The Heroine’s Journey of Kubbi

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love hearing the writers of a play I have done say you really made my words come to life. It makes me happy that they approved my acting choices and the depth of the characters I perform. What I love about being an actress is the opportunity to live another life on stage or screen, to be able to bring a character to life with a touch of Kubbi instilled inside. The journey I take during rehearsals is a serious one for me, I become extremely focused and cerebral at times that I have to remind myself that there is no such thing as a perfect performance. All humans are flawed and vulnerable and I must play every character from an honest place. I love taking that journey.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  My idea of perfect happiness is being able to be a fulltime actor, producer and screenwriter. All I want to do is book quality acting work, a series or a blockbuster film, write my own screenplays and produce quality productions and get paid to do all of it. I want to be able to make a living where I can be debt free and never worry about income. I want to have 5-7 constant sources of income, that’s the only way to accumulate wealth.

What is my greatest fear? Not succeeding, I’m not afraid to fail I’m afraid of not succeeding. So I keep going and working hard to achieve my goal.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My impatience that creates doubt. I’ve been doing this for so long sometimes I feel like I will never get the big payoff at the end of the day. I know that if I keep my faith and know that all will work out that I must not doubt. I must keep believing. I just sometimes waver in that.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I admire Regina King, Viola Davis, Angela Bassett, Alfre Woodard, Ciciely Tyson, Judi Dench and Helen Mirren, these few actors have played iconic characters with depth and grace. It’s the longevity I admire most. Being able to live your dreams, battling through struggles and overcoming them. They prove to me that never giving up will pay off.

What is my greatest extravagance? My greatest extravagance is my investment in my career. I will travel where ever I need to for an audition. Outside of my career investment my next extravagance is my car, wardrobe and shoes.

On what occasion would I lie? My mother said you must always do what is right and never lie, but I would if I had to protect my mother, but thank God I never had to.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? What I dislike most about being an actor is being looked over because of my nationality, gender and colorism.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I am happiest when I am on set. When I was in Knoxville, TN doing my first major film I had my own trailer and I was spoiled by production. The DP carried me to my car because I didn’t like walking in the mud. It was amazing, I still smile to this day thinking about that set. The director was just amazing and personable he made sure everyday that I was comfortable and doing well.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I wish I would take more chances. I sometimes don’t feel like I do enough. I feel like I am not bold enough.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I haven’t reached my greatest achievement yet. But I am proud of the work I did when I directed James Pentaudi’s Middle School Madness Musical Off Broadway production last year. We sold out 3 shows last June 2017.

Where would I most like to live? I want to live in London.

What is my most treasured possession? My Bible.

What is my most marked characteristic? I like making people laugh.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Walking down Broadway and seeing a show. Actually, seeing any play or musical inspires me. Also going to the beach and being by the water.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? Actually, it used to be Zen’s in the Village, now I like trying out new restaurants.

What books influenced my life and how? I grew up reading VC Andrews books, The Flowers in the Attic series, the Runaways etc. Then I read the Left behind Series, and a lot of Sci-Fi books. The Red Tent, Knight in Shining Armor, The Help, Redeeming Love, Prayers, Poems and Proverbs and The Bluest Eye. These books all influenced me and inspired me to keep my faith in God and believe in myself and never give up on love.

Who are my favorite writers? Ann Miller, VC Andrews, Langston Hughes, Toni Morrison, James Baldwin, Alice Walker, Lorraine Hansberry, Ntozake Shange, and Susan Lori Parks.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Gospel music.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, Vixen, Wolverine, Gene Grey, Professor X, Storm and Rogue, Captain Picard, Captain Janeway, and Captain Sisco.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My mom Ann Miller, My mentors Elizabeth Omilami and Marie Ponce, Michelle Obama, Barak Obama, Viola Davis and every woman in the struggle to be free from Tyranny.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? The Color Purple

What role plays art in my life and work? Performing art is a big part of my life, it means everything to me, it’s my inspiration and my goal destiny.  The work that touched me the most was Fela and the revival of the Color Purple.

Who is my greatest support, sponsor, partner in crime? DW Leonard, Vanessa Carrington, Jacqueline Serrano and Nicole Brandon.

Whom would I like to work with in 2018? There are a few people I would like to work with Viola Davis and Angela Bassett and Octavia Spenser, Jordan Peele, Jerry Bruckheimer, Shonda Rhimes, JJ Abrams, Dick Wolf and David Mamet

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2018? Jerry Bruckheimer and Shonda Rhimes.

What project, in 2018, am I looking forward to work on? Second Season of the original series “In Black and White.”

Where can you see me or my work in 2018?  http://youtu.be/8pFILP_NQdU

http://youtu.be/Y3KTxyxEbvI

https://youtu.be/1BCsPt4phE0

https://youtu.be/2Eijet8ex0c

https://youtu.be/P6XesiDytiU

https://youtu.be/K4NdN7yqAPk

https://youtu.be/gVP6et-DgGA

https://youtu.be/COABVBo1vZE

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion never retires means it never rests as long as you have a passion your spirit will never let you give up on it or end it. You will continue to do it until your last breath.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Nicole Brandon, Ashleigh Awusie, Raisha Williams, Aldrena Cordor, Marie Ponce and Ann Miller

How can you contact me? www.actresskubbi@gmail.com,

www.sag.org/iactor/Kubbi

Leave a comment