The Heroine’s Journey of Monica Boaventura

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love people! My job is so particular and personal. Each client is a new world for me.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Perfect happiness for me can be an ice cold lemonade on a beautiful Sunday morning. I believe in thin slices of happiness.

What is my greatest fear? Death

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I’m so demanding on my self. I don’t like it. But I can’t stop.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Here in Brazil I admire women like Karol Conka, Julia Petit and Marina  Dias. They are so authentic, realistic.

What is my greatest extravagance? When i go to a Vintage Store to shopping. I may not find anything, but I can just find passionate things.

On what occasion would I lie? I lie to protect who I love.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I think the only thing I do not like is instability. Sometimes I’m working with 6 clients and another time I don’t have anyone. When it rains, it pours. I don’t know why it is! LOL

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I interview customers, I know their homes, closets, and I ask them to answer a questionnaire. With this material, I develop a style plan for then. And this is the greatest moment of my work. I don’t create anything. I use all the information I’ve gotten to translate into a style plan. I feel very happy at these moments.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be 10 years younger now. Not just to be younger, but to be able to work 10 more years.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I’m an excellent observer.

Where would I most like to live? I still want to know many countries. But to live, I prefer Brazil.

What is my most treasured possession? My daughter.

What is my most marked characteristic? I’m very truthful with everything and everyone

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I love to go downtown, look at the architecture and the people on the streets.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In São Paulo I recommended Vila Madalena, there are many restaurants and bars to enjoy good moments.

What books influenced my life and how? Currently, a book that filled me with references and information, called MODA COM PROPÓSITO of André Carvalhal. If you work with fashion or not, read it, because it says a lot about consumer habits and impacts on the environment.

Who are my favorite writers? Nelson Rodrigues

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Nothing Else Matters –  Metallica. I love this band since adolescence and this song is part of my life.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Mafalda, because she is a child with good ideas and so mature for her age.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Chanel, Vivienne Westwood, Diane Von Furstenburg, Rita Lee!

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? A Brazilian movie called Blindness.

What role plays art in my life and work? I worked an art gallery in São Paulo and I’m always connected with the art universe.  I like to look at and think about the message hidden in the art. And the esthetics are so strong.  I usually use art references in my work.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Probably my husband.  He is always with me, supporting me in all moments.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? One of the most recognized Style Consultants in Brazil is Bia Paes de Barros.  I would really love to work with her.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I strongly believe in partnerships. I like meeting people from different areas. Important is to have an open mind and a good heart.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I’m very excited with a new project with second hand clothes.  In my job with my clients, I set a side part of the clients clothes, which they don’t wear anymore. I believe that we have too many clothes produced in the world, so we can sell and buy used clothes.  This is good for who sells, who buys and for the environment.  So my project, called Closet da Mô, brings together people/clients who want to sell and buy second hand clothes.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
My blog www.chameamo.com.br
On Instagram:  @chame_a_mo

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? We need to really believe in passion and above all, work for it. Everything is possible but energy is needed.  So, put all your energy in your passion, and things will happen.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Karina Abud and Rosana Florenço

How can you contact me?
monica@chameamo.com.br
(55) 11-99322.2302

Leave a Reply

