the Heroine’s Journey of Diane Dresback

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  

The opportunity to create and tell stories either in film or in print. Also the opportunity to collaborate with other people in order to develop the best possible project.  

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  

Being with the people I love and who love me.

What is my greatest fear?  

It isn’t a fear, but a strong desire to not waste time. To do all I can before I can no longer do it. 

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  

Deplore is a really strong word. I would say one thing I dislike is conflict. I always think there is a more productive and civil way to address an issue — not everyone agrees with me which means unnecessary stress all around.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? 

I admire those that continue to work their craft. Despite the many challenges that may arise, they find a way to keep moving forward. 

What is my greatest extravagance?  

My husband and I love to try new restaurants and go to the movies. We do both quite frequently. 

On what occasion would I lie?  

When someone has worked so very hard on a creative endeavor that I dislike, I always seek to find something positive to say. If they ask for an honest opinion, I will share.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  

Writing books is mostly a solitary activity so I must find a way to get out and be around people. With filmmaking, funding is the most frustrating part.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  

When being creative and interacting with others. This has happened on numerous occasions. In the corporate world when I was designing and presenting training and development programs. In the filmmaking and writing worlds, it’s when I see one of my films screened or novels published. All the hard work pays off when the audience actually watches the film or reads the book. 

If I could, what would I change about myself?  

I would be more direct in my verbal communication. I always tend to preface with an explanation or story.  

What is my greatest achievement in work?  

In the corporate world, it was the impact I could have on individuals through leadership and personal development efforts. In filmmaking it was being awarded the 2012 Arizona Filmmaker of the Year award and working with others to create over 30 shorts and a feature film. In writing it was writing the first of 4 books while living in a small Texas town located a half mile down a dirt road and in the middle of an oil field! 

Where would I most like to live? 

I never thought I would leave California, never thought I would leave Phoenix, and absolutely love Austin — but wherever this life journey takes me, I will consider home! 

What is my most treasured possession?

I lost both my parents in 2008 and I still think of them everyday. Many of the beautiful items that my mother created in her lifetime are now displayed in my home. Being surrounded by them helps me feel connected to my parents. Some how, I hope they are able to see what I have done with my life as it is so different now than when they were here on this earth. 

What is my most marked characteristic?

I focus on finishing. I set a goal and work hard to get there. I am a project person and thrive in getting one thing done and moving on to the next. Some projects are harder than others and definitely take longer, but I can remain focused on something for hours and hours at a time. I am never bored.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  

Being on Lake Travis or in a local coffee shop that allows me to stay for extended periods of time. Also, I love where we live and often take walks to process creative ideas — it’s surprising how many thoughts can flood my mind on a 40 minute walk! 

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

There are a lot of great places to go eat and drink in Austin, Texas. My husband and I try and discover new places every weekend. Torchy’s Tacos is a favorite as well as Modern Market and Cedro Scratch Italian and Wine. 

What books influenced my life and how?

I read a lot as a child. My favorite author was Enid Blyton, an English writer. I owned and devoured every book in her series, The Famous Five. The stories followed 5 kids who experienced a new adventure in over 20 books. I like to write stories about people in unexpected situations and that are fast-paced and somewhat adventurous as well. But, I like a slender thread of sci-fi to run through mine! 

Who are my favorite writers?

Honestly, I read all kinds of genres and authors. My favorite is probably Harlen Coben. 

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

I like many genres of music. But that day would have to be filled with old classic Chicago, Steely Dan, Cake or some great dance songs by Bruno Mars!

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? 

You know, I don’t have one. Instead, I recognize heroic actions taken by characters. 

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

They are the individuals who make a difference in the world and I don’t mean it must be to the whole world, it could be making a difference in one person’s world. Heroes and heroines are all around us, we just need to recognize and acknowledge them. 

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? 

Oh my, that is a very difficult question to answer! I have so many favorites and my husband and I watch tons of movies. Of the most recent ones, I would say Arrival and Split. Movies that make me want to have a conversation afterwards are the ones I enjoy the most and both of these fit that category but are vastly different. I saw Arrival first and couldn’t wait for my husband to see it so we could talk about it!

What role plays art in my life and work?

My mother was always working on artistic projects during her life — painting, glass art, ceramics, and in many other ways. Growing up, I never consider myself to be an artist because I don’t do any of those things at all. But, I finally realized that writing stories and bringing them to film or putting them down on a page actually is art as well. So, art is a huge part of my life. 

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  

That’s a triple tie between my husband, Rick, and my two sons, Trenton and Devon. Without them, I would be traversing this creative world on my own! 

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  

People with a mindset towards independent filmmaking or writing and possess a dedication to craft, are bent towards getting projects finished and are pleasant to work with. 

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Individuals who are engaged in the independent filmmaking and writing industries.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  

2017 has already started out with a bang. On 2/7/17, I published my 3rd novel — Postponement and am currently in pre-production and fundraising on a short film, a dramedy about female friendship and loss called To Life. But moving forward, I hope to direct a friends 30 minute film, finish the first novel in a book series and continue with development conversations for a feature film that I would write and direct.  

Links: 

-Postponement – https://www.amazon.com/Postponement-Diane-Dresback-ebook/dp/B01NH9M2A7/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1488091817&sr=8-1&keywords=diane+dresback 

-To Life – tolifemove.com 

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

My most recent film was Blue Copper – a 38 minute psychological drama. You can watch many of my films on my filmmaking website – mindclover.com. My 3 novels and 1 non-fiction book are available on Amazon or on my author website –  dianedresback.com

-Blue Copper – https://www.mindclover.com/films/#/blue-copper/ 

-Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=diane+dresback 

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? 

Passion never retires means I never retire! The one thing about being creative is that you can continue past the obligatory age of retirement and keep creating. That’s good news as my love for storytelling has only increased as I have grown older.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Meredith Efkin, Lindsey Loon, H. Cherdon Bedford, Lisa Belcher, Janet Harvey, Gita Farid, Laurie Love.  

How can you contact me?

You can find me at my filmmaking website: mindclover.com and at my author website: dianedresback.com. Also I have an author Facebook page at Diane Dresback author.

Leave a comment