The Heroine’s Journey of Jacki Geary

What is the best thing that I love about my work? My ability to embrace different mediums to express my work.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? Laughing with my family. (They’re hilarious.)
What is my greatest fear? Being on a rollercoaster that flies off the rails and crashes. Needless to say, I do not ride rollercoasters. Nor do I really go to amusement parks. But I went on a zip line high above the rain forest in Costa Rica when I lived there. Not sure where the logic is in that.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Deplore is a pretty strong word. I’d say one thing I’d like to work on is forgiveness. Mainly beginning with forgiving myself when I don’t live up to my high expectations. And I can be a bit sarcastic. But that probably won’t change.
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Anyone who has the guts to go after what they want and stay focused until they get it.
What is my greatest extravagance? Buying candy at Sockerbit whenever I’m in LA. However, I just discovered that the same Swedish candy is sold at IKEA near me in San Diego. It’s all downhill from here.
On what occasion would I lie? Maybe a white lie to protect someone I love. Or that I just ate 2 pieces of candy when I really ate 10.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I get impatient if I’m working on something for a while and I want it to be done faster.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Any time I get lost in my work and lose track of time. That means I’m really in it and creating something good. Or maybe not so good, but at least I’m enjoying the process.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I’d have amazing hair. And I’d be more outgoing. I’m a shy person and this can affect the way I connect with people, especially on social media, since I tend to be more private. I’m definitely better in person and one-on-one.
What is my greatest achievement in work? I’d say it’s the little victories. If I can honestly say “that looks good!” at the end of a piece, then I feel satisfied. Until, however, the next day when I look at it and see that I could’ve done something differently. Such is life.
Where would I most like to live? In a bright, open concept live-work loft-type space with high ceilings and big windows for natural light to spill in on all of my workspaces. And it would have an awesome kitchen because I love to cook. I’m pretty lucky to live in San Diego because you can’t go wrong with this weather, but a dream space like that here would be a kagillion dollars. I’ve moved around a bit, so I’m always open to exploring other places.
What is my most treasured possession? A Sanyo RM5008 radio alarm clock that I’ve had since I was 13 years old. I’ve taken it with me wherever I’ve moved over the years. It has some paint on it from when I used it in a studio a while back. I love that thing and wake up to it every morning.
What is my most marked characteristic? Probably my eyes.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Hiking to the top of a mountain and seeing the world around me. It usually brings peace and clarity. Iron Mountain is one of my favorites in San Diego.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Favorite place to eat is in my grandma’s kitchen. But also, I live in a foodie city, so you can have a good meal pretty much anywhere. For drinks, Seven Grand in North Park is a good spot for an Old Fashioned during happy hour.
What books influenced my life and how? I wish I had more time to read books. When I do read, it’s more to gather information on how to do something or to read about someone’s success story rather than to read for the joy of reading and getting lost in a novel. I recently read “In The Company Of Women” by Grace Bonney. It interviews 100 creative women and they tell their stories of how they got to where they are now. Very inspiring.
Who are my favorite writers? Poet John Keats.
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Pink Floyd’s “The Dark Side of the Moon”.
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Liz Lemon.
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My amazing mom. 🙂
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Spaceballs. Just kidding. The Shawshank Redemption. (But seriously, Spaceballs.)
What role plays art in my life and work? Art is in everything I do. Whether I’m cooking, making a gift for someone, designing my living space, or creating art to sell, it’s pretty much in every aspect of my life.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My mom is my # 1 cheerleader. I’m very fortunate to have a supportive family with anything I do. They’re awesome.
Whom would I like to work with in 2018? Anyone who is driven and committed to their craft, whatever that may be.
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2018? People who are hardworking, have open minds, and don’t let the cynics affect their work or focus. I’d love to collaborate with other creatives.
What project, in 2018, am I looking forward to work on? I’m working on a personal project at the moment that I’m really excited about. Stay tuned!
Where can you see me or my work in 2018? You can see my work on my website at www.jackigearyart.com and on Instagram at @jackigearyart for more of the behind-the-scenes stuff. People can sign up for my monthly newsletter on my website for info on any upcoming shows and such.
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means I’ll be creating art in some way until the day I die.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Melissa Walter, Ila Rose, Ann Kate Davidson
How can you contact me?
You can reach me through my contact form on my website www.jackigearyart.com. Thank you!


Leave a comment