The Heroine’s Journey of Veronica Maccioni

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I’m a musician and a music therapist. I love my job, which is a constant discovery and a continuous improvement: currently I’m learning to play a new instrument, the bandoneon, and this new experience is enriching me a lot from different points of view. My job has two great potentials: a social one since it allows you to convey a model of Beauty and Harmony to people who listen to you, which can be reflected in the improvement of people’s quality of everyday life; and another one connected to pleasure, cause playing, singing, and acting, even for a single person, on a stage, in a music therapy setting or in a didactic context, is pure pleasure. These two capabilities are strictly connected and work together in a mutual inspiration, provoking in those involved an important impetus: desire.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being able to keep dreaming, letting my dreams become reality. Be at peace, inside and outside. Live in a world full of Beauty and Truth.

What is my greatest fear? The loss of people I love. The loss of myself, although it can also be interpreted in a positive way and it can sometimes be a good thing for us.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My lack of self-confidence, which sometimes impedes my initiative and my decision-making ability, preventing me from going a little f

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I admire different people who I had the luck to know, professional and extraordinary women and men! But the first person I thought of and who is in my heart is my partner, who walks with me this
beautiful and difficult path of Music and Life.

What is my greatest extravagance? I don’t think i am extravagant, but maybe sometimes I feel I have an amplified perception of things, but I think it is the same for many people, just they don’t know.

On what occasion would I lie? It is always better not to lie. You always benefit from telling the truth, even though it can be difficult. But if the truth hurts, who knows! Always keeping in mind that, in my opinion, lies cause suffering.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? As far as I’m concerned, I dislike having to run and run after: this makes us lose sight of a fundamental aspect of life, the value of time and listening. In general: showing off and a complete lack of humility, two very annoying aspects!

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? So many times. When my partner, after having listened to me singing in public, told me “I’m proud of you!”; when I had the privilege to meet and collaborate with extraordinary people (both artistically and humanly) who left me important messages; when some kids of whom I took care as
a music therapist discovered and set free the language through song; every time I glanced back at somebody while I was singing and playing and we smiled together.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I’d change that part of my character that brings me to be insecure. I’d like to risk more!

What is my greatest achievement in work? At the moment, being able to keep doing it!

Where would I most like to live? I believe that the love for places is in a close relationship with the love for life and for what you do and who you are. Everywhere I can be myself and can keep doing what I love. Even when I travel…

What is my most treasured possession? My passion, the love for what I do and for people I care about.

What is my most marked characteristic? Being slow, I think… an aspect that in some ways can be precious, in other ways not! Not everybody is willing to wait for you.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? My home and my friends’ home.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Again, my home and my friends’ home.

What books influenced my life and how? Some books, more than influenced, taught me to look better and pay more attention to life. Some were simply important and beautiful in their strength and energy, I could list many but I’d mention only one: Brother of Sleep (Schlafes Bruder) By Robert Schneider. Another one, which is a novella,
has been for me like a mirror, because it let me understand how I could look ‘different’ in people’s eyes, because of those passions that were starting overwhelming me and that were becoming my life, passions hard to understand: The Metamorphosis by Kafka.

Who are my favorite writers? I appreciate many writers, sometimes not in general but in a specific novel. I love José Saramago, he has a profoundly internal and totally human way of writing and telling and you can feel deep inside what he writes.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Difficult choice! Maybe I’d listen to silence, which contains all the vibrations of the world.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? When I was a girl I really admired Jo March, one of the sisters in ‘Little Women’, a classic for young girls. Jo with her strong independence, courage and frankness is a fascinating character during that period of life. Then, my heroes materialized in real world.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Every person who passionately and tenaciously nurtures and sustains their dreams, never giving up and always believing! Everyone who produces and teaches Beauty!

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? ‘The Seventh Seal’ by Bergman. Aesthetically beautiful and emotionally overwhelming. Rich from a
metaphorical point of view.

What role plays art in my life and work? It is the very serious game of my life! Music and Theatre, in an anthropological dimension.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I’d like to finish and bring before the audience the project I’m working on with my partner, who is a musician (a double bass player) like me: Tango for a double bass and voice-bandoneon concerto.

Whom would I like to work with in 2018? Besides my partner, with other amazing musicians I had the chance to know recently.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2018? I met beautiful, important and meaningful people this years during my learning and work experiences. I’d like to meet musicians who play with a smile.

Where can you see me or my work in 2018? No website, I promote the events I realize or participate in on my Facebook page.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? As long as you live, there is passion.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Some of my friends live passionately of their work. But I need to ask their permission.

How can you contact me?
On my Facebook page: Veronica Maccioni.

Italian version

Cosa amo di più del mio lavoro? Sono musicista e musicoterapista. Amo il mio lavoro, che è una continua scoperta e un continuo arricchimento: in questo periodo sto studiando un nuovo strumento, che è il bandoneòn, e questo nuovo percorso mi sta dando tantissimo sotto diversi punti di vista. Il mio è un lavoro che possiede in se’ due grandi potenziali: uno di tipo sociale, poichè ti consente di trasmettere in chi ti ascolta
un modello di Bellezza e Armonia che può riflettersi nel quotidiano delle persone migliorando la qualità della vita; l’altro è legato al piacere perchè suonare, cantare, fare teatro, anche solo per una persona che ti ascolta, su di un palco o all’interno di un setting di musicoterapia o in un contesto didattico, è puro piacere. Le due potenzialità viaggiano in un unico circuito, stimolandosi a vicenda e provocando, in tutti gli “attori” coinvolti, un importante spinta vitale: il desiderio.

Qual è la mia idea di perfetta felicità? Riuscire a tenere sempre aperto il cassetto dei sogni lasciando che prendano forma e vita. Essere in armonia dentro e fuori. Vivere in un mondo pieno di Ballezza e Verità.

La mia più grande paura? La perdita delle persone che amo. La “perdita” di me stessa…anche se il “perdersi” può essere letto anche in chiave positiva e riuscire
a farlo ogni tanto potrebbe essere salutare!

Qual è il tratto del mio carattere che apprezzo di meno? L’insicurezza che, a volte, blocca la mia iniziativa e la mia capacità decisionale, impedendomi di spingermi un po’ più in la e di fare nuove scoperte…

In quale occasione sono stata più felice, nel mio lavoro? Tante volte. Quando il mio compagno, ascoltandomi cantare in pubblico, dopo mi ha detto: “Sono orgoglioso di te!”; quando ho avuto il privilegio di incontrare e collaborare con persone straordinarie (da un punto di vista sia artistico che umano) che mi hanno lasciato importanti
messaggi; quando alcuni bambini, dei quali mi sono presa cura nel mio lavoro da musicoterapista, hanno scoperto e liberato il linguaggio passando attraverso la via del canto; tutte le volte che, suonando e cantando, ho incontrato lo sguardo di una persona e , insiame, abbiamo sorriso…

Se potessi, cosa cambierei in me? Quella parte del carattere che mi porta ad essere insicura. Mi piacerebbe riuscire a rischiare di più!

Il più grande successo del mio lavoro. In questo periodo, forse, riuscire a continuare a farlo!

Where would I most like to live? Dove amerei maggiormente vivere… L’amore per i luoghi credo sia in stretto rapporto con l’amore che hai per la vita e per ciò che fai e
che sei. In qualsiasi luogo dove possa essere me stessa e possa continuare a fare ciò che amo. Anche in viaggio…

Il mio bene più prezioso . La passione, l’amore per ciò che faccio e per le persone che contano per me.

La mia principale caratteristica? Io credo la lentezza…un’aspetto che, per certi versi, può rivelarsi prezioso, per altri no! Non tutti sono disposti ad aspettarti…

Il luogo più stimolante della mia città? La mia casa e la casa dei miei amici.

Quali sono i miei luoghi preferiti, nella mia città, per cenare e bere con amici?
Le case di ciascuno.

Quali libri hanno influenzato la mia vita e come? Alcuni libri, più che influenzato, mi hanno insegnato a guardare e ascoltare meglio (o diversamente) la vita. Alcuni sono stati semplicemente importanti e bellissimi nella loro forza, energia, e qui tanti ne potrei elencare ma uno ne citerò: “Le voci del mondo”, di Schneider. Un altro invece, che è un racconto, è stato per me quasi come uno specchio, perchè mi ha dato la misura di quanto potessi io apparire “diversa” agli occhi degli altri, proprio per quelle passioni che iniziavano a travolgermi e che diventavano la mia vita, passiono difficili da comprendere per tanti: “La metamorfosi” di Kafka.

Who are my favorite writers? Apprezzo tanti scrittori, a volte non in senso generale ma in un particolare romanzo. Amo sempre José Saramago, ha un modo di scrivere e di raccontare profondamente interiore, totalmente umano e ciò che scrive e racconta lo senti nel tuo intimo…

Hai solo un giorno di vita. Quale musica ascolti in questo tuo ultimo giorno?
Scelta difficile! Forse ascolterei il silenzio, che contiene in sè tutte le vibrazioni del mondo…

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Da ragazzina ho ammirato molto Jo March, una delle sorelle del romanzo “Piccole donne”, un classico per le giovanissime. Jo, con la sua forte indipendenza, il suo coraggio e la sua schiettezza, è un personaggio affascinante in quel particolare periodo della vita. Ma poi i miei eroi si sono concretizzati all’interno del mondo reale…

I miei eroi nella vita reale. Tutte le persone che stanno tenacemente e con passione al passo dei propri sogni, senza mollare mai. Credendoci sempre! Tutti quelli che producono e insegnano La Bellezza!

Quale film si dovrebbe vedere almeno una volta nella vita? “Il settimo sigillo” di Bergamann. Bellissimo, da un punto di vista estetico. Travolgente, da un punto di vista delle emozioni. Ricco, da un punto di vista della metafora.

Quale ruolo gioca l’arte nella mia vita e nel mio lavoro? E’ il gioco serissimo della mia vita! La musica e il teatro fatti in una dimensione antropologica,

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Mi piacerebbe concludere e portare al pubblico il progetto sul quale sto lavorando assieme al mio compagno, che è musicista (contrabbassista) come me: un concerto per voce-bandoneòn e contrabbasso sul tango.

Whom would I like to work with in 2018? Oltre che con il mio compagno (vedi sopra…) anche con altri splendidi musicisti che ho avuto occasione di conoscere ultimamente.

Che tipo di personaggi legati al mio lavoro vorrei incontrare nel 2018? Ho incontrato personaggi belli, importanti e significativi in questo anno durante le mie esperienze
di studio e lavoro. Vorrei sempre incontrare musicisti che suonano sorridendo…

Dove si potrà ‘vedere’ il mio lavoro? Nessun sito, pubblicizzo gli eventi che realizzo o ai quali partecipo, attraverso la mia pagina di facebook.

Le parole “La passione mai in pensione” che significano per me? Finche vivi c’è passione!

Quali eroine creative Peter dovrà invitare perché raccontino la loro storia?
Alcune mie amiche vivono, con passione, del loro lavoro…ma devo domandare loro il permesso…

Come contattarmi?
Attraverso la mia pagina di facebook: Veronica Maccioni.

Leave a comment