The Heroine’s Journey of Sophie Cochevelou

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  

Freedom! I am my own boss! I don’t have to please anyone. I can loose a project but I can’t loose my job!

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  

Perfect happiness doesn’t exist as human nature is based on lack. But I get intense feeling of satisfaction when I feel I have done my best and I succeed to lead a project till the end!

What is my greatest fear?  

Having children

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  

my messiness, it caused me a lot of trouble but I am working on it.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? 

Sue kreitzman, Diane Goldie  designer Jane Bolwer,  Louise O’Mahori from L.O.M Fashion , Kat from Virginia the Wolf, Jessica fro Dazzle & jolt strong and creative women!

What is my greatest extravagance?  

My wardrobe, I have few collection pieces

On what occasion would I lie?  

when I say I haven’t eat the rest of the carrot cake in the fridge but there is no one else in the flat.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  

When people don’t appreciate time and effort you put in your work  and try to get you to work for free.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  

I am the happiest in my studio when I just spend the whole day alone sewing like a mad woman and make a mess with all my material.

If I could, what would I change about myself?  

Be more practical and be better with paperworks, have more common sense.

What is my greatest achievement in work?  

Having a solo exhibition at the gallery Isabelle Gounod in Paris in May 2016

Where would I most like to live? 

London, if I had a lot of money would love to have  a huge loft apartment somewhere like Shoreditch or Hoxton !

What is my most treasured possession?

A vintage Christian Dior ensemble entirely embroidered with sequins offered by my boyfriend

What is my most marked characteristic?

my colourfulness

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  

Sue Kreitzman’s house, a magical museum where I have the privileged to be invited and where I find a lot of inspiration

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Number 90 restaurant bar & Kitchen  in Hackney Wick which do amazing burgers and where I put on a monthly bingo!

What books influenced my life and how?

A French poetry collection “Corps et Biens” by Robert Desnos that I discovered during my literature studies, I had the best literature teacher ever at the time and it always overwhelm me any time I read it.

Who are my favorite writers?

sorry it is all going to be French!

Charles Baudelaire, Louis Aragon, Albert Cohen, Wajdi Mouawad,

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Cum Dederit, Vivaldi sang by Jarrousky

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? 

women in Almodovar’s movies

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Sue kreitzman, Bjork, Grace Jones, Orlan

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? 

Bitter Moon – Roman Polanski

What role plays art in my life and work?

Art is Life, Life is Art

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  

My boyfriend Anthony Lycett an extremely talented photographer who documents all my work  and we collaborate on a lot of projects!

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  

in my dreams, Jean Paul Gaultier or JC de Castelbajac

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Grayson Perry

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  

Make some dresses for a big brand using heir packaging but I can reveal which one yet!

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

In an exhibition “a doll day” in Deptford in April 2017 and In a museum in Barnsley for an exhibition called “the Toy Box” inspired by toys and fashion in August 2017.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? 

I know  theses words too well…I can’t stop, it is very hard for me to disconnect as my personal and work life are completely linked. I actually getting stressed out on a day off if I don’t do anything.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Sue Kreitzman

How can you contact me?

by email anne_so_cvl@hotmail.fr

through my Facebook page or my instagram, hit me up if you want a special commission 😉

https://www.instagram.com/sophiecochevelou/

Leave a comment