The Heroine’s Journey of Kimberly F. Davis

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  Health, love and friendship. And I hate mornings so sleeping late, curling up next to my love Robert is my happy place.
What is my greatest fear?  Sinkholes!!
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  Sometimes I have a short temper, like when dealing with traffic.
Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? Annie Leibovitz, such a long career, what a wealth of knowledge and experience. Also Paula Scher.
What is my greatest extravagance?  My collection of creative handbags and purses, Lux de Ville, Loungefly, among others.
On what occasion would I lie?  To spare someone’s feelings.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  LA traffic is no joke, especially when trying to get to event photo gigs on time.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  I am currently in a really good place and feel happiest now.
If I could, what would I change about myself?  To not be so Hot all the time! I wanna be one of those “Cold” people who always need a sweater.
What is my greatest achievement in work?  12 years running (and counting) running my own business.
Where would I most like to live?  Currently I’m feeling: Carmel, CA in the Summer,  San Francisco in the Spring, Manhattan/NYC in the Fall, and Venice (LA) in the Winter.
What is my most treasured possession? My Laptop which I use everyday and night, along with my hard drives containing years of work.
What is my most marked characteristic? I have been told I have a “tornado” like personality. When I get excited or nervous I turn into a giddy ball of energy.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  The Melrose area, I feel like Art matters here more than other areas and the vibe, all the art and creativity around gets me going. Also, Sunken City, I just love the peaceful feeling and inspiration I feel around the crumbling development, the graffiti and because it’s right next to the Pacific Ocean. That view is amazing and I feel at home. I love how the Earth is taking back that area.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Open Sesame, Toi, Rawberri, Swingers.
What books influenced my life and how? “Where the Sidewalk Ends” inspired me like no other when I was young. The combo of  poetry, illustration, graphic design, kindness and cleverness really touched me and made my imagination run wild.
Who are my favorite writers?  Martin Luther King, Jr., Thich Nhat Hanh, Shel Silverstein, Joseph Emet, Jesse Michaels, Mel Brooks.
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen to on my last day? Michael Franti, Operation Ivy, Daft Punk, Sublime.
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Batman! Especially animated versions.
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Therapists, like Kathy Steele. Malala, Thich Nhat Hanh, Gloria Steinem, Martin Luther King, Jr., John Lennon, Mother Theresa and The White Helmets in Syria. Doctors, nurses, volunteers and activists, people who put the well-being of others before their own.
Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? “Who Framed Roger Rabbit?” And “Inside Job”
What role plays art in my life and work? Art is everything to me. It’s the center of what I do for work and fun.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  My life partner and business partner, Robert Lebsack.
Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  Michael Franti, his music always lifts my spirits and I would love to create something for him and show my appreciation.
Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? Paula Scher, Annie Leibovitz, Gajin Fujita, Barbara Kruger, Yayoi Kusama.
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  The one I don’t know about yet.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? A couple upcoming events are, some of my fine art photography will be in an art exhibition at the Artshare LA Gallery in the Arts District in DTLA, opening September 20th. And August 25th through Mid September at Songbird Boutique in Long Beach. I have some of my commercial photography permanently displayed in the PSOMAS offices in Pasadena and Santa Ana. My work can also be found on my website chanceartworks.com and Instagram @chanceartworks and @disneyelectric and on Twitter @chanceartworks
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to you? Love what you do and you will never work a day in your life. For me, my passion for creating is Me, and I can’t retire from being Me.
How can you contact me?
I can be contacted at chance@chaneartworks.com www.chanceartworks.com Instagram: @chanceartworks @disneyelectric Twitter: @chanceartworks

 

Leave a Reply

