The Heroine’s Journey of Sharon Pomales

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The best thing I love about my work is the freedom it gives me to manage my time as I choose to. Having my own studio at home gives me the opportunity to spend more time with my family. My work as an artist also allows me to express myself in a non-verbal way.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? When I am with my family I am happy, and knowing we are all healthy and happy is perfect happiness to me. Second to that, making a living doing what I love and am passionate about, surrounded by my loved ones, and contributing, somehow, to a more joyful and more beautiful world around me.

What is my greatest fear? What I worry the most about, is of anything bad happening to my husband or children, of them not being safe. Other lesser fear is the fear of heights.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Being afraid or worried too much.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? In the arts in general the list changes as I discover new artists who can really impress me:
in the arts in general, I admire photographers Annie Leibovitz and Sally Mann, fine
artists Chuck Close, Marilyn Minter, Cesar Santos, Victor Grasso, Annie MurphyRobinson,
Anthony Waichulis, David Eichenberg, Janet Fish, Pamela Wilson, Marco
Grassi, Lee Price, Renato Muccillo, Lita Cabellut, directors/writers/actors Woody Allen
and Larry David (because of their comedic genius), and writers Isabel Allende, Luis
Rafael Sanchez, and Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

What is my greatest extravagance? I consider myself a very conscientious person when it comes to spending. I would never spend an extravagant amount of money on myself. For my work I buy good paints, good brushes, and good substrates, not the most expensive but the best for the job. My most luxurious possessions are gifts from my husband: my car, my jewelry, and my dog.

On what occasion would I lie? To save a life (either mine or somebody else’s)…and that is all Im going to say about lying….NEXT QUESTION! Lol

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be taller, I’m 5’4” and I would love to have better eyesight.

Where would I most like to live? If I had to choose a place other than where we live now (on the Lake Erie shore in Bay Village, Ohio), I would love to live in the western mountain region of the US, and it would have to be by a river because we love living by water and so my husband can flyfish in his backyard. And I would love to have a second home in New York City because that place feeds me with energy and inspiration. Two contrasting, different environments that complement my personality.

What is my most treasured possession? My most treasured possessions are the urn in my studio that contains my mother’s ashes, and a dvd my dad made for me in 1995 where I can hear his voice and see him because he pointed his video-camera to a mirror to film himself. Those two possessions are irreplaceable to me, emotionally, psychologically.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Any place where there are a lot of people enjoying themselves, being happy, doing stuff. Watching people interact with each other and the world around them inspires me to paint all those multi-figure, narrative paintings I make that sometimes remind people of Rockwell. If I need immediate inspiration, I drive 17 minutes from my house to The Westside Market, or the Aquarium, or 20 minutes to the Zoo, The Cleveland Museum of Art, or East 4th St. in downtown.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? A few blocks from my house, right next door to BayArts, is a little restaurant I like called Vento La Trattoria & Wine Bar, they have live music, amazing food, and a sophisticated/casual atmosphere.

You only die once. What music would I listen to on my last day? Probably classic rock. Probably Simon & Garfunkel or Fleetwood Mac.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Celie, from The Color Purple

Who are my heroes or heroines in real life? My grandmother Carmen (R.I.P), my mother (R.I.P), and myself. They were, and I am, very strong, hardworking, resilient women. I have endured horrible traumatic things from 9 years of sexual abuse in my childhood by a relative, which I suffered in silence, to physical abuse later as an adult by an ex-spouse. I chose to be strong and resilient. Now I have a wonderful family, a wonderful loving husband, and good, happy children. Art and music heal, life is beautiful, and we are meant to love and live.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? Couldn’t mention just one, I would have to say The Wizard of Oz, the Godfather movies, the Star Wars movies, the Rocky movies, the Matrix movies, Alien, Kill Bill, and Terminator movies…ok, ok, I’ll stop now, otherwise I’ll never finish! Lol

What role plays art in my life and work? Fineart and music are constants in my life, they make my life joyful. I turn everything I see or think about, into a painting in my head. Music sets the mood I need at a particular moment to work on a particular painting. Im also a huge admirer of the performing arts.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband, Mike Tousey.

Whom would I like to work with in 2018? Galleries I haven’t work with yet that I would like to work with are Bernarducci Meisel in NYC, Robert Lange Studios in Charleston, and Plus One Gallery in London. Right now my work is represented by Lovetts Gallery in Tulsa, OK, and I also have work at Abend Gallery in Denver and Sirona Fine Art in Hallandale Beach, FL. This year, I will be exhibiting at Winfield Gallery in Carmel, CA in September and at the Tucson Desert Art Museum in Arizona, also in September.

What project in 2017 am I looking forward to work on? In October of this year I will be part of another exciting group show at Lovetts Gallery, and I was recently interviewed for an upcoming Nov/Dec issue of an art magazine.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can find my work at Lovetts Gallery, Sirona Fine Art, Abend Gallery, and, in September/October, at Winfield Gallery and at the Tucson Desert Art Museum.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means to me, that as long as that flame of art and creativity burns inside me, I will be making art until the day I die.

How can you contact me:
http://www.sharonpomales.com
sharonpomalesart@yahoo.com
https://www.instagram.com/sharonpomalestousey/
https://lovettsgallery.com/artists/sharon-pomales

Leave a Reply

