The Heroine’s Journey of Monika Miedzianowska

What is the best thing that I love about my work? When I sing one of my songs about my struggles and I can see the same emotions on people’s faces… at this moment I know I am not alone with what I am going through. And I think these people feel the same way.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The perfect happiness for me is to be surrounded by people I love and to make others happier by what I do.

What is my greatest fear? I am a fighter, but there are things that I don’t have an influence on and that’s scary. To loose people I love is the biggest fear I can ever imagine. They define who I am and without them I wouldn’t be able to do what I do.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Insecurity. Whatever I do I feel like it is not good enough… or is it my perfectionism?

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I admire all musicians who started their careers themselves from scratches. They have been working hard and keep on growing to achieve their goals. They are my heroes and authorities that I want to learn from and follow. I can recall big starts who did that, like Beyoncé did, as well as many colleagues of mine who have big dreams and working on bringing them into reality.

What is my greatest extravagance? Shoeeees. I think I don’t have enough days in a year, to wear them all at least once!

On what occasion do I lie? I never lie! 😉

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? That musicians are not appreciated enough with their work. Many of musicians spend their entire life to learn how to play and sing to eventually fight every month to survive! I know it very well by my myself… I started my musical education at the age of 8. 20 years have passed and I still get this ridiculous offers about playing at a bar for free since “singing is more like a fun than a real job”.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? There was this one Christmas concert I had, like 30 mins before the audition for the Polish X-Factor. I really didn’t want to do that concert, but eventually I did. The concert turned out to be for mentally disordered children. I saw their appreciation and happiness like I have never seen before at my previous concerts. I was truly moved. Even later on, a successful audition for the X-Factor couldn’t compare with that feeling.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be more confident, less emotional, less impulsive, a bit taller and skinnier, more organized… there is looong list actually.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I want to remain being a singer, songwriter, performer and a vocal teacher. If I can give it to people and they accept it with open hearts, then my mission is complete.

Where would I most like to live? I feel comfortable in any place in the world as long as it feels like home. After three years of living in the Netherlands, I can finally call it “home”. I have found people I love and care about, who created this home for me. Of course, in Poland I have a great home that I used to share with my family. It’s my shelter that I am always glad to come back to.

What is my most treasured possession? I collect coins from the age of 14. Technically, the collection is not much worth, but for me it’s a big treasure. Every time I come back to my hometown I watch every single coin like it’s the first time I see it.

What is my most marked characteristic? A strong jaw line… which I don’t necessarily like.

What is my most inspirational location in my city? I get inspired when I am surrounded by people, yet alone. So all the crowded places in Rotterdam are my inspiration! Parks full of students and railway station with all these people in a rush… sounds pretty creepy but I like to stop for a while and just watch them.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink in my city? Viva Africa! I love the food there and they have this amazing banana beer! But ATTENTION all sophisticated ladies: you have to eat with your bare hands! No forks attached!

What books influenced my life and how? Currently I am reading a book “Rich dad, poor dad”. It’s been written by a millionaire- Robert Kiyosaki. I don’t have the ambitious to become one, but this book shows totally different perspective on the financial world than I have been taught for my whole life. Because of this book I started thinking about becoming an entrepreneur in music.

Who are my favorite writers? Usually I am reading old school novels and thrillers. My favorite from these are Jane Austen and Erica Spindler.

What music would I listen on my last day? To not waste my last day(s) for music I would listen to just two songs: a Polish song “Chciałbym umrzeć z miłości/ I would like to die in this love” by Myslovitz and Eva Cassidy’s version of “Fields of Gold”.

Who is my hero and heroine in a real life? My mother. She is able to sacrifice a lot for others, and so she did for me many times.

What role plays art in my life and work? I am a musician so art plays a huge role in my life. What I like in an art in general is the creativity. I admire creative people and I always make sure to have them around.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor in crime? Again, that would be my mother. She likes everything what I sing, how I sing, how I look etc. If I went on stage dressed just in a carton box, she would say that I look great in anything I wear!

Whom I would like to work with in 2017? No one specific… I like to work with people who are passionate, devoted, creative yet humble. People with big dreams and goals in their life. Who are easy to communicate, who know how to work in a team and how to take the initiative themselves.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? My album. Can’t say much beside the fact that I am already writing songs for this project and that it’s going to be great! I am very excited about it!

Where can you see me? There are two radio shows planned where I am going to play my songs live. You can listen to my performance live in Radio Schiedam, in a show called “Rani after work” which is being played every Wednesday at 18:00 o’clock. I will be a guest in one of the episodes in August.

More information about the show and the date will follow soon under the links: http://www.stadsomroepschiedam.nl/rani-after-work/radiogids/programma?id=1284 https://www.facebook.com/RadioSchiedam/

The next one is called “Taste of music” and you can listen to my performance from your houses on the 20th of September at 20:00 o’clock.

More about the show and where to listen to it, you can find under the link: https://omroepzuidplas.nl/tasteofmusic

If you would like to be updated about my concerts, I’m inviting you to visit (and like) my Facebook page, so you won’t miss anything: https://www.facebook.com/Monacomusicinfo/

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? That you should follow your dreams and do what you like, no matter of what stage of your life you’re actually at. And remember: it is never too late!

How can you contact me? Monaco.music.info@gmail.com https://www.facebook.com/Monacomusicinfo/

Leave a Reply

