The Heroine’s Journey of Maria Korporal

What is the best thing that I love about my work? 
I love the creative process, the different stages which lead to a new project, whether it is an art video, an installation or a webdesign commission. The blank page to start with, the brain storming, the small notes, letting ideas come and go; then working on the concretization, seeing it taking form – it is always a great adventure. And the most beautiful thing is, with each new project, a new journey starts.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? 
To be on the road, walking and letting thoughts flow and ideas come, a small notebook and a small camera in my pocket. Open for everything I meet on my way.

What is my greatest fear? 
To be immobilized in a very small room.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? 
I often accept too easily job offers or activity proposals, just because I am enthousiastic, but afterwards I realize that I was too optimistic about my available time.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
William Kentridge is a living artist I greatly admire, from the first time I saw his work (the charcoal animations in the nineties) until his actual large projects. Another one is Laurie Anderson, she is a unique multifaceted artist.

What is my greatest extravagance?
That is a difficult question… I think I have no extravagances, so I asked my lover Astrid, but she says I am ONLY extravagance.

On what occasion would I lie?
To protect a beloved person or to prevent a disaster. Or to not hurt someone’s feelings. There are many occasions. Sometimes I even lie to myself. It can be useful, because when I realize that I am kidding myself, I also see the problem and I can work to solve it.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
The stress of close deadlines and of having too many projects to finish at the same time.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
In December 2012 when I finished “Nevermore”. I got the first idea for this video in January 2003, so it took me almost ten years in which repeatedly tried to go ahead with the project, but during the work in progress it has always evolved into another direction and has become another work. “Nevermore” deals with human violence and the human figure in the video (acted by myself) is a victim and culprit at the same time, she takes the human responsibility for violence and pronounces the promise “nevermore”, while she is always aware of human weakness.

If I could, what would I change about myself?
It depends on the situation. Sometimes I can be very unsatisfied about myself, for example when I am blocked during a work in progress. But when I go walking outside and take a deep breath, I realize that it is not so bad as I thought before and that we are changing anyway – nobody is static.

What is my greatest achievement in work?
To be able to earn for a living with creative work, while never losing my integrity and always being convinced of the quality of what I do. Whatever work is commissioned, I always give the best of my creativity.

Where would I most like to live?
I love the place where I live, Berlin, it is a marvellous city, multicultural and multicoloured, and so incredibly relaxed, compared to other European capitals. Before I lived for many years in a small village on the Mount Soracte in Central Italy and I loved this as well – now and then I need to go back to visit my “holy mountain” – but anyway Berlin is my favourite place now.

What is my most treasured possession?
A human skull, which I got as a present in 1986 from a friend who was a doctor in Rome, where I just happened to live. It was part of a skeleton used in biology lessons at school. It moved with me to all the places where I lived and I used it in some of my art works. I am always conscious that once it was the head of a living human being, it is a sacred object for me.

What is my most marked characteristic?
I am a perfectionist and I have lots of energy. That is very useful for the work I do, but sometimes it can also be negative, because I tend to exaggerate – in that case it becomes a waste of energy.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
Tempelhof, the abandoned airport of Berlin, a large field with beautiful natural meadows and long, broad runways. It is an unique place where you can find people of all backgrounds and nationalities who do peacefully what they like to do, sports, making music, reading, picknick – without disturbing each other, because there is an enormous lot of space and, especially before sunset, there is such a quiet atmosphere that it is ideal for meditation and thinking about projects. Fortunately it is not far from where I live and I go there almost every day. It appears in some of my videos, like “Third Eye Flying”, and it plays a crucial role in the video “Breaking Borders” which I am finishing in these days.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
At home. I love cooking and in my quarter there are many small good grocery stores of various nationalities where I can find all the ingredients I need.

What books influenced my life and how?
“La Poesia T’ang”, a collection of Chinese poetry from the T’ang period, in original language with analytical and literary translations in Italian. It contributed a lot to the maturation of my creativity, in the sense that I learned how to meditate and develop my ideas on the road, the necessity of movement and space for creativity. Books like “The Narrow Road to the Big North” by Matsuo Basho and “The Songlines” by Bruce Chatwin had a similar influence.

Who are my favorite writers?
Haruki Murakami, Marguerite Yourcenar, Philip K. Dick, Don DeLillo, Bruce Chatwin, Matsuo Basho, Italo Calvino and all Chinese poets of the T’ang period.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
“Das Lied von der Erde” (The Song of the Earth) by Gustav Mahler, preferably sung by Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau and James King.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Felix the Cat. I like his positive thinking and his ability to find a solution for every problem. I took my nickname “Felix” in his honor and my life motto is “semper felix” – “always happy”!

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
Our cats Puuuutz and Putzinski.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
“2001: A Space Odyssey” by Stanley Kubrick.

What role plays art in my life and work?
Art IS my life and art IS my work.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
My beloved life companion Astrid Astra Indricane, who is a very creative and talented photographer. She stimulates and inspires me in all my projects.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
With my partner Astrid. Actually we already work together as “Third Eye Factory”, you can see our works here:  http://www.thirdeyefactory.eu and we have many ideas for new projects.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
Sylvia Toy St. Louis, Ian Pèninșolar, Eija Temisevä, and several other artist friends I only met in social networks but never in “real life”.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
At the moment I am finishing a project I started in April of this year with the interactive installation “Die Grenzen der Sprache” which was exposed in the Berlin gallery VBK. I collected the interventions of the public and I integrate them in the final video “Breaking Borders”.
In autumn I will make a follow-up of my interactive project “Rekall”.
Then I am working on a new video in the series “Korporal Zoo”, which I hope to finish before the end of the year.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
I participate in several group shows in various places in the world. If it is in Berlin, I am also physically present. You can read the news on my website https://www.mariakorporal.com which I keep always updated. You can also subscribe to my newsletter https://www.mariakorporal.com/newsletter/ to be kept informed about events and activities.

Newsletter | Maria Korporal
http://www.mariakorporal.com
Recent Newsletters Older Newsletters. Recent Newsletters Older Newsletters. Maria Korporal

Maria Korporal Official Website
http://www.mariakorporal.com
Maria Korporal, alias Maria Felix Korporal: video art, installations, digital imaging and performance. This website offers the latest news and a broad overview of works.

My works are visible on-line in the following websites: https://www.mariakorporal.com/sections/works/ a large selection of works in all disciplines

Works | Maria Korporal
http://www.mariakorporal.com
Korporal Zoo: the project “Korporal Zoo” is a series of video works by Maria Korporal, which observe the animal and human world with several perspectives …

https://vimeo.com/mariakorporal my Vimeo channel

Maria Korporal on Vimeo
vimeo.com
Maria Korporal, alias Maria Felix Korporal /// video art, installations, digital imaging and performance (www.mariakorporal.com) & web- and graphic design (www …

http://www.korporalpictures.com/ a collection of videos, some of them rare

Korporal Pictures
http://www.korporalpictures.com
Korporal Pictures: videos by new media artist Maria Korporal.

https://www.korporalwebdesign.com/all-websites/ a portfolio of my webdesign

Korporal Webdesign: all websites | Korporal Webdesign
http://www.korporalwebdesign.com
Portfolio of websites designed and developed by Korporal Webdesign.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
Passion is the energy which keeps me alive; its retirement would mean my death.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Astrid Astra Indricane, Sandra Becker, Marina Buening, Klaartje Scheer: four creative and enterprising artists, each of them having an interesting story to tell.

Leave a Reply

