The Heroine’s Journey of Nelly Sanchez

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love doing research and translating in images or in words an idea!

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

It’s a peaceful day without any emergency, a long time to create. The silence when I read or when I write…

What is my greatest fear?

I am afraid of no more having ideas, of losing my creative imagination.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I deplore my lack of self-confidence… Everything I do wrong come from it.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

I don’t have living person in my headLouise Bourgeois, Maria Helena Vieira da Silva, Erro

What is my greatest extravagance?

I am fond of shoes! Especially red ones! I have a big collection of them…

On what occasion would I lie?

When I plan a surprise, but I can’t keep lying. I laugh, I need to say things…

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Cleaning the crafting room after making collages: magazines, reviews and papers broke are everywhere. But the most depressing is to rearrange books on shelfs or put in order notes and drafts… An in-order room doesn’t really live.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I’m the happiest when I start researching in libraries for a new book. At this moment, I’m documenting on the poetess Renée Vivien. I like the silence and the old papers smell…

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Nothing in fact. I took so much time to be myself that I don’t want to change an atom. My flaws are also a part of me…

What is my greatest achievement in work?

It’s selling or seeing published one or my artworks, having the point of view of readers…

Where would I most like to live?

Everywhere: in deep country as in town, I like travelling. I feed on changes and on discoveries. I don’t like habits and routines.

What is my most treasured possession?

I think it’s my eyes, my hands and my mind. Thanks to them, I can create and write.

What is my most marked characteristic?

My sense of humour ? Well, I don’t know…

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

The Saturday market, at Périgueux, at Barcelona also… Many people, many colors and smells. For me, market is the better place to feel alive. All appetites grow! You feed your imagination also.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

That all depends on my mood… A glass of wine to Saint-Silain Place at Périgueux, a lunch to the restaurant Le 4 at Brive-la-Gaillarde.

What books influenced my life and how?

I like reading correspondences and the intimate newspapers. They help me to understand the real existence of the artists, their fears and their doubts… They are a sort of mirrors.

Who are my favorite writers?

Colette, Rachilde, Garcia Marquez, Jasper Fforde, Boris Vian…

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

No music, just the voice of my friends, their laughs…

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

My first heroine was a princess, Leia in Stars War. For the first time, I saw a princess who could be also a warrior. I disliked fairy tales because of princesses, too fragile and too sappy.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

All the strong and proud women, from the mother to the stateswoman… Anybody who fight for his believes… Now, it’s Christiane Taubira.

Which movie would I recommend seeing once in a lifetime?

No title sorry… I don’t like going to movie, I can’t stand a long time without doing anything!

What role plays art in my life and work?

Art has a central place in my life. It’s the shielding which protects me against stupidity. It’s above all, the best expression of my inner self and my opinions.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

When I was young, I met women -teacher like M. Novello or a professor like I. Zinguer, M. Camus– who help me to boost my confidence and my motivation.

Today, I think it’s my man who’s also an artist, the abstract painter Artno. He understands my questionings, my doubts even when my explanations aren’t clear… He’s patient, good advice and asks always the good question…

Whom would I like to work with in 2019?

A singer or a musical group… I’d like to illustrate a musical album.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2019?

Yanouchka Wenger… We’re in contact thanks to networks but we’re never met. In 2016, I created the poster for her show, the play Médée-Kali, written by Laurent Gaudé.

What project, in 2019, am I looking forward to work on?

I’m waiting for the answer for a collective exhibition I set up. I’m looking forward the answer of many reviews contacted.

Where can you see me or my work?

When they’re not exhibited, all my artwork can be shown on www.nellysanchez.fr

The complete list of my writings, even books, is on https://hal.archives-ouvertes.fr/

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Even if she changes form or support, the Passion is always thereI would like to experiment the stained-glass window or the mosaic.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Shloka Shankar, a freelance writer, editor, and poet from Bangalore, India or the booksellers of Violette and co (Paris).

How can you contact me?

Write me at san.nelly@yahoo.fr

Leave a comment