The Heroine ‘s Journey of Barbara Kolo

What is the best thing that I love about my work? My process of working it puts me in a calm almost mediative state. This feeling is reflected in my paintings and passed on to the viewer which brings me joy.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? Perfect happiness is to enjoy the things in life I love the most. I can picture a warm summer day by the beach with my husband. A glass of French rosé would have to be included and a great painting. It would really be perfect if I just completed the great painting.
What is my greatest fear? The fear that in the end it’s all for nothing.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I enjoy being alone.
Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I admire David Hockney for many reasons. He’s a brilliant painter and has had a long career. Hockney is not afraid to experiment with new technologies. That’s a risk some artists wouldn’t take. Also, he uses assistants, but does the majority of the work on his paintings and drawings. Today, so many artists have their work fabricated.
What is my greatest extravagance? I have been known to fly to New York to attend a friend’s party or an art opening.
On what occasion would I lie? It’s rare occasion. I do not lie often and am surprised when I sense someone thinks I’m lying.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I would erase a few signs of aging. Oh to be young again and know what I know now.
Where would I most like to live? My husband and I lived in Paris for two years and I would like to spend more time there. There are many things I miss about the French culture like being called, Madame. Hearing “merci madame” throughout my day is like music to my ears.
What is my most treasured possession? When I was a little girl my father gave me a 1922 Liberty silver dollar as a keepsake. Since he died young, it’s really the only possession I have that he gave me.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Santa Monica Mountains have been very inspiring to me. There are incredible views of the city and the ocean from the hiking trails. The colors of the brush have influenced my palate, as well as the changes of the seasons. (Yes, Los Angeles has seasonal changes.) It’s always amazing to see how close the city is to the wilderness.
What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? A few blocks from my studio is a cafe called Zinque. I have brought many visitors there. They have good food, wine and coffee. Also, the people watching is very hip.
You only die once. What music would I listen to on my last day? The Beatles because they bring back so many happy memories of my youth.
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Lizzie Bennett from Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice” because she’s strong, smart and knows what she wants. She lived in a world that wasn’t fair to women and she didn’t let that stop her from speaking her mind.
Who are my heroes or heroines in real life? This is a hard question to answer. I have admired how a friend or relative has handled a tragedy or appreciated the sacrifice one has made, but I never thought of them as a hero or heroine. Big shoes are hard to fill.
Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? “Casablanca” because of the wit and foresight of the writers with a storyline that is still relevant today. This film is top notch because of its direction, acting, lighting , etc. There’s a reason it has been listed as the best of film of all time.
What role plays art in my life and work? 
Art is my raison d’être. My entire day is filled with either creating or promoting my art. My husband and I enjoy going to galleries and attending opening receptions. Our vacations often include trips to museums or are based around my exhibitions.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband, John.
Whom would I like to work with in 2018? Larry Gagosian. I would also like to win the lottery.
What project in 2017 am I looking forward to work on? My focus is finishing the paintings I am preparing for two upcoming shows.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? In the fall, my paintings will be exhibited at the Slate Gallery in Oakland, CA. It will be the first time my work has shown in the Bay area. Then, my next exhibition will be at Art 1307 in Naples, Italy. My paintings are part of a group exhibition with 5 other artists from the Los Angeles Art Association.
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means to me as long as my passion for art is alive I will never retire.
How can you contact me:
Leave a Reply

