The Heroine’s Journey of Susan Lizotte

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love the process of working through ideas in my head and creating in paint my ideas, watching the process happen is incredible. I love mixing the colors I want to use and how the colors vibrate with each other.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? Perfect happiness is painting something I love, never wanting to stop because I love the colors, composition and glazing. Having my peers admiration is also perfect happiness, as well as love of family and a great meal with great wine!
What is my greatest fear? Yikes, I think it would be dying alone and unloved or a horrible car crash would be my biggest fears. I try not to think about that very much.
What is the trait I most deplore in myself? I don’t really know, I guess it would be that I am too helpful and get caught up trying to help others, who could probably care less that I offered to assist.
What living persons in my profession do I most admire? I admire John Currin and his gorgeous paintings, I love that he just paints what he wants even when the subject matter is controversial and he works so hard. I admire Om Bleicher an art dealer at BG Gallery in Santa Monica, he has built up his own gallery and is completely honest and lovely in a profession not known for those particular qualities. He was the first person to show my work and I completely admire him.
What is my greatest extravagance? Ha this is a multiple answer, shoes and beautiful clothing!! It’s ironic too because mostly I’m almost always wearing painting or mom clothes and it’s so special when I get to go out and wear beautiful shoes or a gorgeous dress.
On what occasion would I lie? Well I’m a mom and I would lie to my oldest daughter if her father (an ex husband) wasn’t being great. I would try and cover for him so my daughter would not be hurt emotionally. I guess that would be when I would lie, to try and protect someone.
What is the thing I most dislike in my work? I think I dislike that I have so many ideas and trying to put them in paint sometimes becomes too spread out and no one can see the connections but me. I dislike sometimes lacking more homogeneous work if that makes sense.
When and where was I happiest in my work? I have easily been happiest working on a large painting of demons for 3 1/2 months last year. I had so much fun drawing in the figures, mixing each and every color, painting and waiting and glazing. Oh it was so glorious! I never wanted to stop touching it!!
If I could, what would I change about myself? I would become completely patient and calm and unruffled.
What is my greatest achievement in work? My greatest achievement is knowing how to mix color and use it for effect and being able to wash paint over layers and make it disappear. Brush handing and mixing are my best achievements right now. Having other artists love my work is also a great achievement!
Where would I most like to live? I’d love to live in Corsica, the beaches and countryside are stunning. It looks very peaceful and idyllic. I’d love to have a stone farmhouse with a big fireplace and take long walks and grow food. Have people visit and cook and dance on the beach!
What is my most treasured possession? I love my 1986 Alfa Romeo convertible. It’s fun and broken in and the leather interior smells very good.
What is my most marked characteristic? I think it’s my endless curiosity. I’m always wondering about pretty much everything. I’m a google fiend.
What is my most inspirational location in my city? I would say the view from the Hollywood Hills to downtown and the beach is as thrilling as it gets, the light filtering from golden yellow to dark purple blue, I could watch that forever.
What is my favorite place to eat and drink in my city? I really adore Cavatina restaurant inside the Sunset Marquis Hotel, they have exquisite food and I love having a glass of champagne with my food.
What books influenced my life and who are my favorite writers? I love The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle, The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway and was recently inspired by The Age of Autism: Mercury, Medicine and a Man-Made Epidemic by Mark Blaxill and Dan Olmsted. Each of these authors creates a world I get to visit and experience!
You only die once. What music would I listen to on my last day?Borodin’ String Quartet in D Major is one of the most beautiful and haunting pieces of music I’ve ever heard and I could happily listen to that on my last day.
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction ? James Bond in Ian Fleming’s books is my hero.
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? The men and women who run The Sea Shepard and protect whales from being killed (despite an international ban on whaling!) are definitely my real life heroes and heroines.
Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? I would recommend Gone With The Wind, it is epic and magnificent!
What role art plays in my life and work?Everything becomes an exercise in harmony and beauty.
Who is my biggest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband and children.
With whom would I like to work in 2017? Trine Churchill whose paintings I adore!
Which people in my profession would I like to meet in 2017? I’d like to meet John Currin, Thomas Houseago, Ed Ruscha
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to working on? I’m currently starting (and am excited about) a series of paintings inspired by Pascal Cotte who invented a multi spectral camera. This camera can photograph the entire light spectrum from UV to infrared making visible the previously invisible. He scanned the Mona Lisa and Lady with an Ermine and there are previous versions of both paintings. My new series riffs on this.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? My paintings will be in a show August 12-21, 2017 at Beyond The Lines Gallery in Bergamot Station in Santa Monica California. My paintings will also be shown at the Los Angeles Art Fair in January 2018.
What do the words Passion Never Retires means to me? I think that once you have a zeal for something that you never really ever those that quality. It might lay low and simmer, but it’s really always a part of your soul, your essence.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Trine Churchill, Rebecca Campbell, Chloe Boleyn
How can you contact me?
You can email me at susanlizotte@yahoo.com
Leave a Reply

