The Heroine’s Journey of Caroline Moisan

Je suis peintre et illustratrice à Paris. I am a painter and an illustrator living in Paris.

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Donner vie à un personnage, un lieu. Parfois quand je peins un portrait, j’ai l’impression une fois le tableau terminé, que la personne existe vraiment, de pouvoir échanger avec elle. Ou bien que le paysage est vivant, et qu’il suffit d’y entrer. Je ressens la même chose en illustration. J’ai crée un petit personnage à qui je donne vie au travers d’histoire, d’aventure, de réflexion, d’événement. Ce personnage donne la sensation d’avoir son existence propre. 

To give life to a character, a place. Sometimes when I paint a portrait, I get the impression once I’ve finished painting, that the person really exists and that I can share my thoughts with that person. Or that the landscape is real, and that one can just enter into it. I feel the same thing with my illustrations. I create a character that I give life to via a story, an adventure, a thought or an event. This character conveys a feeling of having its own existence.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Etre loin de tout en pleine nature sans portable ni internet. Coupée du monde pour mieux le retrouver.

Being away from everything in the wilderness without being connected to an electronic device. Cut off from the world in order to be at one with it.

What is my greatest fear? J’ai peur de celle des autres.

I’m afraid of other people’s fears.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Quand je peins, je lutte en permanence avec le souci de bien faire, pour enfin lâcher prise et laisser libre cours à mes émotions, pour plus de sincérité.

When I paint, I struggle constantly with the desire to do well, to finally let go and give free reign to my emotions, for more sincerity.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? J’aime le travail de beaucoup d’artistes. Et je ne peux pas parler d’admiration. Mais plus d’amour, de partage et me nourrir de ce qu’ils offrent à voir.

I love the work of many artists. And I can not speak of admiration. But more of love, wanting to share and nourish myself with what they have to offer.

What is my greatest extravagance? Mes deux univers à la fois si différents et si proches. Ma peinture CMOi et mes illustrations Minouche Accélère. En France, vous vous devez d’avoir un univers bien défini. On a du mal à accepter que vous puissiez en développer plusieurs à la fois.

My two artistic universes that are so different and yet so close. The paintings I do under the name « CMOi » and my « Minouche Accélère » illustrations. In France, it is expected that one has one well defined universe. An artist developing several universes at the same time can struggle to be accepted.

On what occasion would I lie? Avec les inquisiteurs qui veulent tout savoir de vous. Ils n’ont aucune pudeur, ne vous laisse jamais tranquille, tant que vous n’avez pas tout dit. Sans doute veulent ils se rassurer de leurs propres mensonges… Finalement, ils vous incitent à leurs mentir, pour avoir la paix.

With inquisitors who want to know everything about you. Those that have no decency, never leave you alone, until you have said it all. Perhaps they want to reassure themselves of their own lies … In the end, they get you to lie to them, that way they don’t bother you anymore.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Ne pas pouvoir avoir une belle manucure. Etant donné que j’ai quasi tout le temps les mains dans l’encre ou la peinture. (rire)

Not being able to have a nice manicure… as my hands are almost always full of ink or paint. (lol)

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Dans mon atelier tous, les jours, sauf le weekend, que je réserve à ma famille. Une forme de rituel, de discipline quotidienne qui me permet d’affronter l’adversité, le doute, le manque de concentration…

In my studio every day, except the weekend which I dedicate to my family. It is a form of ritual for me, a daily discipline that allows me to face adversity, doubts, lack of concentration …

If I could, what would I change about myself? Pouvoir parler plusieurs langues couramment.

The ability to speak several langages fluently.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Il est à venir… J’espère (sourire)

It is forthcoming… I hope (smile)

Where would I most like to live? Je réalise que : « plus que où ? », c’est : « avec qui je souhaite vivre. Entourée de mes proches, de l’homme que j’aime.

I think that “more than where?” what is important to me is ”with whom do I wish to live ?”. And that I know is ”surrounded by my relatives and the man I love”.

What is my most treasured possession? La santé

Health

What is my most marked characteristic? Un p’tit grain de folie.

A little streak of madness.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Mon trajet du matin pour me rendre à l’atelier et celui du soir pour en repartir. Marcher m’aide à penser à imaginer, à trouver de nouvelles idées. Marcher c’est inspirer et expirer. Marcher c’est créer.

My journey in the morning to get to my studio and the one in the evening when I return home. Walking helps me think, it helps me with my imagination and also to come up with new ideas. Walking is inspiring and exhaling. Walking is creating.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? J’ai très longtemps adoré me rendre au Fumoir près du Louvre. Aujourd’hui mon lieu préféré pour boire ou manger s’appelle « Dans la cuisine » prêt de la Grande Bibliothèque François Mitterrand. Une affaire de famille qui se veut une cuisine militante faite de produits locaux. Ils ont un cidre de pomme à la pression, à tomber !

For a long time I loved to go to the « Fumoir » near the « Louvre ». Today, my favorite place to drink or have a meal is called « Dans la cuisine » (In the Kitchen) close to the « Grande Bibliothèque François Mitterrand » (François-Mitterand Library). A family affair of food activists that want to promote local products. They have a draught apple cider to die for!

What books influenced my life and how? « Conversation avec Picasso » de Brassaï. Un livre incroyablement vivant. J’aime l’œuvre de Picasso et de Brassaï. Quand l’un écrit sur l’autre, c’est jubilatoire.

« Conversation with Picasso » by Brassaï. An incredibly vibrant book. I love the artwork of both Picasso and Brassaï. When one writes about the other, it is exhilarating.

Who are my favorite writers? Je ne suis pas une grande lectrice. J’aime Nabokov, Romain Gary, Kundera, Nietzsche, Houellebecq, Gore Vidal. J’ai découvert plus récemment Luke Rhinehart (pseudo) et son livre L’homme-dé

I am not a big reader. I love Nabokov, Romain Gary, Kundera, Nietzsche, Houellebecq and Gore Vidal. Recently, I discovered George Cockroft (alias Luke Rhinehart) and his book The Dice Man

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Dark Side of the Moon des Pink-Floyd.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Dalaï Lama, je sais que ce n’est pas un personnage de fiction. Mais pour moi un peu tout de même, car je ne la connais pas finalement.

The Dalai Lama, although I know he is not a fictional character. But for me he is a little fictional in a way, as I do not know him.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Mon partenaire pour sa capacité à me remettre en question tout en me préservant. Ma mère qui a su très tôt ma vocation, et m’a aidé à me réaliser. Ma fille qui par sa jeunesse d’esprit me permet de garder le rythme.

My partner for his ability to question me whilst preserving me. My mother who knew what my vocation was from a very early age and helped me reach my potential. My daughter who through her youthful spirit allows me to keep the pace moving forward.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? L’étrange histoire de Benjamin Button. « The Curious Case of Benjamin Button » by David Fincher.

What role plays art in my life and work? Il m’inspire, me nourrit, me réjouit.

It inspires me, nourishes me and rejoices me.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Mon conjoint, l’homme avec qui je partage ma vie aujourd’hui. Sans oublier Alessandra Costi et ma sœur Sophie Moisan avec qui je travaille sur Minouche Accélère.

My partner, the man I share my life with today.

But also Alessandra Costi and my sister Sophie Moisan both of whom I work on « Minouche Accélère » with.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? San hésiter une seconde, Hayao Miyazaki

Without any hesitation, Hayao Miyazaki.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Hayao Miyazaki

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Le développement de Minouche Accélère qui correspond à mon univers en tant qu’illustratrice. Et ma nouvelle série de toiles que j’ai déjà dans un coin de ma tête, et qui ne demande plus qu’à en sortir (sourire)

The development of « Minouche Accélère » that corresponds to my illustrator universe. And my new series of paintings that I already have in the back of my mind, and that is just waiting to pop out. (smile)

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? J’expose du 16 janvier au 24 février Dans la cuisine au 56 avenue de France https://www.facebook.com/events/1865693237048563/ Puis du 29 janvier au 30 mars au Brainstore d’Antalis au 64 Avenue de France, 75013 Paris. ET fin avril dans le Hublot http://lehublotdivry.blogspot.fr

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? C’est une évidence. La passion c’est le moteur de la vie.

It is obvious. Passion is the engine of life.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Brigit Mettra, une amie qui travaille sur le thème des animaux avec beaucoup de créativité. Sa société s’appelle La Favorite. Et Juliette Legrand, une amie qui sculpte et peint tout en finesse et sensibilité.

Brigit Mettra, a friend who works about animals with great creativity. His company is called « La Favorite »

And Juliette Legrand, a friend who sculpts and paints with great finesse and sensitivity.

How can you contact me? cmoiartist@gmail.com

https://www.facebook.com/MoisanCaroline/

https://www.facebook.com/ACCELEREMINOUCHE/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment