The Heroine’s Journey of Claire Le Fevre

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love the relationship I build with the dancers I collaborate with. My favorite thing to do is to discover which tasks will trigger somebody’s creativity and challenge them to explore new territories.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Freedom and self-acceptance

What is my greatest fear? Global Warming and what it says about human nature

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I’m a control freak

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Alain Platel , Maguy Marin, Sri Louise

What is my greatest extravagance? Travelling. In my work I am a bit obssessed with smoke machines/anything sparkly on stage

On what occasion would I lie? To protect someone else’s feelings

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? It’s very hard to be completely “off” when you’re a freelancer, there is always something to do! Also I spend a lot of time in front of my computer.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When something in rehearsals makes me laugh until I cry, and then I feel so lucky/grateful to work with my friends!

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would make myself less shy about talking to strangers.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Creating a dance piece from start to finish and touring with it!

Where would I most like to live? An exciting city with a cool vibe that would also be warm and by the sea (I don’t know if that exists!)

What is my most treasured possession? A pair of earrings from my great-great-grand mother

What is my most marked characteristic? I am younger than people think I am.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Donauinsel in Summer where one can reflect while swimming in the river.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Burggasse 24 it’s a very sweet and cosy café!

What books influenced my life and how? Les fleurs du mal from Baudelaire which I read as a teen because it made me see that anything can be made beautiful if you look at it from the right angle, as a kid The little prince by Antoine de Saint Exupéry taught me about love and travelling, The tapping solution is currently teaching me how to deal with stress, The yoga sutras of patanjali who’s teaching I hope to grasp over and over again… And so many more! Right now I’m reading “White like Me” by Tim Wise and it’s great to understand what it means to be a privileged white person in this world!

Who are my favorite writers? My last favorite novel was from Adelaïde de Clermont-Tonerre so for now it’s her but it will change, I am not faithful to one person!

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Anything by Billie Holliday

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Antigone

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My grand mother, Beyoncé and Simone Veil

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? the documentary 20 feet from Stardom and I always recommend “Me myself and mum” because it’s very sweet and funny.

What role plays art in my life and work? It’s how I make a living, so I take it very seriously, and it’s also what I believe is one of the keys (with education) to opening people’s mind and hearts. I also try to apply the creativity I find in my work to all other areas of my life… with various rates of success!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My brother Rémi, but I am lucky to be surrounded by many crime partners 😉

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would love to collaborate with my friend Andrea Dorelli, a brilliant metal/fire/performance artist

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I would love to meet Marina Abramovic and find out what it’s like to be such a monster of fame in your own field.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? 220 Volts, a project initiated by Denis Plassard in Lyon http://www.compagnie-propos.com/pa30se3me1sp57/Page-spectacle/Spectacles/Actu-de-la-cie/220v.html for which i will create a trio.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Very soon you can see my piece “function man” in collaboration with Matan Levkowich in Klagenfurt! Then my new piece will be shown in France in December.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Even though the form of what you create may change, or your focus may shift, what triggers you to make things happen is always there. It also made me think of the fact that most artists probably can never afford to go into retirement haha

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Anita Kaya, Andrea Dorelli, Sri Louise, Veza Maria Fernandez, Oihana Vesga, Lucia Monteiro, Nigrita… I know so many talented women it’s hard to pick!

How can you contact me? by email clairelefevre@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

