The Heroine’s Journey of Francesca Mola

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

Freedom. The idea that when I’ve got my fingers on a keyboard or I travel with a camera in my hands, I’m exactly in the place where I want to be.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

A winter day, a chimney and a cup of coffee.

What is my greatest fear?

To remain dreamless.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

My feeling of unease towards clichés and selfishness, my hate for selfies and filters. I’d rather be more patient.

The continue struggle between good and evil inside me.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

Melissa Giroux, Valentina D’Urbano.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I’m so full of weirdness, maybe my hats. Actually I need to light white candles when I feel sad.

On what occasion would I lie?

I would lie only if truth can be painful. Perhaps, more than a lie, I use silence to protect people I love.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Deadlines. I need freedom in each thing I do

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

One day I found myself on a place named ‘Jupiter’s Mount’. I don’t know exactly why, maybe I was high, but in that moment, I felt happy.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

The continuous pursuit of perfection in me and others. I should aim for perfection only in art.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

In photograph, I strongly believe that world is beautiful just the way it is, it should be showed without filters, edit photograph and modifications; in literature, instead, all should be artifice. In literature you cannot tell, you just have to show.

I’m always happy when I reach this intention and read pride or admiration in people.

Where would I most like to live?

I dream to live in a farm, but I need to move frequently. I’m a kind of gypsy with the head of a farmer.

What is my most treasured possession?

My children.

What is my most marked characteristic?

Someone told me once that I could find sun even in hell. I’m a resourceful person.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

It’s even so difficult to define what ‘my city’ really is. Anyway, there is a place in a little seaside country named Mola di Bari, with a little rock near the cost. Here I feel quiet and inspired.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

In Rome, a Chinese restaurant named ‘Sakura’ with the best vegetable dumplings ever eaten.

What books influenced my life and how?

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, for the idea of a love which overcome death, a kind of cruel and unavoidable bond. It’s a so modern novel, the book I would meant to write.

Who are my favorite writers?

Emily Bronte, Ernest Hemingway, Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Cesare Pavese, James Joyce, John Keats.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

‘Hallelujah’ in Jeff Buckley’s version.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Wonder Woman, of course.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My mother, my grandfather. The first taught me forgiveness, the second to keep a promise.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

‘Once upon a time in America’ by Sergio Leone and Nuovo Cinema Paradiso’ by Giuseppe Tornatore. Little known fact: both have Ennio Morricone’s soundtrack, so touching.

What role plays art in my life and work?

I’ve got a kind of creative mind, art is in each thing I do, each day of my life. Art is my idea of perfection.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My family.

Whom would I like to work with in 2018?

They don’t know and they’ll never know it, but I would be happy to work with a group named ‘Spaghetti writers’.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2018?

I always hope to meet interesting people who could inspire and improve myself. I’m constantly trying to better myself.

What project, in 2018, am I looking forward to work on?

I’m so full of projects, it keeps me alive. First, I’ve a trip to organize and to write for.

There is a novel in my drawer, I already know that one day, at the right time, it will be read.

Where can you see me or my work in 2018?

You can read and watch all about me on my website: www.diariodeigiornidistratti.it

Actually, I’m supervising the ‘Young Authors section for www.thrillernord.it

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Never give up.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Maria Teresa Barreca, Emiliana Erriquez, Cinzia Giorgio, Roberta Marasco, Miriam Formenti, Barbara Villa, Elisabetta Bricca, Imma D’aniello, Mariablu Scaringella. All of them are prepositive strong women.

You can find them on Facebook.

How can you contact me?

Through my website www.diariodeigiornidistratti.it

My email: francescamola@hotmail.com

Leave a comment