The Heroine’s Journey of Lavinia Iulia Falcan

What is the best thing that I love about my work? My first images from my life was with my dad telling stories and with my mom drawing for me some princess dresses. I was surrounded by passion, by talented people in my family and this devotation feeling was embraced since I was little. So, this is the best thing I love about my work, painting it always reminds about me , important moments from my life and the importance of simple things in life, the beginning and don’t forget who you are.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Happiness is about people, because of people we meet , we can make everything in life. If we want. My idea of perfect happiness is about sincerity and good intentions from people, because GOOD it’s what we miss. And when you are good, you are happy too.

What is my greatest fear? Time. I love my life and as an intuitive person it’s very hard for me to accept some aspects about time and how he changes us. I am afraid of the time when this life will end and I don’t know what else will happend after that, with me and my family. I believe in reincarnation, so I love this life so much at this time and sometimes I scare when I see that time is passing. You can see it at birthdays and on people wrinkles…

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Oh, I have to pick one, no? ☺ What expectations do I have from my strength and talent, how much I succeed as an artist , to have the power to work and to mentally manage time with my family and my art, all of these ones do not fit at all with my strong sense of sensitivity. I know as an artist it’s good to be sensitive, but in these days to succed in art world you need to be focused and strong

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? In the seventh grade school, my life has changed without realizing it. At the time at cdrawing and painting classes , my teacher , Mr. Theodor Draghicescu, took my artwork and sent it to an international painting contest. Three weeks later, I found out that I had won the first place, the only one representing Romania along with 80 other countries. He is the man who has contributed tremendously to my future, gave to my future a sense and my admiration for him will be forever. I hope one day I can turn back all the good he made for me.

What is my greatest extravagance? I am the kind of person who is very thankful and I appreciate what gives life to me. Even when it’s a bit, it means it was supposed to be. When I got my car license, I wanted a performance car out of my mind. I worked for her and made so much sacrifices, but with time I realized that having a BMW as an artist is a different step and sometimes the world thinks I have very much money. Which it’s not true , but I love so much to drive such a powerful car !

On what occasion would I lie? I would lie when my lie could save someone or a situation.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I hate using a lot of red in my artworks. It’s a color that I honestly do not support. Absolutely in nothing,in clothes, food, advertisements, traffic lights. And yet, unconsciously, my works are predominant of this red, the only pigment that is so strong but fades the easiest. Strange, isn’t ??

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? This year , January and February were the most intense months of my life and my fiancee. I had my first international painting exhibition in New York at Agora Gallery. From the moment I confirmed to the gallery the exhibition and until I arrived, including the time spent there, were the most beautiful moments in my life. The experience at the art gallery was great and I thank God for being able to know such a high level of professionalism in art world. ( link to my online art page gallery – http://www.artmine.com/artistpage/falcan_iulia__lavinia.aspx )

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would change the way , the angle I see things when I am into a panic situation, they way I feel when something is falling apart. I’m starting to feel like a lantern which is on and nobody sees it .A panic that has grown over time and I do not know where her roots are, so this is it, I will change these panic feelings and wrong visions in that moment.

What is my greatest achievement in work? The greatest professional achievement was when my work was accepted, admired, seen in New York. Many people contacted me, changed my vision of art and joy was immeasurable. As an artist, exhibiting in New York, in an extraordinary gallery, is one of the most important points in the way of succed as an artist.

Where would I most like to live? I would like the vibrant and the boom in New York, but at the same time the quiet life and bohemian sea shore among the houses of Gibraltar.

What is my most treasured possession? My painting brushes. There are so many memories, so many spots of color, I grew up so many beautiful ideas and paintings with them!

What is my most marked characteristic? I can’t describe myself so well, it is very easy to describe something else or somebody else. I tend to think I have developed more than a sense of forgiveness. It does good for everyone, for me, for the one next to me and for the communion of people. Or maybe I just forget sometimes and I let it pass ☺

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I live and work in Bucharest, the capital of Romania. In the Historic Centre , an attraction full of restaurants and pubs, I painted a large part of them. Working so many years in the Historic Centre, from location to location, I feel very familiar with the area and it is part of me and my creativity. And I met so many awesome people there, it’s where I feel the best!

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love so much rooftops ! You are so close to the sky ! My favourite place to be in Bucharest , on Sevastopol Street- Upstairs Rooftop , it’s a colorful place where I painted very much, the entrance, walls, the bar, the tables, doors. It’s a place surrounded with my art and I feel like home !

What books influenced my life and how? A few years ago, I read a book called “Thirty-Something” Unfortunately I can not find it, I do not even know the author , my shame. In that book, it was a 30-year-old man who did not do anything in life and was losing time at an inappropriate job, running for an inappropriate girl, and losing nights in town and alcohol. Suddenly, his father dies, and then he sees with other eyes the important things in life and how time passes and regrets came if you do nothing with your life. That book opened my eyes and I began to see life differently, not to waste my time with inappropriate people and sometimes you have to have a shock in life to get away from the misery you are in.

Who are my favorite writers? Antoine de Saint-Exupéry and Oscar Wilde

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Clint Mansell- Together we will live forever Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Alice from “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” by Lewis Carroll is my favourite heroine and my favourite hero it’s The Prince from” The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery” . Here it’s a link with The Little Prince wich I painted on a wall for children’s room , with my very best friend Adina. ( https://www.facebook.com/LaviniaIuliaFalcan/photos/a.2120292189714 04.1073741846.124183631089297/677255025782152/?type=3&theater )

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My family. My mother and my father for their kindness, modesty and inner power , my brother for perseverance and strength and my lovely fiancée for the will and the ability to do things in a perfect way. Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? “Mr. Nobody”-2009 – is a dramatic, fantastic SF drama directed by Jaco Van Dormael with Jared Leto, Sarah Polley and Diane Kruger.

What role plays art in my life and work? I think art defines me as a whole human, a combination of education, talent and much perseverance. It’s exactly what you’re born with, what you teach and then just apply you know to do next and succed. For me life is my art and art is totally part of my life and work.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? One of the most beautiful and unexpected gifts of my life is this man who came to my heart and I would imprison him forever, my fiancee Levi .He always advised me, helped me to be where I am now and is next to me in every situation. He is above everything for me even though he most often does not believe me, the supreme guide, the most correct, the perfect, the gentle, the attentive, the loving, the weird, the complete and the thoughtful soul mate . Also fan, sponsor and partner in crime , hahaha

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would like to have nice collaborations in the future, to work with people who are open minded , relaxed and above all, correct.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I would like to meet in person the artist Alexa Meade . She has a great concept and I love the way she puts paint, she paint directly on top of live models to create a illusion that real-life people are inside the world of a 2D painting .

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I work for my passion to travel and expose my work to the world.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can see my artworks in Southampton , New York at The Village Gourmet Cheese Shoppe, online on Agora Gallery website ( http://www.art-mine.com/artistpage/falcan_iulia__lavinia.aspx ) , in September at Art Monaco Art Fair ( Monte Carlo) and in December at Spectrum Art Fair ( Miami) You can see also see me at the mentioned art fairs and in my home and studio in Bucharest, Romania, on Facebook- Madonia Art and on my website http://www.madonia.ro

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion is an extension of the soul and body, it is a living that is constant in the soul of a human, even though it sometimes fades. Is there and always will come back to you if you do something wrong.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? One of the most powerful woman I met and a very good friend, Claudia Motea wich it’s a complete human- actress, director, poet, screenwriter and producer.

How can you contact me? You can contact me on Facebook on my personal page : Lavinia Iulia ( Falcan ) – ( https://www.facebook.com/madonia.iulia ) my art page : Madonia Art ( https://www.facebook.com/LaviniaIuliaFalcan/ ) my Instagram account : madonia_art ( https://www.instagram.com/madonia_art/ ) LinkedIn : Iulia-Lavinia Falcan ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/iulialavinia-falcan-84186b115/ ) Twitter : Madonia_Art ( https://twitter.com/Madonia_Art ) e-mail : office@madonia.ro telephone : (+40) 0727543 701.

Leave a comment