The Heroine’s Journey of Sherri Littlefield

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
My photographs simultaneously challenge and appreciate contemporary consumerism. In my “shopping series”, there’s humor, sadness and confusion. The content of my work isn’t black or white, it recognizes many shades of grey (and pink) in between.

Sherri Littlefield Website

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
My idea of perfect happiness is a no-alarm weekend morning followed by a large breakfast complete with dessert.

What is my greatest fear?
I have a fear of dying alone with no family or friends by my side.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? 
I have a tendency to stress over small things.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?
Overall, I admire art dealers who are honest and approachable. To name a couple, Matthew Deleget from Minus Space and Patrick and Holly Kahn from Snap! Orlando. These are people who put their families first but have a deep love for their community and career.

Minus Space
Snap! Orlando

What is my greatest extravagance?
I love desserts and I want to try them all. I’ll spend a lot of time (waiting in lines at dō or Dominique Ansel Bakery) and/or money to try something new. Luckily, the expense isn’t excessive. Through my love of treats, the idea for treat gallery was conceived.

treat gallery

On what occasion would I lie?
Artists often come into the gallery, (without invitation) throw their portfolio on my desk and expect a review on the spot. Sometimes, these artists can be a little pushy, and don’t get the hint that I don’t have time to look at their work. I have a tendency to tell artists that I think their work is better than it is, especially if I’m forced into a position to respond.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
My work isn’t sellable. It’s amusing, but not exactly what collectors are looking for. I try a lot of ideas, but nothing has been nearly as successful as my shopping series.

Shopping Series

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  
I had a professor who I didn’t see eye to eye with in graduate school. He didn’t like my work, and in retrospect, I don’t think he liked me. I was starting my shopping series, and a couple blogs had picked it up. This same semester, Aperture picked it up, and I flew to New York City for the opening. This was an important moment when I realized not everyone needs to understand my work, and that’s okay. My ideas were getting through to people who mattered more than a professor who I’ll likely never see again.

Revisiting Black Friday

If I could, what would I change about myself?   
I would take more risks with my art, and be bolder about sharing my Christian faith. Over the years, I have also found that I tend to put more effort and energy into friendships that I should have simply walked away from.

What is my greatest achievement in work?  
A lot of people don’t like or understand this answer, but my greatest achievement in work is being happy. There is nothing wrong with being content. While I make art and exhibit regularly, I knew early on that I never wanted to be a full time artist. I love the balance between creating art, curating exhibitions, working at a college, and being the associate director of a gallery. It’s a good mix of problem solving in a creative way.

Where would I most like to live?
I couldn’t imagine living anywhere other than New York City. There’s something for everyone here. I have entertained the idea of getting a second place in Orlando, Florida since I find myself there a few times a year, but for now, that is just an idea.

What is my most treasured possession?
An obvious answer might be my wedding band or a puzzle I own, but I’m not really a materialistic person…. So I’m going to go with this: two of our best friends, Matt and Lynn, surprised my husband and I at our wedding rehearsal dinner with 1000 beautiful black, white and pink folded origami cranes. Together, they worked for hours folding these cranes, before placing them in a frame for us. When we moved to New York months later, it was the first piece we hung on our walls.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  
For many reasons, this would be my church. Our Saviour New York is located in Midtown Manhattan in a historic building. Our pastor is incredible, and we have so many great members that are doing big things in their field. One member is a buyer for Bloomingdales, while another is currently playing keyboard for Waitress the Musical on Broadway.

Our Saviour New York

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?
There are so many great places for food and drinks in New York… I’ll try to keep this short. Among my favorites are Puerto Viejo, Berg’n and Mayfield in Brooklyn, Empanada Mama, Empire Cakes, Lucky Bee and Le Bilboquet in Manhattan and Strand Smokehouse in Queens.

What books influenced my life and how? 
I binge read “An Object of Beauty” by Steve Martin a couple years ago when I first got into art dealing. I think the book told me how… not to act. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald is a classic too. I enjoy books that take you into another train of thought and time.

Who are my favorite writers?
I don’t think I have a favorite, but I used to enjoy Chuck Palahniuk a bit when I was younger. Kurt Vonnegut was funny and creative with his writing style and pictures. I recently read some work by Oscar Wilde, and intend to read more.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
My husband created a wedding playlist for our special day. He inserted quotes from movies and shows into some songs, and I would give that a listen all the way through. I would include “Purple Rain” by Prince and probably some random songs from Tim and Eric Awesome Show.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
I’m not really into fiction, but Alice from Alice in Wonderland comes to mind. She was curious and brave.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
Lauren Greenfield and Brian Ulrich are up there when it comes to photographers that I admire. A friend of mine, Melody Lovin is someone I look up to who fearlessly takes risks and follows her dreams.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?
I really like The Big Lebowski and Moulin Rouge – they are so different, it is too hard to recommend one over the other.

What role does art play in my life and work?
When I look at a piece of art, I really try to take it all in and appreciate the details. When I’m looking at a piece of art I don’t care for, I try to understand and find something valuable in it. I apply this to everyday life. There are a lot of difficult personalities in the world, but I try to find the best in everyone and everything.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, and partner in crime?  
My wonderful and handsome husband, Andrew Littlefield is all of the above. No one is able to make me laugh harder and love greater. Everyday is a blast with Andrew. We really get the most out of life.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  
We have two large windows in the gallery that we are thinking of having decorated for the Holiday season. We would have a reveal and everything. I would like to collaborate with a street artist or muralist on this.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?
I would like to meet the photographer Lauren Greenfield and Paige West, the founder of Mixed Greens Gallery.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  
I have an ongoing series where I’m doing experiments with makeup foundation shades. There isn’t a lot of direction to the series as of now, but something is forming..

Where can you see my work or me in 2017?
I am part of a group show at Snap! Orlando in Orlando, Florida through September 30th 2017. Later this year, I’ll have a solo booth at Platform Art Fair in New York City.

Snap! Summer Selection

Platform Art Fair 

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? 
I have a passion for contemporary art that goes beyond creating it. I love dealing it, going to openings and having discussions about it. A passion sticks with you for life – it isn’t part of a job or hobby. In that sense, it never retires.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? 
Sofia Echa and Emilie Ahern

How can you contact me?
The best way to contact me is by filling out the submission form on my website.

Leave a comment