The Heroine’s Journey of Connie Costa

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The difference I get to make in my clients’ lives. I also love that I get to incorporate all of my passions in one: the entertainment industry, food & wine, travel, Italy, health & wellness and personal development. I also love the fact that at my events I am able to host fundraisers and raise money for causes that are close to my heart. I love making a difference in the world.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Embracing the good and the bad. There is no such thing as “perfect happiness”. When we realize that the Universe is always working in our favor, we find balance. We are grateful for the “bad” because we realize that we become who we are from the “bad”. We grow from our challenges.

What is my greatest fear? Running out of time and not being able to finish all the extraordinary projects I am creating.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? “Deplore” is a strong word. There is nothing I deplore in myself. I have learned to embrace and love my so called “negative” traits. I can be bitchy, critical, judgmental, impatient. But we ALL have “negative” traits. Those traits have assisted me for good at some point or another in my life.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? My two mentors are Alan Cohen and Dr. John Demartini. I also love following Anthony Bourdain. I often say that if Alan Cohen, Dr. Demartini and Anthony Bourdain had a love child, I would be that child. I also love learning and following from Jack Canfield, Anthony Robbins, Rick Steves and Andrew Zimmern.

What is my greatest extravagance? My annual trips to Italy with my family.

On what occasion would I lie? Lying is not a good idea, and one of my favorite traits is my honesty. However, I would lie in order to prevent from hurting someone.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Seeing the hypocrisy of other coaches. The coaching industry feels like it needs to be pretend to be perfect. Coaches pretend to be millionaires, have the perfect relationships, have the perfect kids, the perfect houses and perfect lives. It be enormously beneficial if the coaches would quit the pretenses and be more real.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Hard to say, because I love it all. But when I see my clients’ faces light up from an “a-ha” moment, or when they express gratitude for making a huge difference in their lives, I am beyond happy. I also love raising money for good causes and thus making an impact in the world.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I embrace the good and the bad, however, for purposes of this question, I could be a little less demanding of myself.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I had this beautiful client named Karen. After coaching her for several months, we were on our way to an event and she was telling me about her dating life. At one point Karen said, “You see before you, I would not even attract flies. But now thanks to you, I even give MYSELF butterflies!” We both laughed hard and that was our inside joke for several years. Tragically, in 2011 she was killed by a drunk driver. I went to see a medium shortly after that painful event, and the medium said, “Karen is here, and she wants you to know she is finally a butterfly!” I cried hard like a baby. I decided to name my first book, “I Give Myself Butterflies” in honor of Karen. It will be out later this year.

Where would I most like to live? I absolutely LOVE Los Angeles, specifically, the Westside. My favorite city is Beverly Hills. Other places I would consider moving to are Ojai, Hawaii and my beloved Italy

What is my most treasured possession? Without a doubt, my children.

What is my most marked characteristic? I am an extremely passionate person. Whether with my family or career, I am very passionate and love my life!

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Gardens at the Montage in Beverly Hills.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Madeo in West Hollywood.

What books influenced my life and how? “Why Your Life Sucks” by Alan Cohen changed the course of my life, “The Values Factor” by Dr. John Demartini changed the way I view life.

Who are my favorite writers? Alan Cohen and Dr. John Demartini

I also love Jack Canfield and Anthony Robbins
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Music is one of my biggest passions. It would be a mix of my favorite singers and bands. I love 80’s music. I would for sure listen to: Luis Miguel, La Ley, Antonello Venditti, Zucchero, Laura Pausini and Mietta
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Anne of Green Gables. I love her imagination, her strong personality, her outlook of life, her talkative nature, her love for romance and life. She’s super passionate about everything. And loves to read!

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My mother. She is the most loving person I know. She is extremely intelligent, caring, affectionate and a very positive person. She is my biggest fan and cheerleader. Life has not been very kind to her, and yet, she always gets right back up again! I deeply admire her.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Finding Joe and Anne of Green Gables.

What role plays art in my life and work? I love to be surrounded by beautiful things. It’s essential for me both in life and work. I also love creativity!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Currently my mother. But I will never forget one of my most beloved clients who used to call herself “the President of the Connie Costa fan club”. Her name was Karen, and she went to all of my events and retreats. Tragically, she was killed by a drunk driver in 2011, however, Karen always lives in my heart. My husband has also been essential to my career.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Andrew Zimmern, Rick Steves, Anthony Bourdain, Anthony Robbins, Massimo Bottura.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Anthony Bourdain and Anthony Robbins

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Filming and photography in Sicily, my book release on Sicily, Italia and my travel show that will incorporate everything that I love: the entertainment industry, travel, Italy, food & wine, health & wellness and personal development.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I will be leading my annual exclusive dinners in Beverly Hills and my annual Exclusive & Unique Food Tours in Italy.

Follow me on social media to find out when my next event is.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Most of society is not living their life’s purpose nor are they living a life they are passionate about. However, that passion inside never dies. It will always be there nudging you to follow your dreams. At first, it gently nudges you. If you do not listen, the lessons get harder, but it’s just the Universe’s way of trying to get you to listen to your inner voice and do what you were meant to do.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Dr. Marcy Cole – marcycole@firsttuesdayla.com
Leave a Reply

