The Heroine’s Journey of Isabelle Cochereau

What is the best thing I love about my work?
Something close to freedom and a real need to do it

What is my idea of ​​perfect happiness?
These moments when love is shared.

What is my biggest fear?
I can not even write it for fear of reading it.

What trait do I deplore most in me?
A background of pessimism, lined with superstition.

Who are the people in my trade that I admire the most?
It is difficult to give an exhaustive list of the artists whose I admire, I live surrounded by their works and I sometimes even have the chance to exhibit with them.
But to hurt no one or everyone, I will quote only one : Sarah Jerome whose work moves me emotionally.

What is my greatest extravagance?
Passion

What time would I lie?
I only lie by necessity …

What is the thing I do not like in my work anymore?
What I hate in my work is the dependence on the exhibition venues and their
decision-makers, the scams that it generates, pay to hang a picture in
deplorable conditions …
and to grow up hand-to-mouth.

When and where was I happiest in my work?
It is a furtive moment, like a fever that happens when I find what I was
looking for. A moment of intense pleasure and fear.
If I could, what would I change?
Maybe right away, I’d like to rejuvenate by 10 years.
What is my greatest achievement in the work?I feel myself faithful to my beliefs.

Where would I love to live?
Honestly, I’m sure to live for the moment in the right place.
But my recent discovery of New York, lets me think that I could live
elsewhere …

What is my most precious possession?
The works that surround me.

What is my most characteristic?
It is said that I have character

What is my most inspiring location in my city?
In my city (Montreuil) or in Paris, where I like to walk for a long time,
the places that inspire me are the places of great diversity, where one
knows how to live together.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink in my city?
Vietnamese canteens

What books have influenced my life and how?
The books of philosophy and psychoanalysis that I discovered about 17 years
ago and which made me want to look for a little …

Who are my favorite writers?
Camus, Simone de Beauvoir, Marie Desplechin …

You only die once. What music would I listen to on the last day?
Natuträne by Nina Hagen.

Who is my heroine or my heroine in fiction?
Erin Brockovich …

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
The people who fight for the others, the miltans who defend our freedoms.
Like my grandparents, and my parents for example… 


What movie would I recommend to see once in life?
Shoah by Claude Lanzmann
What role does art play in my life and work?
Art is my core.
Who is my biggest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?My parents…

Who should I work in 2017?
Abraham Hadad … it would be wonderful!

What people in my profession would I like to meet in 2017?
A gallery owner to work with confidence.

What project, in 2017, am I impatient to work?
A next series, an upcoming solo show, a great collective adventure that I do
not expect yet.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
My next exhibition in June at the Galerie Oberkamp in Paris
Always on my site: www.isabelle.cochereau.fr
On my Facebook pages https://www.facebook.com/isabelle.cochereau
https://www.facebook.com/Isabelle-Cochereau-224088967606974/?fref=ts

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
That’s a good Title.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Monica Mariniello, Lili Scratchy, Sarah Jérôme, Magda Moraczewska, Véronique Bourgeois, Margot Buffet
How can you contact me?

Leave a comment