The Heroine’s Journey of Erica Agazzani

What is the best thing that I love about my work? May I say freedom? Yes, I’m very free to decide what I want to do. I’m an acquarius/virgo then I’ve got a very original but constructive nature.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I work the glass, I love to cut and give a sharp to my creations, then I use colors. I love colors and their transparency. This is what give me an idea of perfect happiness.

What is my greatest fear?  The only fear I have is not to have enough money to live. I’ve got two sons (20 and 25) and they grow up only with my artistic work… That means “money up and down”. But even though, they grow up very well, they’re nice and living in awareness.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Since I’m an incurable optimistic, people say: “…oh yes, sure, you’re an idealist, for you everything is easy…” and sometimes I exaggerate.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? During my life I met an artist who is less idealistic than me. That’s good for me, because living and working together, he helps me to see the better way to realize a work. I’m not very soft with him… I’m still a warrior, but I accept and often I need his advice.

What is my greatest extravagance? I’m 57, now I live in a beautiful place in the mountains, after a life living everywhere searching my place. So the only extravagance which I can think is going to the city looking some art exhibition, for example: leave everything and go to Venice and see the Biennale. My extravagance should give me a lot of nice sensations. And Art gives me that.

On what occasion would I lie? I can say a lie every time to get some little time for me, doesn’t mind.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? When people don’t understand what I’m doing. Coming in my workshop they only have a look at my works and they get out, so I understood that I have to explain them what they’re looking, like: “…those are my creations, I cut the glass, I make this and that, then I paint, I put them in the oven and so on…”. I understood in my life that if I make something different and original I must explain, because not everyone knows. And also I learned on my own that all the people need love, then it’s better to be nice and kind with everyone.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I’m happy in my work when people buy something from me after to have understood what I do. And this is frequent.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to have green eyes…!!!

What is my greatest achievement in work? I made three windows stained glass in a beautiful little church in the valley I live. People were very happy about that. I would like to make windows stained glass in most of the ancient churches and not just in my valley.

Where would I most like to live? Where I live, in a mountain, into the wood, beautiful air, clean and fresh water, this is my place. When I was young I lived in London, Frankfurt, Köln, Amsterdam, Paris… I really loved those cities, but now I prefer living here.

What is my most treasured possession? I’m not possessive, at all.

What is my most marked characteristic? Originality,but coherent with my deeply self.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I’m happy when I walk through the wood in my mountain. Living the seasons, the changes of temperature, the change of colors, the change of weather. When I lived in London I used to go in Camden Town, sitting in a chess café, eating apple pies. It was for me a nice location that inspired my work. I made some window decorations there.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? I like going to eat and drink in typical restaurants of the valley, where you can find local products at low cost. Many ancient cafè’s and restaurants got one of my personalized clocks, or also decorated doors.

What books influenced my life and how? The Mist of Avalon. I read it when I was 20. The friend who gave me that book was and is still an astrological studious, and at that time every friends called him “Merlin the Magician”. After read it, I met a man like Uther Pendragon, King of Celts, spoken of in the book, and I had a son from him that I called Gwydion, like the character in the book. Gwydion is a celtic name of King Arthur. My son is a warrior too. The name of my second son came from an Andersen’s tale.

Who are my favorite writers? My favorite writer has been John Steinbeck, but also Ernest Hemingway, Jean-Paul Sartre, Anton Čechov, Virginia Woolf, Gabriel Garcìa Màrquez, José Saramago…

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I think on my last day of life, if I were to listen to the Jorma Kaukonen I wouldn’t die.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?  “Harold & Maude” because it explains the relationship between life and death. Another one I really loved is “The Name of the Rose” for his medieval atmosphere and for the research around the catholicism reality. There is also Dogville for his great (non)scenography and the very true concept about acceptation of new people in a community.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art plays the main role in my life. It gives me a lot of sensations. In London I’ve been to the Tate Gallery when I was 22. It’s been a full immersion of my own being in a state of new creativity. I say: “Modern Art gives me oxygen!” even if I really like Art Nouveau, Impressionism and Abstractionism.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  I became having some fans only after opening a workshop… After more than 35 years of glass working!

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? In this 2017 I’ll work with church’s stained glass and I hope to find other people who wants make some beautiful glass decoration in their home (or churches).

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Pistoletto is an artist I would like to know. I also like Udo Zembok’s works.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I have a home, it’s very old and it’s been built with stones. I want to restructure it and make a place where it’s possible playing local music, eating simple food and drinking craft beer. This is my main project for the next three years. But my work in stained glass must go on. I’m full of ideas, too many for my available time. But I know that all I wanted to do in my life I made it.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? In my workshop named Il Laboratorio di Sampeyre.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Bona Tolotti https://www.bonatolotti.com/

How can you contact me?

You can contact me here:
facebook profile: Erica Agazzani
website: www.ericaclock.com
blog: ericaclock.blogspot.com.
workshop: Il Laboratorio – Via Roma, 14 – Sampeyre, Italy

Leave a Reply

