The Heroine’s Journey of Rose Freymuth -Frazier

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love being autonomous, not having to answer to anyone or adhere to a strict schedule while spending my days exploring ideas through a visual medium.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I don’t think there is such a thing but if there were, mine would probably include soft ocean breezes on a beautiful beach, fresh seafood and maybe teeny-tiny umbrellas.

What is my greatest fear? Having to live in the real world.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? The flip side of the need for autonomy can be a tendency towards isolation, and my desire not to interface with the real world can cause me to stay well within my comfort zone.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I have rotating painting crushes but right now I’d say, John Currin.

What is my greatest extravagance? All sorts of extravagances are indulged in my work and imagination but in real life the most extravagant thing I do is probably painting really hard in New York and then taking long breaks from painting and spending time on the west coast doing nothing.

If I could, what would I change about myself? If I could, I would be better about following through on things other than painting. I would love to be one of those people who’s organized and structured, who goes to classes and has a closet full of folded clothes. I am organized in my work but otherwise it’s completely lost on everything else.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I’ve just competed a 60″ x 90″ canvas. It’s a take on the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse so there are multiple figures and numerous elements incorporated into one canvas.

Where would I most like to live? I’d like to travel, living and painting in different places for maybe three months at a time and letting them influence my work. Berlin, Prague, New Orleans, Los Angeles, Paris, London, Monte Carlo, Tangier, Mexico City, Rome. I’m sure that’s just the beginning of the list.

What is my most treasured possession? Bun Ra, my Persian kitty from Egypt.

What is my most marked characteristic? A myopic determination. That, and my long eyelashes. I have freakishly long eyelashes.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum of Art are the center of my world in NYC.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I actually prefer to eat at home unless it’s something special like oysters or sushi. If I’m going out for drinks I like the idea of a glass of  rosé at an outdoor cafe. For the kitsch factor, I like to meet friends at 8 1/2 Brasserie. It’s this weird bar in mid-town that seems to me reminiscent of a decaying 1960’s airliner.

What books influenced my life and how? I listen to a lot of classics on audio book while I paint. The longer and more drawn out the better so books by the likes of Mary
Shelly and Jane Austen are always good company, more because of how they translate to a reading than anything. One needs sagas to keep you company while painting.

Who are my favorite writers? Henry Miller, Anaïs Nin, Jack Kerouac, Hemingway, Paul Bowles, Bukowski, Tennessee Williams, Chekov, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky and Nabokov
have all been favorites. Stories of grand gestures used to send me off on real-life
adventures, especially when I was younger. Now I’m more cautious about romanticizing and emulation things I read in books.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Classic Bossa Nova, anything from Antonio Carlos Jobim, Astrud Gilberto, and João Gilberto.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Salomé as depicted by Henri Regnault.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Mae West

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? The Jerk

What role plays art in my life and work? Art, music and the daily practice of painting are the backbone of my existence.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My boyfriend, Lee Kostrinsky. He’s my best confidant, ideas man, and cat dad.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? There are some galleries in New York I’d like to work with.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? As far as painters go, I’d like to meet John Currin and maybe Eric Fischl. I started out studying theatre and acting and I still see painting as somehow connected with that so I’d also love to meet Steve
Martin and David Lynch.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I’ve been trying to finish a painting that incorporates a likeness of the man in the White House and I hope to get that done pretty soon.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I’ll be showing with Gallery Victor Armendariz in Chicago in September.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? I’m not sure, I love the idea of retiring, (with those ocean breezes and tiny umbrellas), but I do feel the drive towards creativity and exploration can be focused in many different directions and I hope to always keep that active.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Kaeshi Chai

How can you contact me?
Www.freymuth-frazier.com

https://www.instagram.com/freymuth.frazier/

Leave a comment