The Heroine’s Journey of Sonia Blangiardo

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  I love telling stories and creating characters that take on their own identities.  I appreciate the impact of good story-telling and I think it is the best way to get a meaningful message across to the viewers.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? A world where people are their best and do things to help each other instead of dragging each other down.
What is my greatest fear? Failure.  Although I am working on that since through failure, much is learned.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Putting other people’s needs first who at times aren’t deserving and neglecting the needs of the people who matter the most to me. 
What is my greatest extravagance? Living in NYC.  It’s the only place I really call home, but sometimes it is not easy with the cost of living!
On what occasion would I lie? Only when it’s about protecting someone’s feelings.  Hurtful things are better left unsaid or spun in a positive manner.
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I respect and admire hard workers and people who don’t give up.  If someone has passions and stays true to them, it gives me strength to do the same and grow and be my best self.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The cut-throat nature of show business.  We are programmed to believe that we are dispensable and replaceable and that’s a sad belief system.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I was in positions that allowed me to be the most creative.  I love writing and directing because it is a very intimate process that I get to experience with the script, the actors, character development and finally the performances.
If I could, what would I change about myself? My impatience.  I want things to happen quicker than they can sometimes.
What is my greatest achievement in work? I won two Emmy’s but my greatest achievement is creating my show Tainted Dreams that has been in my head for over a decade.  Seeing it all come to life is the greatest satisfaction I have ever experienced.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? My apartment.  It is my haven and where most of my ideas originate and get executed. 
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? A sports bar called Blondies on the upper west side.  It is a place where many of my co-workers/family have created amazing memories and we all are bonded for life.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I’m blessed that I am surrounded with positive, nurturing people, but my closest friends, my parents and my boyfriend who is my writing partner in addition to being my partner for and in life.
Whom would I like to work with in the future? Anyone who I could learn more from.  A great film director because I will forever be fascinated how different people see the story differently in their heads and the end product could have a million variances.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?  
It depends on the day of the week you are asking me that question.  
How can you contact me?   

Leave a comment