The Heroine’s Journey of Wanda Benatti

What is the best thing that I love about my work? What I love the most about my work is the unknown. I love to discover within myself and on the canvas, images that are always new and unpredicted, and then to realize them with the huge challenge of control and equilibrium on the canvas…Visions that are born from my experiences and which then according to their own code of forms and signs, rise in emotions to be shared with those who will observe them.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? My idea of happiness is represented by Harmony. Harmony which reinstablish its equilibrium within art forms and life’s situations. Harmony which is respectful within a painting’s colors, hues, and the different materials which then must naturally and spontaneously “play” in sinergy with its strenght and delicacy, with luminous colorful masses, with its opacities and transparencies.

What is my greatest fear? My greates fear is to be, one day, without my creative capacity, to be dependent from other’s will, and having no more desires. Desire is what takes care of us from time to time…It could be more or less what we would want, but it violently shakes us, and in doing so, it transforms us.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I do not deplore anything about myself…. I have learned to accept myself as I am.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? A living artist I admire very much is Bill Viola, from USA. His poetic work has a very powerful spiritual connotation, and his visuals that are connected to an educated/reinassance era, are often the basis of images that are sublime for their purity and symbolism. All that, with the extreme rigorous work which is noticeable in each and every piece of his, make him a real huge artist within the art world of today. Strength and spirituality, make me feel an affinity on a spiritual level.

What is my greatest extravagance? Perhaps…the will of self menage, free of out source conditions, and also being able of not depending from others for my decisions…is it extravagant?

On what occasion would I lie? I would lie, ( I did it ) only to save someone else or to avoid giving pain or humilation to someone else.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Self managing, to balance several issues at the same time… Freedom is tiring!

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I realized large glass panels with a pittoric technique (cold fusion) inwhich I had some risks, and when I could fortunately realized in Murano the project of two large sculptures in glass, for the same client, thanks also to the great glass master Silvano Signoretto, in Murano , Venice.
That was truly the strongest and satisfying experience I hold in my heart.

If I could, what would I change about myself? If I could I would change the availability I offer to others…Too often it turned out to be a source of deep regrets.

What is my greatest achievement in work? …To see one of my painting or one of my glass window, purchased or commissioned by a client who “falls in love” with it. This would be for me a very important element of proof that I could comunicate emotions that worked in synergy with my deepest and truest part of myself. The art purpose is this: allowing a deep comunication among human being who are different and foreign to each other, beyond time, space and social classes and casts. Beyond mental structures that are more or less preconceived, beyond the myriads of images that attack us incessantly.

Where would I most like to live? I would love to live in a big home/studio in the historic center of Florence or Rome. Visual contact with ancient masterpieces is for me a vital spiritual lifeblood, so strong that I can hardly detach myself from it. The beauty that the masters from the past have left, here in my beloved Italy, is a continous extraordinary dialogue between ancient and contemporary. Beauty is redemption of life over death. It’s the hope by excellence, it is what allows men to look beyond the shadows of life.

What is my most treasured possession? LIFE… is the possibility to experience it day after day, in good and in bad.

What is my most marked characteristic? My stubbornness, but I am convinced that is also my greatest virtue and fortune.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? There is not a particular space or place for my “occurance”.Any place, in any city and at any time, could be a “good inspiration”; it all depends from my state of mind at that time. Many of my artistic works, for instance, were born while driving… My mind and my heart are my studio and laboratory. For me is not important “where”, but “how”, an artist is capable to register life around but “how” her/his hand is capable to translate its impulses from the heart and mind and till which point she/he has the courage to execute them…

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In my house, with my friends… My companion is a perfect cook.

What books influenced my life and how? Quali libri hanno influenzato la mia vita e come? Many…too long to list them all, two over all: “The doors of perception”(trans.“Le porte della percezione”) by A. Huxley, and “The Tao: the way of flowing water ” (trans.“Il Tao: la via dell’acqua che scorre”) by Alan Watts.

Who are my favorite writers? There are many whom have marked my growth as a woman and as an artist, but above all, first one who comes to mind is Yukjo Mishima, great / magical / mythical Japanese writer from the 900’s.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? …OM SHANTI OM by Sheila Chandra.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Still, Yukjo Mishima

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My father and my mother have been my greatest heroes, and with them, all those who fought and still do for human rights of all individuals.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I would suggest Spring,Summer,Autumn,Winter…and Spring again /The seasons of life ” by
the Korean director Kim Ki-duk.

What role plays art in my life and work?  Fundamental. Art is my breath, it’s light that superimposes darkness.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My companion/husband

Whom would I like to work with in 2018? With those who appreciate my work.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2018? The chinese artist A i Wei Wei , and Bill Viola, and Frank O.Gherry…and a good manager who would support me with loyalty.

What project, in 2018, am I looking forward to work on? I must decide on some possibilities…

Where can you see me or my work in 2018? http://www.wandabenatti.com/

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? They have a vital meaning.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Here is my heroine : Veronica Longo, web site : http://www.veronicalongo.com
fb.: https://www.facebook.com/missoverbusy

How can you contact me?
You can contact me in my web site : http://www.wandabenatti.com/
or my page in Fb: https://www.facebook.com/wanda.benatti

Here other my links videos :
http://www.bolognadesignweek.com/evento/concerto-del-mutamentoa-permanent-dream-zone/
http://www.bolognadesignweek.com/evento/concerto-del-mutamentoa-permanent-dream-/
https://www.facebook.com/wanda.benatti/media_setset=a.920101234823206.1073741868.100004700141633&type
=3

Leave a comment