The Heroine’s Journey of Ornella Cortine

What is the best thing that I love about my work? My work is fabulous. I can’t compare it to a “conventional” job where every day looks the same. Every day is an adventure full of surprises. One day I have a theater rehearsal, the next day I’m in a dubbing studio and the day after that, I’m teaching drama in a school, acting in a scene on TV or for a commercial.

What is my idea of happiness? Happiness, for me, is found when we understand that everything is connected ; when we open our eyes to the world, to its beauty and when we connect with the people around us. Just let go of your own life and live in kindness and love, That’s the secret of happiness !

Photo credits: Remi Martinez

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is that the people I’m close to will be unhappy and in pain. My family and friends are the center of my life and no one and nothing matters to me more than them.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Sometimes I have a hard time letting go of my own life. I want to rule it with an iron fist when it’s so much easier to let life and the universe take care of our own path. I’m working on it, but it’s not over yet!!

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I gravitate between several professional environments in the entertainment world: the dubbing and voice-over studios, the modeling, television, theater, advertising, and teaching worlds. The people I look up to aren’t particularly big movie or fashion stars. There is a whole world surrounding these stars. Behind the actors and models, thousands of people, in the shadows, manage the sound, the light, the planning, the organization… Nobody sees them but without them, nothing would exist. They are the cornerstone of our profession and they are sometimes taken for granted.

What is my greatest extravagance? My way of seeing the world with the eyes of a child and always being amazed by what I see. How every little thing can become a wonderful, magical, funny or poetic thing. Those little moments when the world stops spinning for little time and transports you to other universes

On what occasion would I lie? To protect someone I love.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? People who act unprofessionally. Especially people who allow themselves to use their power or their position to commit sexual harassment totally freely.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? The first time I acted in a play and realized that I was made for it… Life does things well 🙂 If I could, what would I change about myself? This may sound very pretentious but…nothing. I learned, over time, to love myself as I am, to accept my weaknesses and to focus on my strengths. And strangely, since I stopped trying to eradicate my flaws and focused on my qualities, my flaws fade away on their own… It’s magic.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I can say that I am quite proud of my career. Seven years ago, I was still an Italian teacher. And suddenly, life opened a door for me: the door of the acting world. I held a theater for 2 years to finally become an actress. I have been an actress for 3 years now. Not only in theaters with several companies, but on television or in advertisements too. I also work in schools and professional areas as a drama teacher, and I’m a voice-over and dubbing artist. I’m a model and a singer, too … Oh ! and … I’m starting my own theater company this summer ! I have a little hyperactive side which, in this case, turns out to be a quality. I managed to break into a lot of areas in a short time, and I’m pretty proud of it 🙂

Where would I most like to live? Everywhere! My dream would be to never stop somewhere. I travel a lot. As soon as I can, I get out to discover other cultures, other landscapes, other people.

What is my most treasured possession? What I call “my little guys”. I have a whole bunch of little figurines that I buy or find. Sometimes, I carry some in my bag or on a trip. It’s a little childish but it amuses me a lot. Otherwise, in “real” life : my friends, my lover, and my family (dad, mom and my 6 brothers and sisters <3)

What is my most marked characteristic? My sweet madness and my quirks

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The plant garden, in Montpellier, South of France. It is a very quiet place, surrounded by nature. Very inspiring !

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? The « Tropism halls », in Montpellier, South of France. It is a huge cultural place, with a very nice outdoor space. We drink beers there, we meet nice people, we come to see concerts… And we eat well. Yes, because I LOVE TO EAT!

What books influenced my life and how? Strangely, it was the classics of French literature that I read during my childhood and my adolescence that influenced me a lot but above all that gave me a taste for reading. Balzac, Maupassant, Victor Hugo…

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Uprising. Muse!

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Alice in Wonderland, for her madness and the way she looks at the world!

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life Women. All. Women who lead feminist struggles, housewives, businesses women and everyone else. Women are all warriors!

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Interstellar and Twin peaks of course!

What role play stories in my life and work? The adventurer! Always looking for new adventures and experiences! Whether as a part of my work or during my many travels!

Photo credits: Remi Martinez

What do the words ‘You are the storyteller of your own life’ to me? I am deeply convinced that nothing is impossible! This is one of the precepts that I implement in my own life! All you have to do is wanting it, to give yourself the means and to believe in yourself! We only have one life, let’s make it the one we dream of!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My best friend since now… 17 years! A. Portefaix, a talented lawyer whom I admire and love deeply!

Which people or companies would I like to work with in 2022? In 2022, I would like to work with my lover : Mathieu Stortoz. But also with the wonderful actress, psychologist and queer cabaret artist : Django Moon !

What project, in 2022, am I looking forward to work on? Ok… After working in theater, advertising, TV, voice-over and dubbing, theater teaching, theater interventions in companies … why not cinema? Remember, nothing is impossible 🙂

Where can you see me or my work in 2022? On my website and online book: https://ornellacortine.book.fr GO!GO!GO! 🙂

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion is something that has always been in you. We discover it sometimes very early and sometimes later. But when you meet it, you don’t leave it. Ikigai one day, ikigai always!

Which creative professionals should Peter invite to tell their story? Graziella Cortine (singer & sister <3) : Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/graziella.cortine https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100064764010826 Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/graziella_music_mtp/ Django moon : (actress, queer cabaret artist, musician) : Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/DjangoMoon.drag Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/django.moon Léa schabo – Le bocal photo (photographer) : Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/lebocalphoto Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/le_bocal_photo Fionadelfion (queer cabaret artist, performer, model) : Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/fionadelfion Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/fionadelfion A. portefaix (lawyer)

How can you contact me? Via my website and my social networks: my website : http://www.ornellacortine.book.fr my facebook : https://www.facebook.com/ornella.cortine my instagram : https://www.instagram.com/ornella_cortine_comedienne my linkedin : https://www.linkedin.com/in/ornella-cortine-76167bb0

Leave a comment