my favorite writers? Italo Calvino, Cesare Pavese, Agota Kristoff, Kent Haruf, Mariangela Gualtieri, Kurt Vonnegut… and many others. Really.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Talkin’ Heads, Psycho Killer.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Mystica, Wolverine, Sense8 characters, MacGyver, and the A-team.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? I admire who fights to give himself/herself an opportunity.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? The Arrival (by Denis Villeneuve).

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is my life. It is in my daily actions, thoughts and works.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Mara: she always supports me with the right words, listening and her presence in my life, as a true friend. And my greatest parter in crime is Giacomo Carlone, we play music together and we act like twin brothers sometimes (but he’s the beautiest haha!).

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? David Byrne, Denis Villeneuve, Massive Attack, Bjork, Rei Kawakubo, Wes Anderson.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Tinker Hatfield, Rei Kawakubo, Karl Lagerfeld.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Music, music, music.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

My websites: www.robertamaddalena.com and www.bireau.com
Meet me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robertamaddalenabireau/

And you can see me in Milan or Berlin 🙂

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means Life. It’s never too late to be yourself, as you like to be, and to learn something new.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Giorgia Bressan, an illustrator, and Annalisa Fulvi, a painter.

How can you contact me?

info (at) robertamaddalena.com

Leave a Reply

