The Heroine’s Journey of Cecilia Sammarco

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I am an illustrator. About my work, I love the continuous research about world and about how I will see / feel / imagine it. To do that, it is absolutely necessary to improve your capability to read the reality and, in the meantime, pushing it in an imaginative view. Everything inspiring me and its creates a kind of inner baggage that keeps me and my eyes always different.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? My idea of happiness is independent from our visible goals, it depends from ourselves relation. Happiness is an unconditional status of fullness. It Is caring about life. Anyway, give me paper, brushes, canvas, natural landscape and a glass of wine and I will be close to my happiness idea ! ! !

What is my greatest fear? The verbal language, this is why I love drawing

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Iperiperiperactivity

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Steven Guarnaccia

What is my greatest extravagance? Collecting clothes and everyday objects by markets, until my next home/stop

On what occasion would I lie? I don’t like to doing that. We create occasions so why create this kind of occasions?

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The impossibility to monetize your work in advance: sometimes it takes one hour, sometimes one year.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I can’t think about my patch and my work linearly, so I had different happy moment, in different cities that helped me to carry on my ideas.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I don’t want have doubts, I will be more confident about my intuitions.  It is fundamental for a creative person and self-employed.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I had the pleasure to meet incredible designers and artists and they helped me to reach my best achievement: I want to have fun! Sometimes it is really hard to work with your ideas, so managing your ego and expectations is really important.

Where would I most like to live? I would experience cultures from all over the world so I would like to live different periods in different cities. Anyway, Rome is my Home.      

What is my most treasured possession? My roots

What is my most marked characteristic? Curiosity

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? MAAM, museo dell’altro e dell’altrove di Metropoliz. I love the mixture, the layers of cultures and stories: it represents ROME.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love discovering and rediscovering: Rome is made by different districts and everyone had a unique story and allure. So, I don’t have one special place but a lot of spots that helped me to live Rome as eternal tourist.

What books influenced my life and how? Siddharta for the purpose to learn to wait, think and fast and One Hundred Years of Solitude because it helps me to see the invisible.

Who are my favorite writers? Italo Calvino is my fav writer. 

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Fela Kuti, all day long, no doubts.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Pippi Longstocking

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My mum

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Indagine su un Cittadino al di sopra di ogni sospetto. It makes me proudly Italian.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is the Breath of my life

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I have a lot of partners in crime so, I wouldn’t cut out anyone!!!

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I will increase my relation with fashion and music through illustration.I am super inspired by Jacquemus. In his production, I love finding stuffs, ideas, memories from my conscious and unconscious background. His connection with family and southern, Mediterranean tales are close to my personal research. And I will design LP cover, posters and flyer for Stones music label / radio station because, usually, I take also inspiration from other type of artistic expression, close to illustration and illustrators.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I am actually working on a new project. I am creating a studio focused on handmade and handcrafted graphics, products and unique clothes.  I love working on few, unique pieces and I will share an affordable way to think about artisanal work and limited editions.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Probably in concept stores, galleries, magazines and, obviously, on line!

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? I am not fascinated by mottos, I am living my choices not to demonstrate something but just trying to be honest with myself

How can you contact me?

I am available at my email ceciliasamm@gmail.com

You can check my visual diary at my Instagram profile and my portfolio on behance

Leave a comment