The Heroine’s Journey of Marnie Pitts

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The feeling of peace and calm I get when I am working on a painting. It just feels right and all other concerns melt away.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? A spontaneous hug from my son.

What is my greatest fear? Running out time. I guess in other words death. I have so much I want to make and do and time just runs away so fast.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am not great with confrontations and I hate that I have sometimes compromised rather than stick up for myself.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? This is so hard, I admire many people and there are so many amazing artists in the world but I would pick Laurie Lipton. The scale of her work, the dedication and the power that is in each piece is phenomenal!

What is my greatest extravagance? I splurge on good quality paints, materials and frames. I also have a real weakness for buying other artists works and I am a sucker for art books (especially artist produced ones on kickstarter).

On what occasion would I lie? I would like to say I would never lie but that of course that would be a lie. I would and do lie with good reason. Sometime it is a little thing, so you don’t cause unnecessary hurt to another person. Sometimes it is a big lie to yourself. I think it is important to realise when you lie, examine why and be at peace with that.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I worry about the chemicals involved in painting but there is certainly more choice for safer materials than there has been in the past. I also dislike the fact that I never seem to have enough time painting, time just slips away when you are in the studio.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I am the happiest I’ve ever been right now. Because I believe in living in the moment. I am working hard, I have a momentum and I feel like good things are coming my way.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I am a lifelong psoriasis sufferer. My body is often covered in itchy, irritable scales, I really wouldn’t mind if they just magically disappeared!

What is my greatest achievement in work? Consistency, by that I meant that I still continue to make work. I think it is hard to be an artist and especially hard to be an artist after many years, it can be discouraging and you need to be self motivated and just keep at it.

Where would I most like to live? I love it here in London but if I wasn’t here I would like a beach house with a studio view of the sea, a large horizon with sun and storms to contemplate.

What is my most treasured possession? That would be a toss up between the Walton Ford Pancha Tantra book. Family photos and a rather sweet, little elephant doll I have had since I was an infant.

What is my most marked characteristic? Physically it is my psoriasis and mentally I really, really hate to give up on anything.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Thames is spectacular all year round. It reeks of history and pulses with life.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? My dinning room table with my son and partner, tucking into a home cooked vegetarian meal.

What books influenced my life and how? Art books, I am addicted! I like to take time to browse them, to bounce around my ideas while I look at what other people have made. Also anything by Joseph Campbell, I like the way he gives such power and strength to symbols, stories and myths

Who are my favorite writers? Mervyn Peake, Neal Stephenson, Stephen King, Dan Simmons,

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Bootsy Collins, Bjork, David Sylvian and Nick Cave but especially my son playing his cello (if I could bare the emotion of it).

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Hermione Grange

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? This changes a lot with every good news story or social media post. The news can be quite depressing but there are plenty of heros out there. I like to find historical heros and heroines whose stories I have never heard. Sometimes I paint them because they are so captivating.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? Pans Labyrinth

What role plays art in my life and work? It is the thread that I have clung to all my life. It is always there for me, making art helps me sort my thoughts and feelings and allows me to communicate them.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I rely heavily on the art groups/collectives that I am a part of. It is not one person but a group effort. The three art groups that have been the most support to me over the years are Strange Dreams Surreal Art Collective, Art of Imagination and SLWA.

Whom would I like to work with in 2018? I work with a great number of people but I am looking forward to continuing my work with the members of the Strange Dreams Art collective, we have lots planned.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2018? More artists! I am not fussy who, I am just interested in meeting, talking and sharing art with other people who feel the same way.

What project, in 2018, am I looking forward to work on? I have a few projects and exhibitions that are really exciting, but mostly I am looking forward to starting a new series of work that pushes me further as an artist

Where can you see me or my work in 2018? I am exhibiting in Pilow Talk with SLWA (South London Women Artists) at UNIQLO Tate Lates at Tate Modern later this month. I am also in two shows with Strange Dreams Surreal Art Collective in the USA . There is another exhibition planned with as Surrealism Now in Portugal and I have a local show in London.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means I will never stop, my passion keeps me going, keeps me strong and it is always there.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Jessica Perner, Angela Groundwater, Brigid Marlin, Melissa Budasz, Ehryn Torrell

How can you contact me? Feel free to send me an email marnie@marniepitts.com visit my website www.marniepitts.com or find me on instagram @marniepitts 

Leave a comment