The Heroine’s Journey of Sonia Carballo – Socatoba

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
What I like about my job is mainly to have the freedom to
Express everything you want when you want and how you want.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
My idea of perfect happiness is to be able to do my job without having to think about survival.

What is my greatest fear?
The loss of freedom

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
Loss of autonomy

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
I admire all of those who fight for their dreams

What is my greatest extravagance?
Well, the truth is, I’ve never thought of this! I’m sure I must have one
It would be better to ask my friends ¡

On what occasion would I lie?
I don’t like lying, but if I had to do it would be to save someone’s life or prevent any kind of violence.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
To believe in myself

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
When I’ve seen people get excited looking at my work

If I could, what would I change about myself?
It wouldn’t change anything, as it would make me another person.

What is my greatest achievement in work?
The fact that i continue fighting for it

Where would I most like to live?
I would like to live in a place where I could have a great space, old, with history to be able to work and to be surrounded by nature.
In any part of the world in peace and without conflict.

What is my most treasured possession?
I’m learning not to cling to possessions

What is my most marked characteristic?
My sensitivity

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
The sea, where I can lose myself in my own thoughts.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
The 58 in my neighborhood, Poblenou

What books influenced my life and how?
Tokio Blues.
It was my first immersion in a novel by a Japanese author, his way of describing a situation of about student´s protest through the love story of the protagonist with two totally different women.
Women who run with Wolves
It opened even more my mind to the belief of the hidden and savage power that we women have, that many of us do not know well. An exceptional guide to the path of recovering that lost force due to societies ‘ continued efforts to civilize women and that intense attempt to nullify our instinctive essence.
Many lives many teachers
It helped me to reaffirm my belief about the existence of the soul, within our physical body. And that this soul is not only in our present body, but it has been able to be in different bodies at different times.

Who are my favorite writers?
Virginia Wolf
Truman Capote
Haruki Murakami

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
The truth is that I could only think of that music that day, I think
That it would not be appropriate to think of it right now.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
In fiction I have no heroes or favorite heroines/I would love to be a fan of Wonderwoman, but I have my reluctance, as I can not prevent being annoyed by the treatment of heroines as sexual icons.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
In real life.
All those people, as I said earlier, who manage to achieve their dreams, all thoeir dreams ,all those who live under idelas of freedom,quality and non´violence
All those who despite their sufferings always hace a smile to offer, all those strugggling to sabe our Mother Nature, etc etc…

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? El piano- Jane Campion
Angela – Luc Bessom
Seraphine – Martin Provost
In the mood for love
Among many others, it is impossible for me to say only one!

What role plays art in my life and work?
The main role and the most important.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
I think my parents are my main fans, they always supported me and support me, in everything I do.
The best partner, myself because I am the one who does all the work, but I would love to have someone to help me in some of the processes!
And sponsors it will be all my friends  and people who have acquired my Works, that promote me and follow my trajectory

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
Well, I’ll settle for working with a good gallery or dealer who will support me in my work and project the same in an international way.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
Artistas- Elly Strike
Marina Abramovic
Gerad Mas
Joseba Eskubi
Nuria Guell

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
I have a project that I have not yet been able to perform, whose title is them-they part II unknown portrait experience. Portray a dialogue. A multimedia experience.
Whose objective is to address the process of indetidad and self-definition through portrait in the digital age and establish a transmedia dialogue between sound recordings, photography and painting.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
In several places in this crazy world

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
In my case as an artist, art is my passion and I can never stop working on it, and obviously I will not have a retirement ¡! Jaja

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Luz Valencia
Mariana Sarraute
Delphine Delas
Mamen Morillas
Honey
Manika Post

Leave a Reply

